Armagh make two changes for final clash

ARMAGH have made two changes for Sunday’s Bank of Ireland Ulster SFC final clash with Donegal at Croke Park.

Martin O’Rourke comes in for the injured Paddy McKeever at right half forward, while John McEntee returns after injury to take over the centre-forward position from Stephen Kernan

Another inter-county football manager to get tough with his team is Laois’s Mick O’Dwyer, who has wielded the axe on the side which lost heavily to Dublin in the Leinster semi-final, for Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier against Tyrone.

O’Dwyer has made four changes in personnel and a number of positional switches as he endeavours to keep the O’Moore County’s season alive for a while longer. With Padraig Clancy ruled out with a shoulder injury, former Aussie Rules recruit Brendan Quigley starts in midfield. Paul McDonald replaces Cathal Ryan in defence, the fit-again Gary Kavanagh comes into the attack in place of Donie Brennan, while Brian McCormack replaces Paul Lawlor.

McCormack comes in at left half forward with Brian ‘Beano’ McDonald now at full forward where he is flanked by Billy Sheehan and team captain Kavanagh. Darren Rooney — who lined out for the hurlers last weekend — reverts to full back with Padraig McMahon moving out to wing back.

Fergal Bryon, Aidan Fennelly, Tom Kelly, Noel Garvan, Ross Munnelly and Chris Conway are the only players to retain their starting places in a much-changed side.

Rory Donnelly is almost certain to be included in the Clare team for their All-Ireland SFC qualifier with Fermanagh at Cusack Park on Saturday, after serving a three-month ban.

Offaly could be without the influential David Franks for their All-Ireland SHC qualifier with Clare at Cusack Park on Saturday. Franks sustained a knee injury during the course of last weekend’s defeat by Limerick.

Brendan Murphy (knee injury) and Kevin Brady (groin strain) are also touch and go.

Meanwhile, the Kerry team to play Tipperary in Sunday’s ESB Munster MFC final shows two changes from the side which trounced Limerick in the semi-final.

Patrick Curtin, who came on as a second half sub in that game, keeps his place at left corner forward at the expense of Eoin Kennedy, while Michael Moloney is preferred to Daniel O’Shea. Positional switches sees Moloney partnering Garry O’Driscoll at midfield with Tommy Walsh moving to centre forward.

The 1887 All-Ireland senior football medal bought by the previous owners of the Limerick Leader at a London auction last November, is not the only one in existence, as had been claimed.

Following enquiries into the current whereabouts of the medal, it emerged this week that an identical one has been on display for a number of years at the Collins Barracks Museum in Dublin.

A descendant of Clare born PJ Corbett, who was a member of the 1887 Limerick team which beat Louth, made contact with the Limerick Post to advise that his medal had been donated to the museum, adding that under no circumstances would the family part with it.

“It was with some amusement that we read that the medal purchased for €30,000 at Sotheby’s was unique. The truth is, it is not. Indeed, there could be another one or two out there. There is every chance that descendants of other players who figured on the successful team could be domiciled abroad and have one in their possession, not knowing the value”.

Limerick county board officers had expressed the hope that the medal bought at Sothebys might be put on display at the Gaelic Grounds, but no contact had been made with them.

When questioned the whereabouts of the medal bought at Sothebys, a former director of the Limerick Leader, based in Leinster, revealed he had it in his possession and was anxious to find a suitable home in Limerick.

When asked why it had not been put on public display at the Leader offices, as had been promised at the time of purchase, he said there had been a change of ownership of the newspaper and he was not sure that was the best place to have it on show as the offices were closed at weekends.

He identified the civic museum as perhaps the most suitable location.

ARMAGH (SFC v Donegal): P. Hearty; A. Mallon, F. Bellew, E. McNulty; A. Kernan, C. McKeever, P. Duffy; K. McKeaney, P. McGrane; M. O’Rourke, J. McEntee, M. Mackin; S. McDonald, R. Clarke, O. McConville.

LAOIS (SFC v Tyrone): F. Byron; A. Fennelly, D. Rooney, J. Higgins; P. McDonald, T. Kelly, P McMahon; N. Garvan, B. Quigley; R. Munnelly, C. Conway, B. McCormack; B. Sheehan, B. McDonald, G. Kavanagh.

KERRY (MFC v Tipperary): T. Mac an tSaoir (An Gaeltacht); B. Russell (Spa), S. Browne (Castlegregory), D. Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht); S. Enright (Tarbert), A. Greaney (St. Pats), B. Costello (John Mitchels); M. Moloney (Dr Crokes), G. O’Driscoll (Skellig Rangers); J. Buckley (Dr Crokes), T. Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys), D. Moran (do.); G. Sayers (Keel), P. Curran (Waterville), P. Curtin (Moyvane).

Subs. A. Kelly (Dr Crokes), D. O’Shea (Currow), E. Kennedy (Asdee), R. Aghas (an Gaeltacht), I. Howard (Dr Crokes), A. O’Reilly (Spa), W. Devane (Dingle), E. Lawlor (Rathmore), J. Doolan (Dr Crokes).

KERRY (JFC v Meath: Seán Óg Ó Ciardabháin; D. O'Sullivan, J. Costello, D. Doyle; S. Hegarty (capt.), B. Hickey, J. King; J P Brosnan, A. Garnett; N. Fleming, M. Murphy, C Daly; R. McAuliffe, S. Wallace, J. Buckley.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Croke ParkPlace: FermanaghPlace: Cusack ParkPlace: LondonPlace: Collins Barracks MuseumPlace: DublinPlace: SothebyPlace: Gaelic GroundsPlace: LeinsterPlace: LimerickPerson: Martin O’RourkePerson: Paddy McKeeverPerson: John McEnteePerson: Stephen KernanPerson: Mick O’DwyerPerson: O’DwyerPerson: Padraig ClancyPerson: Brendan QuigleyPerson: Paul McDonaldPerson: Cathal RyanPerson: Gary KavanaghPerson: Donie BrennanPerson: Brian McCormackPerson: Paul LawlorPerson: McCormackPerson: Brian ‘Beano’ McDonaldPerson: Billy SheehanPerson: KavanaghPerson: Darren RooneyPerson: Padraig McMahonPerson: Fergal BryonPerson: Aidan FennellyPerson: Tom KellyPerson: Noel GarvanPerson: Ross MunnellyPerson: Chris ConwayPerson: Rory DonnellyPerson: David FranksPerson: FranksPerson: Brendan MurphyPerson: Kevin BradyPerson: Patrick CurtinPerson: Eoin KennedyPerson: Michael MoloneyPerson: Daniel O’SheaPerson: MoloneyPerson: Garry O’DriscollPerson: Tommy WalshPerson: ClarePerson: PJ CorbettPerson: P.Person: A. KernanPerson: C. McKeeverPerson: K. McKeaneyPerson: P. McGranePerson: M. O’RourkePerson: J. McEnteePerson: MackinPerson: S. McDonaldPerson: McConvillePerson: F.Person: A. FennellyPerson: J. HigginsPerson: P. McDonaldPerson: T. KellyPerson: P McMahonPerson: N. GarvanPerson: B. QuigleyPerson: R. MunnellyPerson: C. ConwayPerson: B. McCormackPerson: B. SheehanEvent: Bank of Ireland Ulster SFC finalEvent: Leinster semi-Event: All-IrelandEvent: All-Ireland SFCEvent: All-Ireland SHCEvent: ESB Munster MFC finalEvent: 1887 All-Ireland seniorOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: CountyOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: 1887 LimerickOrganisation: LouthOrganisation: Limerick PostOrganisation: Limerick LeaderOrganisation: SFC
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.