Cork ring changes for Clare clash

COLIN CORKERY, Brendan Ger O’Sullivan and Nicholas Murphy have been given starting places on the Cork team to meet Clare in Saturday’s Bank of Ireland, All-Ireland SFC qualifier at Cusack Park, Ennis.

Both Corkery and O’Sullivan missed the Munster semi-final defeat by Kerry because of suspension, while Murphy came on as a second-half substitute for Alan Cronin.

Corkery is selected at full-forward, Brendan Ger in the left corner and Murphy at midfield. Giving way are Ciaran O’Sullivan, Kevin O’Sullivan and the injured Noel O’Leary.

Anthony Lynch and Philip Clifford, both fighting their way back to full fitness after undergoing treatment for shoulder and knee injuries, respectively, were not deemed 100% to start what is certain to be a stern challenge from Clare on their home patch, never a lucky hunting ground for the Rebels.

With Noel O’Leary is also ruled out because of injury, Gary Murphy moves from left half back to left corner back. Graham Canty takes over the centre back position with Martin Cronin switching to left half back and Nicholas Murphy linking up with Diarmuid Hurley at midfield.

The changes in the forward line-up sees Micheál Ó Croinín moving from full forward to centre-forward and Conor McCarthy transferring over to the left half forward position.

The selections of Corkery and O’Sullivan will be greeted with universal approval because Cork lacked a distinct lack of punch up front in the Kerry game and the free-taking expertise of Corkery was also missed.

Meanwhile, Sean Marty Lockhart and full forward Johnny Bradley have been ruled out of the Derry team to meet Cavan in their qualifier at Celtic Park on Saturday through injury.

Galway will not name their team to play Louth in their qualifier at Parnell Park on Saturday until just before the start. Clive Monaghan is out of the equation having broken his arm in a challenge against Limerick, and on the doubtful list now is towering midfielder Sean O’Domhnaill, who picked up a leg injury in that game.

Louth are due to announce their team tonight but the versatile Arron Hoey is expected to miss out because of injury.

Meanwhile, Tipperary GAA officials have withdrawn their senior football team from the Murphy Cup for counties beaten in the All-Ireland qualifiers first round.

Tipperary did not play in the qualifier, giving a walkover to Fermanagh, when the team management resigned and players declared themselves unavailable following a dispute over the staging of a hurling club game involving footballers three days before the scheduled clash with Fermanagh.

Tipperary County Board officers met with officials of the County Football Board this week to review the situation. Following that meeting the County Board’s officers decided to withdraw the football team from the Murphy shield.

Tipperary’s chairman, Donal Shanahan and secretary, Michael O’Brien have been asked to attend a meeting of the Croke Park GAC next week to show cause why Tipperary should not be disciplined over the walkover given to Fermanagh.

CORK: (SF v Clare): K. O’Dwyer; S. O’Brien, D. Kavanagh, G. Murphy; E. Sexton G. Canty, M. Cronin; D. Hurley, N. Murphy; A. Cronin, M. Ó Croinin, C. McCarthy; C. Crowley (capt), C. Corkery, B. J. O’Sullivan.

Subs: A. Quirke, S. Levis, K. O’Connor, M. O’Sullivan, C. O’Sullivan, K. O’Sullivan, F. Murray, P. Griffin, P. Clifford, N. O’Donovan, A. O’Regan, B. O’Regan, P. Nealon, C. Brosnan.

CORK (JFC v Waterford): J Honohan (Donoughmore), M. Prout (Shamrocks), A. Quirke (Valley Rovers), D. Wiseman (Castletownbere); G. Spillane (Ballygarvan), E. Wiseman (Castletownbere), J. Sheehy (Ilen Rovers); F. Collins (Ilen Rovers), A. O’Shea (Macroom); M. Kearney (Nemo Rangers), W. Morgan (Nemo Rangers), J. Hayes (Carbery Rangers); C. Brosnan (Ballinora), K. Daly (Ilen Rovers), P. Dunlea (Canovee)

Subs: S. Murphy (Banteer), D. Duggan (Ilen Rovers), P. Fitzgerald (Erins Own), N. O’Riordan (Glenville), J. Wycherley (Ilen Rovers), P. O’Connell (Delanys), B. O’Sullivan (Ilen Rovers), F. Murphy (St. Vincents), E. Sheehy (Ilen Rovers).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Cusack Park, EnnisPlace: Celtic ParkPlace: Parnell ParkPlace: FermanaghPerson: Colin CorkeryPerson: Brendan Ger O’SullivanPerson: Nicholas MurphyPerson: CorkeryPerson: O’SullivanPerson: MurphyPerson: Alan CroninPerson: Brendan GerPerson: Ciaran O’SullivanPerson: Kevin O’SullivanPerson: Noel O’LearyPerson: Anthony LynchPerson: Philip CliffordPerson: Gary MurphyPerson: Graham CantyPerson: Martin CroninPerson: Diarmuid HurleyPerson: Micheal O CroininPerson: Conor McCarthyPerson: Sean Marty LockhartPerson: Johnny BradleyPerson: Clive MonaghanPerson: Sean O’DomhnaillPerson: Arron HoeyPerson: Donal ShanahanPerson: Michael O’BrienPerson: K. O’DwyerPerson: S. O’BrienPerson: D. KavanaghPerson: G. MurphyPerson: E. Sexton G. CantyPerson: M. CroninPerson: D. HurleyPerson: N. MurphyPerson: A. CroninPerson: M. Ó CroininPerson: C. CrowleyPerson: C. CorkeryPerson: J. O’SullivanPerson: A. QuirkePerson: S. LevisPerson: K. O’ConnorPerson: M. O’SullivanPerson: C. O’SullivanPerson: K. O’SullivanPerson: F. MurrayPerson: P. GriffinPerson: P. CliffordPerson: N. O’DonovanPerson: A. O’ReganPerson: B. O’ReganPerson: P. NealonPerson: C. BrosnanPerson: J HonohanPerson: DonoughmorePerson: M. ProutPerson: D. WisemanPerson: G. SpillanePerson: E. WisemanPerson: J. SheehyPerson: F. CollinsPerson: A. O’SheaPerson: M. KearneyPerson: W. MorganPerson: J. HayesPerson: K. DalyPerson: P. DunleaPerson: S. MurphyPerson: D. DugganPerson: P. FitzgeraldPerson: N. O’RiordanPerson: J. WycherleyPerson: P. O’ConnellPerson: B. O’SullivanPerson: F. MurphyPerson: E. SheehyEvent: Bank of IrelandEvent: MunsterEvent: Murphy CupEvent: All-IrelandOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: RebelsOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: CavanOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: LouthOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Tipperary County BoardOrganisation: County Football BoardOrganisation: County BoardOrganisation: Croke Park GACOrganisation: SFOrganisation: JFCOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: ShamrocksOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: BallygarvanOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: MacroomOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: BallinoraOrganisation: CanoveeOrganisation: BanteerOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: GlenvilleOrganisation: DelanysOrganisation: St. Vincents
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.