Nash nets crucial goal as CIT win replay

GOALKEEPER Anthony Nash adopted the role of gamekeeper-turned-poacher to provide the score that would eventually decide last night’s Evening Echo Cork SHC championship replay that resulted in a deserved victory for CIT over a lacklustre Avondhu side.

Leading from the opening minute, Avondhu were 0-6 to 0-4 ahead when CIT were awarded a 20-metre free after 20 minutes, when several attempts to clear eventually resulted in a foul on wing-forward Richie Butler.

Nash, who plays his club hurling with Kanturk, made the trek upfield to take the free and hammered the sliotar through the crowded goalmouth into the Avondhu net.

It was a spectacular goal but the true value of the score was not appreciated until the closing minutes of what was a tense game, when Avondhu fought tooth and nail to reclaim the initiative.

During those final 15 minutes, however, the students had all the answers.

Having wiped out the advantage enjoyed by the Avondhu half-backs — Tadhg Healy and Fergal McCormack in particular — the dynamic Frank Flannery dominated midfield and the full-back line dealt capably with the challenge spearheaded by Neil Ronan, who wrought devastation upon them in the drawn game.

The opening exchanges threatened more of the same as Avondhu, with points from Ronan, Jonathan O’Callaghan and centre-forward Peter O’Brien, took an early lead. Centre-forward Maurice O’Sullivan, from Ballyhea, stemmed the tide with a long range point for CIT but they struggled to cope with the pressure stemming from the Avondhu half-back line.

That was until Nash’s goal gave them the lead for the first time and they went into the half-time break leading 1-6 to 0-8 as a result.

The game was level four times before Jonathan O’Callaghan put Avondhu back in front with two well-taken frees but another great point from Maurice O’Sullivan tied it again.

Avondhu might have had a goal 12 minutes into the second half but CIT full-back Eoin Dillon made a daring dive to save and, with his goalkeeper off his line, John Murphy was on hand to clear.

An Eoin Chawke point in the 52nd minute put CIT back into the lead. Maurice O’Sullivan and Neil Ronan exchanged points from frees and substitute Eoin Manning hit two crucial points to give CIT a two-point lead going into injury-time.

Scorers for CIT: M. O’Sullivan 0-10 (0-5 frees), A. Nash 1-0 (free), E. Manning and J. Griffen 0-2 each and E. Chawke 0-1. Avondhu: N. Ronan 0-5 (0-3 frees), J. O’Callaghan 0-4 (frees), P. O’Brien and J. Mulchinock 0-2 each and T. Healy and M. Allen 0-1 each.

CIT: A. Nash (Kanturk); J. Murphy (Carrigshock, Kilkenny), E. Dillon (Milford), E. O’Sullivan (Ballyhea); D. Murphy (Courcey Rovers), V. Hurley (Courcey Rovers), M. Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks, Kilkenny); F. Flannery (Carrigtwohill), J. Griffin (Lixnaw, Kerry); S. Power (Carrigshock, Kilkenny), M. O’Sullivan (Ballyea), M. O’Connor (Kilworth); R. Butler (Valley Rovers), E. Chawke (Granagh/Ballingarry, Limerick), M. O’Connell (Lisgould). Subs: E. Manning (Valley Rovers) for M. O’Connor; Paul O’Flynn (Ballyclough) for S. Power; D. Hayes (Mallow) for M. O’Connell.

Avondhu: K. Walsh (Kilworth); B. Coleman (Ballyhea), W. Twomey (Kilworth), D. Lynch (Ballygiblin); T. Healy (Buttevant), F. McCormack (Mallow), M. Walsh (Kildorrery); P. J. Copps (Charleville), B. Sheehan (Doneraile); D. Relihan (Castletownroche), P. O’Brien (Kildorrery), J. Mulchinock (Buttevant); J. O’Callaghan (Castletownroche), N. Ronan (Ballyhea), M. Allen (Ballygiblin). Sub: P. Burke for B. Sheehan.

Referee: Colm Lyons (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

GaaPerson: NashPerson: Anthony NashPerson: Richie ButlerPerson: KanturkPerson: Tadhg HealyPerson: Fergal McCormackPerson: Frank FlanneryPerson: Neil RonanPerson: RonanPerson: Jonathan O’CallaghanPerson: Peter O’BrienPerson: Maurice O’SullivanPerson: AvondhuPerson: Eoin DillonPerson: John MurphyPerson: Eoin ChawkePerson: Eoin ManningPerson: M. O’SullivanPerson: A. NashPerson: E. ManningPerson: J. GriffenPerson: E. ChawkePerson: N. RonanPerson: J. O’CallaghanPerson: P. O’BrienPerson: J. MulchinockPerson: T. HealyPerson: M. AllenPerson: J. MurphyPerson: E. DillonPerson: E. O’SullivanPerson: D. MurphyPerson: V. HurleyPerson: M. FennellyPerson: F. FlanneryPerson: J. GriffinPerson: S. PowerPerson: M. O’ConnorPerson: R. ButlerPerson: M. O’ConnellPerson: Paul O’FlynnPerson: D. HayesPerson: MallowPerson: K. WalshPerson: B. ColemanPerson: W. TwomeyPerson: D. LynchPerson: BallygiblinPerson: ButtevantPerson: F. McCormackPerson: M. WalshPerson: KildorreryPerson: P. J. CoppsPerson: CharlevillePerson: B. SheehanPerson: DonerailePerson: D. RelihanPerson: BallyheaPerson: P. BurkePerson: Colm LyonsOrganisation: CITOrganisation: Evening EchoOrganisation: AvondhuOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: CarrigshockOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: MilfordOrganisation: BallyheaOrganisation: Courcey RoversOrganisation: Ballyhale ShamrocksOrganisation: CarrigtwohillOrganisation: LixnawOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: BallyeaOrganisation: KilworthOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: GranaghOrganisation: BallingarryOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: LisgouldOrganisation: CastletownrocheOrganisation: Nemo Rangers
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd