Laois stars edge Parnells to victory

LAOIS duo Colm Parkinson and Darren Rooney played a telling role in Parnells 0-12 to 0-11 win over St Mark’s Tallaght in round three of the Dublin SFC in O’Toole Park last night.

Parnells, with three-time All Star goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton in their line up, were quickly out of the traps with three unanswered points before Dublin hurler Dotsy O’Callaghan finally got Mark’s off the mark midway through the half.

But successive scores from centre-forward Parkinson saw Parnells rattle off four unanswered points, with a point from Rooney seeing Parnells up 0-9 to 0-4 at the interval.

And they managed to maintain that gap until the final 10 minutes when Mark’s produced a terrific comeback with late points from John Kelly, Colm Donohue and Richie Neville leaving Mark’s just short in the end.

Meanwhile in Parnell Park, Raheny put one over their neighbours Clontarf 0-16 to 1-7, at DCB headquarters. Clontarf’s only goal had come in the first half though Chris Morrissey, but by the time double All Star Ciaran Whelan had registered back-to-back points for Raheny, the game was long beyond Clontarf with Jimmy Keogh top scoring for Raheny with six points.

nMeanwhile, Clare boss John Minogue has made two changes for tomorrow’s Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U21HC semi-final against Galway in Semple Stadium. Patrick O’Connor, centre-back for the county’s minor side, comes into the team at wing-back, with Nicky O’Connell moving to centre-back, Enda Barrett switching to midfield and Cillian Duggan dropping to the bench.

Cathal Chaplin joins Barrett to form a new midfield partnership, with Liam Markham the player to make way. In attack, there is one positional change with Cormac O’Donovan now playing at centre-forward and Sean Collins named at left half-forward.

Galway U21 manager Anthony Cunningham has included three senior panellists. Attacking star Joe Canning is named at full-forward, James Skehill is named in goal and Eoin Forde starts at left half-forward. The team also includes centre-forward Aidan Harte.

Kilkenny U21 manager Michael Walsh last nightnamed an unchanged team for their semi-final clash with Antrim in Navan tomorrow. Walsh has opted to stick with the starting 15 that defeated Dublin in last month’s Leinster decider by four points.

Kilkenny will parade eight players who featured in their triumph in last year’s All-Ireland decider against Galway, including goalkeeper Colin McGrath, along with defenders Paul Murphy and Lester Ryan.

Attacking quintet Colin Fennelly, Mark Bergin, John Mulhall, Richie Hogan and JJ Farrell are also survivors from last year’s successful outfit.

CLARE (U21H v Galway): D Tuohy; J Gunning, E Glynn, C O’Doherty; D O’Donovan, N O’Connell, P O’Connor; E Barrett, C Chaplin; J Conlon, C O’Donovan, S Collins; D Honan, C Morey, C Ryan.

GALWAY U21H: J Skehill; S Quinn, C Daly, M Dolphin; D Connolly, B Regan, C Forde; D Burke, S Óg Linnane; K Keehan, A Harte, E Forde; A Dolan, J Canning, N Quinn.

KILKENNY (U21H v Antrim): C McGrath; P Murphy, P Nolan, C Fogarty; Lester Ryan, D Langton, M Walsh; M Kelly, Liam Ryan; C Fennelly, M Bergin, J Mulhall; R Hogan, JJ Farrell, J Nolan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: O’Toole ParkPlace: Parnell ParkPlace: DCBPlace: ClontarfPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: NavanPerson: ParnellsPerson: Colm ParkinsonPerson: Darren RooneyPerson: Stephen CluxtonPerson: Dotsy O’CallaghanPerson: MarkPerson: ParkinsonPerson: RooneyPerson: John KellyPerson: Colm DonohuePerson: Richie NevillePerson: RahenyPerson: Chris MorrisseyPerson: Ciaran WhelanPerson: Jimmy KeoghPerson: John MinoguePerson: Patrick O’ConnorPerson: Nicky O’ConnellPerson: Enda BarrettPerson: Cillian DugganPerson: Cathal ChaplinPerson: BarrettPerson: Liam MarkhamPerson: Cormac O’DonovanPerson: Sean CollinsPerson: Anthony CunninghamPerson: Joe CanningPerson: James SkehillPerson: Eoin FordePerson: Aidan HartePerson: Michael WalshPerson: WalshPerson: Colin McGrathPerson: Paul MurphyPerson: Lester RyanPerson: Colin FennellyPerson: Mark BerginPerson: John MulhallPerson: Richie HoganPerson: JJ FarrellPerson: D TuohyPerson: J GunningPerson: E GlynnPerson: C O’DohertyPerson: D O’DonovanPerson: N O’ConnellPerson: P O’ConnorPerson: E BarrettPerson: C ChaplinPerson: J ConlonPerson: C O’DonovanPerson: S CollinsPerson: D HonanPerson: C MoreyPerson: C RyanPerson: J SkehillPerson: S QuinnPerson: C DalyPerson: M DolphinPerson: D ConnollyPerson: B ReganPerson: C FordePerson: D BurkePerson: S Óg LinnanePerson: K KeehanPerson: A HartePerson: E FordePerson: A DolanPerson: J CanningPerson: N QuinnPerson: KilkennyPerson: C McGrathPerson: P MurphyPerson: P NolanPerson: C FogartyPerson: D LangtonPerson: M WalshPerson: M KellyPerson: Liam RyanPerson: C FennellyPerson: M BerginPerson: J MulhallPerson: R HoganPerson: J NolanEvent: Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U21HCOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: ParnellsOrganisation: St Mark’s TallaghtOrganisation: Dublin SFCOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: ClontarfOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: Galway U21Organisation: KilkennyOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: U21H
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.