Ardboe official gets 48-week ban

AN official from the Ardboe club in Tyrone has been handed a 48-week suspension as a result of the free-for-all that broke out in the Football League clash against Dromore last Sunday.

Referee Michael Hughes abandoned the game in the second-half after fighting broke out between players and supporters in what was only the second game of the new season.

A Dromore player has also received a four-week ban for a matter that was unrelated to the scuffle. Both clubs have been fined €500 for the violent scenes and the county Competitions Control Committee has declared the game null and void.

The punishment comes only four months after Hughes warned that Tyrone referees might have to withdraw their services from club games in the county if the trend of abusive treatment continued.

Speaking in his capacity as secretary of the county’s referees committee last December, Hughes said that the levels of physical and verbal abuse of referees had increased in 2006 and that one serious incident last year had led to referees refusing to officiate at games involving one particular club.

On a more positive note, three-time Allstar Sean Cavanagh has returned to training with his club Moy after sitting out the final stretch of Tyrone’s Division 1A programme.

Meanwhile, the Cork County Board will wait for referee Dave Farrell’s ‘s report on the controversial St Finbarr’s — Aghada SFC game before taking any action.

St Finbarr’s finished a stormy game with 11 players, having had four sent off with straight reds.

Mayo have made one change from the side that defeated Galway last weekend for Sunday’s Allianz NFL final clash with Donegal at Croke Park and have also made a number of positional switches.

Michael Conroy replaces Aidan Kilcoyne and is named at right corner forward. Corner backs Liam O’Malley and Keith Higgins swap places, with Higgins now on the left. Ger Brady moves from full-forward to right half forward with Aidan Moran switching to left half forward. Alan Dillon now takes over the full forward position with Conor Mortimer lining out in the left corner of attack on this occasion.

Donegal will not name their side until a number of key players undergo fitness tests in Dublin tomorrow. Brendan Devenney is a most doubtful starter because of a knee injury while corner back Niall McGee and wing back Paddy McConigley both suffered ‘dead legs’ in last Sunday’s semi final victory over Kildare.

The Cork team to play Armagh in Sunday’s All-Ireland U-21 FC semi-final shows one change from the side which beat Tipperary in the Munster final.

Newcestown’s Cathrach Keane, who failed to make the team for the provincial decider, has been recalled in place of Sean Cahalane and will lead the attack.

Seanie Johnston has won his race against time to be fit for tomorrow night’s floodlit Allianz NFL Division 2 semi-final clash with Roscommon at Croke Park. Johnston has been handed the left corner forward berth, but the game has come too soon for Darren Rabbitte, Nicholas Walsh and Sean Brady, who are all on the road to recovery following injury.

Martin Cahill comes in at right corner back from the team that defeated Waterford 3-12 to 1-11 last time out with Jonathan Crowe the man to drop to the bench. The game will be the Breffni County’s first appearance at the newly redeveloped headquarters since 1997. (throw-in 7.45pm).

MAYO (SF v Donegal): D. Clarke; L. O’Malley, J. Kilcullen, K. Higgins; E. Devenny, B. J. Padden, P. Gardiner; P. Harte, D. Heaney; G. Brady, K. O’Neill, A. Moran; M. Conroy, A. Dillon, C. Mortimer.

CAVAN (SF v Roscommon): J. Reilly; M. Cahill, A. Forde, M. Hannon; P. Brady, E. Reilly, K. Fannin; D. McCabe, M. Brennan; R. Cullivan, M. McKeever, R. Flanagan; J. O’Reilly, R. Gallagher, S. Johnston.

CORK (U21 FC v Armagh): K. O’Halloran (Bishopstown); R. Carey (Clyda Rovers), M. Shields (St. Finbarrs), G. Ó Sé (Nemo Rgs); S. O’Donoghue (Ballincollig), D. Limrick (Castlehaven), E. Cadogan (Douglas); A. O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), F. Goold (Macroom); F. Lynch (Valley Rovers), C. Keane (Newcestown), P. Kerrigan (Nemo Rgs); C. O’Neill (Ballyclough), D. Goulding (Eire Og), R. Leahy (St. Finbarrs).

LAOIS (U-21 FC v Mayo): C. Munnelly; C. Healy, M. Timmons, B. Meredith; S. Lalor, J. O’Loughlin, N. Donogher; B. Quigley, C. og Greene; D. Brennan, E. Rogers, S. O’Leary; M. Tierney, S. O’Neill, D. Conway.

More in this section

GaaPlace: TyronePlace: Croke ParkPlace: DublinPerson: Michael HughesPerson: HughesPerson: Sean CavanaghPerson: Dave FarrellPerson: MayoPerson: DonegalPerson: Michael ConroyPerson: Aidan KilcoynePerson: Liam O’MalleyPerson: Keith HigginsPerson: HigginsPerson: Ger BradyPerson: Aidan MoranPerson: Alan DillonPerson: Conor MortimerPerson: Brendan DevenneyPerson: Niall McGeePerson: Paddy McConigleyPerson: KeanePerson: Sean CahalanePerson: Seanie JohnstonPerson: JohnstonPerson: Darren RabbittePerson: Nicholas WalshPerson: Sean BradyPerson: Martin CahillPerson: Jonathan CrowePerson: D. ClarkePerson: L. O’MalleyPerson: J. KilcullenPerson: K. HigginsPerson: E. DevennyPerson: B. J. PaddenPerson: P. GardinerPerson: P. HartePerson: D. HeaneyPerson: G. BradyPerson: K. O’NeillPerson: A. MoranPerson: M. ConroyPerson: A. DillonPerson: J. ReillyPerson: M. CahillPerson: A. FordePerson: M. HannonPerson: P. BradyPerson: E. ReillyPerson: K. FanninPerson: D. McCabePerson: M. BrennanPerson: R. CullivanPerson: M. McKeeverPerson: R. FlanaganPerson: J. O’ReillyPerson: R. GallagherPerson: S. JohnstonPerson: K. O’HalloranPerson: R. CareyPerson: M. ShieldsPerson: G. Ó SéPerson: Nemo RgsPerson: S. O’DonoghuePerson: D. LimrickPerson: E. CadoganPerson: DouglasPerson: A. O’SullivanPerson: F. GooldPerson: F. LynchPerson: C. KeanePerson: P. KerriganPerson: C. O’NeillPerson: D. GouldingPerson: R. LeahyPerson: LAOISPerson: C. MunnellyPerson: C. HealyPerson: M. TimmonsPerson: B. MeredithPerson: S. LalorPerson: J. O’LoughlinPerson: N. DonogherPerson: B. QuigleyPerson: C.Person: GreenePerson: D. BrennanPerson: E. RogersPerson: S. O’LearyPerson: M. TierneyPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: D. ConwayEvent: SFCEvent: Allianz NFLEvent: MunsterEvent: Division 2Organisation: ArdboeOrganisation: AnOrganisation: DromoreOrganisation: Competitions Control CommitteeOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: Cork County BoardOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: AllOrganisation: U-21 FCOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: Breffni CountyOrganisation: SFOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: U21 FCOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: St. FinbarrsOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: Mayo
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.197 s