DLS open title defence against Carrigaline

HARTY Cup champions DLS Waterford will open the defence of their title next season against Carrigaline Community School.

Beaten finalists Thurles CBS will play Nenagh CBS in their opener while newcomers Blackwater CS face Pobal Scoil na Trionnaide (Youghal).

Fourteen schools have entered the championships and are divided into four groups, two by four and two by three. To avoid schools who lose their opening game not taking interest in their remaining games, the organising committee has decided that the winners of round one will meet in round two. In the event of schools finishing level on points, the winners of the earlier game between them will determine who advances. Should that game have finished level, the two teams will play off with the winners going forward.

The top two schools will go forward to the quarter-finals and there will be a draw for the pairings. Group C could be termed the group of death with Mideton CBS, St. Flannans and St. Colman’s involved. First round games will be played on Wednesday, September 24.

In the Corn Uí Mhuirí, holders St. Brendan’s will play St. Colman’s (Fermoy) in their opening game, and St. Fachtna’s (Skibbereen) in their second.

There is an all Kerry clash in round one between defeated finalists Tralee CBS and Intermediate School Killorglin. Tralee will play newcomers Abbey CBS (Tipperary) in their second game. Twelve schools have entered and they have been divided into four groups of three with the top two going forward to the quarter-finals.

Like in the hurling, should two schools finish level on points, the result of the game between them will determine who goes forward.

Should that game end level, they will play off to decide who advances to the knock out stages. The 2006 champions DLS Macroom make a welcome return to the championship after a year’s absence. The first round games will be played on Wednesday, October 1.

Harty Cup

Group A — First round: Ard Scoil Rís v Coláiste an Rísigh, Youghal v Blackwater College.

Group B — First round: DLS Waterford v Carrigaline, Our Ladys v Doon CBS

Group C — First round: Midleton CBS v St. Flannan’s. St. Colman’s a bye.

Group D — First round: Thurles CBS v Nenagh CBS; St. Caimins a bye.

Corn Ui Mhuiri

Group A — First round: Tralee CBS v ISK; Abbey CBS a bye.

Group B — First round: Coláiste Chríost Rí v St. Colm’s; Coláiste na Sceilge a bye.

Group C — First round: St. Brendan’s v St. Colman’s (Fermoy); St. Fachtnas a bye.

Group D — First round: Pobal Scol Chorca Dhuibhne v St. Flannan’s; DLS Macroom a bye.

Dean Ryan Cup

First Round: A, Thurles CBS v St. Colman’s; B, Our Ladys v DLS Waterford.

Quarter-finals: 1, Ard Scoil Rís v St. Caimin’s; 2, St. Pauls (Waterford) v Blackwater College; 3, A v B; 4, Midleton CBS v St. Flannan’s.

Semi-finals: 1 v 2; 3 v 4.

Frewen Cup

First Round: A, Coláiste Chríost Rí v Clonmel CBS; B, St. Brendans v Tralee CBS; C, St. Colm’s v St. Flannan’s; D, Coláiste na Scéilge v Pobal Scoil Chorca Dhuibhne.

Semi-finals: A v B; C v D.

Corn Ui Mhorain

First Round: A, Coláiste Chriost Ri a bye; B, Tralee CBS v Coláiste Choilm; C, St. Flannan’s v St. Brendan’s; D, Coláiste na Sceilge a bye.

Semi-finals: A v B; C v D.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd