Ronan starts for Cork against Limerick

THERE’S a starting place on the Cork team for Neil Ronan, while injured trio Ollie Moran, Stephen Lucey and Brian Geary have been named on the Limerick side for Saturday’s Guinness All-Ireland SHC quarter-final clash at Semple Stadium.

Ronan takes over the left half forward position from Cian O’Connor of Erin’s Own on the Cork side, while Moran, Lucey and Geary return after missing the recent win over Dublin at the Gaelic Grounds.

Moran has been named at right half back, Lucey at full back, while Begley resumes at full-forward. They replace Willie Walsh, Paudie O’Dwyer and Donal O’Grady.

In a surprise move, the Limerick selectors have named regular full-back and captain TJ Ryan at left half forward. Conor Fitzgerald switches to top of the left. Teenager Seamus Hickey retains his place at left corner back, with Barry Foley and Donie Ryan in midfield.

Ballyhea sharp-shooter Ronan has been on the fringes of the All-Ireland champions’ starting side for a considerable period, and in fact came on as a sub for O’Connor during the course of the Munster final victory over Tipperary.

All-Star midfielder Jerry O’Connor, who was considered a slight doubt because of a hamstring strain, got the all-clear to play and will team up again in the centre with Tom Kenny.

Darren Stamp is out of Wexford’s All-Ireland quarter-final showdown with Clare in Croke Park on Sunday.

The Oulart-the-Ballagh clubman damaged knee ligaments in a training session and is expected to be sidelined for a couple of months.

Stamp is one of Wexford’s most versatile players, playing either in midfield or the half-back line.

There is hope that Dessie Mythen may overcome a hamstring problem.

However, manager Seamus

Murphy must plan without Wille Doran, Stephen Nolan and Barry Goff — all suffering from hamstring complaints.

Better news to emerge from the Wexford camp is that experienced duo Darragh Ryan and Paul Codd have taken a full part in training over the past two weeks.

Clare have announced an unchanged side from that which defeated Offaly two weeks ago in the concluding round of the qualifiers. Injury doubts surrounding Jonathan Clancy and Tony Griffin. were dispelled after training last night.

Promising midfielder Clancy aggravated a hamstring injury during last week’s Munster U-21 semi-final, while corner-forward Griffin was carrying a groin strain.

Clare topped their group in the qualifiers with three straight victories over Limerick, Dublin and Offaly.

Tipperary have made one change from the side defeated by Cork in the provincial shoot-out for their quarter final tie with Waterford at Croke Park on Sunday. Francis Devaney takes over the centre-forward position from former captain Redser O’Grady, who was dropped from the panel because of disciplinary measures.

Devaney from Toomevara will be making his first championship start of the season.

O’Grady’s Thurles Sarsfields club colleague, right corner forward Lar Corbett now takes over the captaincy of the Tipp team.

Prolific scoring forward Richie Power has been ruled out of the Kilkenny side for the Leinster champions’ quarter-final clash with Galway at Semple Stadium on Saturday.

Power recently underwent keyhole surgery on a damaged cartilage and will also miss the semi-final should the Cats qualify. On a brighter note, full-back Noel Hickey and versatile Michael Kavanagh should be available.

Hickey pulled a hamstring in training last week, while Kavanagh was troubled by a similar injury.

CORK: (SHC v Limerick): D. Óg Cusack; P. Mulcahy, D. O’Sullivan, B. Murphy; J. Gardiner, R. Curran, S. og -O’h-Ailpin; T. Kenny, J. O’Connor; T. McCarthy, N. McCarthy, N. Ronan; B. O’Connor, B. Corcoran, J. Deane.

LIMERICK: (SHC v Cork): B. Murray; D. Reale, S. Lucey, S.Hickey, O. Moran, B. Geary, M. Foley; B. Foley, D. Ryan; N. Moran, M O’Brien, TJ Ryan, A. O’Shaughnessy, B. Begley, C. Fitzgerald.

CLARE: (SHC v Wexford): D. Fitzgerald; G. O’Grady, B. Lohan, F. Lohan; B. O’Connell, S. McMahon, G. Quinn; J. Clancy, C. Lynch; D. McMahon, T. Carmody, N. Gilligan; D. Quinn, A. Markham, T. Griffen.

TIPPERARY: (SHC v Waterford): B. Cummins; D. Fanning, P. Curran, P. Ormonde; E. Corcoran, C. O’Mahony, H. Moloney; P. Kelly, S. McGrath; J. Carroll, F. Devaney, J. O’Brien; L. Corbett, D. Fitzgerald, E. Kelly.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: Croke ParkPerson: RonanPerson: Neil RonanPerson: Ollie MoranPerson: Stephen LuceyPerson: Brian GearyPerson: Cian O’ConnorPerson: MoranPerson: LuceyPerson: GearyPerson: BegleyPerson: Willie WalshPerson: Paudie O’DwyerPerson: Donal O’GradyPerson: TJ RyanPerson: Conor FitzgeraldPerson: Séamus HickeyPerson: Barry FoleyPerson: Donie RyanPerson: BallyheaPerson: O’ConnorPerson: Jerry O’ConnorPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Darren StampPerson: ClarePerson: StampPerson: Dessie MythenPerson: Seamus MurphyPerson: Wille DoranPerson: Stephen NolanPerson: Barry GoffPerson: Darragh RyanPerson: Paul CoddPerson: Jonathan ClancyPerson: Tony GriffinPerson: ClancyPerson: GriffinPerson: Francis DevaneyPerson: O’GradyPerson: DevaneyPerson: ToomevaraPerson: Lar CorbettPerson: Richie PowerPerson: PowerPerson: Noel HickeyPerson: Michael KavanaghPerson: HickeyPerson: KavanaghPerson: D. Og CusackPerson: P. MulcahyPerson: O’SullivanPerson: MurphyPerson: J. GardinerPerson: CurranPerson: O’h-AilpinPerson: T. KennyPerson: J. O’ConnorPerson: T. McCarthyPerson: B. O’ConnorPerson: CorcoranPerson: B. MurrayPerson: D. RealePerson: S.HickeyPerson: B. FoleyPerson: D. RyanPerson: N. MoranPerson: M O’BrienPerson: A. O’ShaughnessyPerson: D. FitzgeraldPerson: G. O’GradyPerson: F. LohanPerson: B. O’ConnellPerson: QuinnPerson: J. ClancyPerson: C. LynchPerson: D. McMahonPerson: CarmodyPerson: D. QuinnPerson: MarkhamPerson: B. CumminsPerson: D. FanningPerson: P. CurranPerson: P. OrmondePerson: E. CorcoranPerson: C. O’MahonyPerson: H. MoloneyPerson: P. KellyPerson: S. McGrathPerson: J. CarrollPerson: F. DevaneyPerson: J. O’BrienPerson: L. CorbettPerson: E. KellyEvent: Guinness All-Ireland SHC quarter-finalEvent: -IrelandEvent: MunsterEvent: All-Ireland quarterEvent: Munster U-21 semi-Organisation: CorkOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: Erin’s OwnOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: Oulart-the-BallaghOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: O’GradyOrganisation: Thurles SarsfieldsOrganisation: TippOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: CatsOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: og -
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd