Gorman in scoring form as awesome Abbeyside power into quarter-finals

ABBEYSIDE secured passage to the Waterford SHC quarter-finals with this emphatic group stage victory over a depleted Passage East at Walsh Park on Saturday.

Following their demolition of Mount Sion last week, Abbeyside confirmed their status as serious title contenders, and were always in control against an opposition minus injured All Star Eoin Kelly and De La Salle Colleges All-Ireland winning skipper Noel Connors.

The winners were never headed and their goal came in the 14th minute from full forward John Gorman. That eased them five points ahead and they cruised to the interval by which time they led 1-8 to 0-3.

Wasted opportunities from placed balls didn’t help the Passage cause — how they missed Kelly in that department alone — but they were thrown a lifeline in the 36th minute when midfielder Rory Walsh goaled. But that was as good as it got as Abbeyside reeled off five points on the trot.

Scorers for Abbeyside: J. Gorman (1-3); M. Gorman (0-6); G. Hurney (0-3); R. Foley, M. Fives, M. Ferncombe, T. Murray (0-1) each.

Scorers for Passage East: O. Connors (0-4); R. Walsh (1-1); N. Quinlan (0-1).

ABBEYSIDE: D. Ryan; S. Briggs, J. Kindregan, G. Breen; B. Scanlon, R. Foley, E. Enright; S. O’Hare, J. Foley; G. Hurney, M. Gorman, M. Fives; M. Ferncombe, J. Gorman, L. Hurney.

Sub: T. Murray for L. Hurney.

PASSAGE EAST: R. Barry; R. Quann, B. Carey, L. Carey; I. Power, J. Heffernan, P. Hogan; J. P. Collingwood, R. Walsh; C. Carey, O. Connors, N. Quinlan; A. Connors, K. Fitzgerald, P. Fitzgerald.

Subs: M. Wyse for Power (inj); A. Brett for Collingwood; J. Upton for P. Fitzgerald.

Referee: V. O’Toole, Roanmore.

De La Salle 2-11 Ballyduff Lower 0-17

WARM favourites De La Salle were happy to settle for a fortuitous draw in the opening game at Walsh Park on Saturday.

Wing back Kevin Moran was the star man for De La Salle and while Jack Kennedy inspirationally led the Ballyduff attack in a great battle with county colleague Brian Phelan, it was Moran who was the undisputed man of the match.

Two first half John Mullane goals helped De La Salle to a 2-5 to 0-10 half time lead, and it was score for score in a rousing second half.

Kennedy looked to have won it for Ballyduff with a superb lead point in the 55th minute, but on the stroke of full time a pointed James Quirke free had them level again leaving De La Salle the happier of the two.

Scorers for De La Salle: J. Quirke (0-7); J. Mullane (2-0); D. Dooley (0-2); C. Watt, D. McGrath (0-1) each.

Scorers for Ballyduff Lower: J. Kennedy (0-4); P. Fitzgerald (0-4); P. Matthews (0-2); P. Stephenson (0-2); P. Murphy, G. Harris, C. Kenny, N. Clifford, E. Cummins (0-1) each.

DE LA SALLE: S. Brenner; D. Russell, I. Flynn, M. Doherty; S. Daniels, B. Phelan, K. Moran; B. Farrell, P. Nevin; C. Watt, A. O’Neill. J. Quirke; D. Twomey, J. Mullane, D. Dooley.

Sub: D. McGrath for Dooley.

BALLYDUFF LOWER: B. O’Leary; A. Dunne, J. O’Leary, D. Van Veen; S. O’Leary, C. Kenny, P. Kennedy; P. Fitzgerald, P. Mathews; P. Stephenson, J. Kennedy, P. Murphy; B. Clifford, G. Harris, C. Power.

Sub: E. Cummins for Murphy.

Referee: B. Power, Mount Sion.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Walsh ParkPlace: De La SallePlace: SionPerson: GormanPerson: Eoin KellyPerson: Noel ConnorsPerson: John GormanPerson: KellyPerson: Rory WalshPerson: J. GormanPerson: M. GormanPerson: G. HurneyPerson: R. FoleyPerson: M. FivesPerson: M. FerncombePerson: T. MurrayPerson: O. ConnorsPerson: R. WalshPerson: N. QuinlanPerson: D. RyanPerson: S. BriggsPerson: J. KindreganPerson: G. BreenPerson: B. ScanlonPerson: E. EnrightPerson: S. O’HarePerson: J. FoleyPerson: L. HurneyPerson: R. BarryPerson: R. QuannPerson: B. CareyPerson: L. CareyPerson: I. PowerPerson: J. HeffernanPerson: P. HoganPerson: J. P. CollingwoodPerson: C. CareyPerson: A. ConnorsPerson: K. FitzgeraldPerson: P. FitzgeraldPerson: M. WysePerson: PowerPerson: A. BrettPerson: J. UptonPerson: V. O’ToolePerson: BallyduffPerson: Kevin MoranPerson: Jack KennedyPerson: Brian PhelanPerson: MoranPerson: John MullanePerson: KennedyPerson: James QuirkePerson: J. QuirkePerson: J. MullanePerson: D. DooleyPerson: C. WattPerson: D. McGrathPerson: J. KennedyPerson: P. MatthewsPerson: P. StephensonPerson: P. MurphyPerson: HarrisPerson: C. KennyPerson: N. CliffordPerson: E. CumminsPerson: S. BrennerPerson: D. RussellPerson: I. FlynnPerson: M. DohertyPerson: S. DanielsPerson: B. PhelanPerson: K. MoranPerson: B. FarrellPerson: P. NevinPerson: A. O’NeillPerson: D. TwomeyPerson: DooleyPerson: B. O’LearyPerson: A. DunnePerson: J. O’LearyPerson: D. Van VeenPerson: S. O’LearyPerson: KennyPerson: P. KennedyPerson: B. CliffordPerson: MurphyPerson: B. PowerOrganisation: AbbeysideOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: Passage EastOrganisation: Mount SionOrganisation: StarOrganisation: De La Salle Colleges All-IrelandOrganisation: De La SalleOrganisation: WARM
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd