Discipline breach sees Donegal duo dropped

DONEGAL football boss John Joe Doherty has booted Ciaran Bonner and Neil Gallagher off the county panel for a breach of discipline ahead of Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier against Carlow in Ballybofey.

The thorny issue of indiscipline has overshadowed Donegal’s championship campaigns in recent years, and after their shock Ulster SFC defeat to Antrim last month, this latest setback will hamper their ability to revive their campaign. Doherty confirmed both players had been dropped but refused to comment any further other than to say he had taken the act for a breach of discipline.

Both players played against Antrim in the Ulster championship opener, and while midfielder Gallagher was struggling with a hamstring injury and was rated extremely doubtful for Saturday’s match, Bonner was expected to start.

It is understood that Doherty informed the players of his decision on Tuesday afternoon and they were not at training that night. The omission of Gallagher and Bonner are part of five changes Doherty has made to his starting XV ahead of their clash with Carlow.

Frank McGlynn starts at right corner-back, Christy Toye comes in at midfield, Leo McLoone plays at centre-forward, David Walsh is introduced at left half-forward and Stephen Griffin will play at left corner-forward. Along with Gallagher and Bonner, Brendan Boyle, Michael Hegarty, and Colm McFadden are the other players who drop to the bench.

Meanwhile, Kerry’s Tadhg Kennelly will undergo a scan in Dublin today to discover the severity of a hand injury sustained in training. Kennelly landed awkwardly on the ring finger of his left hand in a session on Tuesday night. He was taken to Kerry General Hospital in Tralee, and has been wearing a sling on the hand since.

The Listowel man, who quit Sydney Swans to return to the Kingdom earlier this year, will travel to a sport injury clinic in Dublin to learn the seriousness of the problem. It could be another huge blow to Jack O’Connor and his management team who are still without Kieran Donaghy and the suspended Paul Galvin in attack for their All-Ireland SFC qualifier on July 11.

Tipperary have made four changes for Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier against Louth, from the team that lost the Munster SFC quarter-final against Limerick in May. U21 goalkeeper Matthew O’Donnell replaces Paul Fitzgerald, Christopher Higgins comes in for Andrew Morrissey, who is out with a broken bone in his leg, at left corner-back while Kevin Mulryan starts at midfield with Brian Jones making way. Ciaran McDonald returns to the side at full-back having recovered from injury, which forces a positional reshuffle with Robbie Costigan going to left half-back, Brian Fox moving to left half-forward and Brian Mulvihill starting at right corner-forward. James Tierney is the player to lose out. Meanwhile, Kildare’s rookie defender Hugh McGrillen will be fit to take his place in the Leinster football final on Sunday week. McGrillen was replaced in the second half of the Lilywhites’ semi-final victory over Laois with a foot injury, but it has since emerged that the athletic corner-back was only taken off as a precaution.

DONEGAL (SF v Carlow): P Durcan; F McGlynn, N McGee, K Lacey; B Dunnion, E McGee, M McGuire; C Toye, K Cassidy; R Kavanagh, L McLoone, D Walsh; C Dunne, M Murphy, S Griffin.

TIPPERARY (SF v Louth): M O’Donnell; P Codd, C McDonald, C Higgins; C Aylward, H Coghlan, R Costigan; G Hannigan, K Mulryan; S Carey, P Austin, B Fox; B Mulvihill, B Coen, B Grogan.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: ballybofeyplace: dublinplace: traleeperson: john joe dohertyperson: ciaran bonnerperson: neil gallagherperson: dohertyperson: gallagherperson: bonnerperson: frank mcglynnperson: christy toyeperson: leo mclooneperson: david walshperson: stephen griffinperson: brendan boyleperson: michael hegartyperson: colm mcfaddenperson: kerryperson: tadhg kennellyperson: kennellyperson: listowelperson: jack o’connorperson: kieran donaghyperson: paul galvinperson: matthew o’donnellperson: paul fitzgeraldperson: christopher higginsperson: andrew morrisseyperson: kevin mulryanperson: brian jonesperson: ciarán mcdonaldperson: robbie costiganperson: brian foxperson: brian mulvihillperson: james tierneyperson: hugh mcgrillenperson: mcgrillenperson: p durcanperson: f mcglynnperson: n mcgeeperson: k laceyperson: b dunnionperson: e mcgeeperson: m mcguireperson: c toyeperson: k cassidyperson: r kavanaghperson: l mclooneperson: d walshperson: c dunneperson: m murphyperson: s griffinperson: m o’donnellperson: p coddperson: c mcdonaldperson: c higginsperson: c aylwardperson: h coghlanperson: r costiganperson: g hanniganperson: k mulryanperson: s careyperson: p austinperson: b foxperson: b mulvihillperson: b coenperson: b groganevent: ulsterevent: all-ireland sfcevent: all-irelandevent: munster sfc quarter-finalevent: leinster footballorganisation: donegalorganisation: carloworganisation: ulster sfcorganisation: antrimorganisation: kerry general hospitalorganisation: sydney swansorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: louthorganisation: limerickorganisation: kildareorganisation: laoisorganisation: sf
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up