Well-drilled Avondhu rout Seandun

Avondhu 1-28, Seandun 0-8

Avondhu coach Conor Hannon (Shanballymore) he will be happy with a free-scoring performance from the forwards, albeit against token opposition.

Even goalkeeper Mike Morrissey - from a free all of 80 yards out - contributed to the Avondhu rout but their man of the match was undoubtedly wing forward Jonathan O’Callaghan from Castletownroche who punished every indiscretion by the opposing defence with seven points from frees and three more from play before handing over to Barry Sheehan from Doneraile after 49 minutes.

Seandun lacked the teamwork that was a feature of a well drilled Avondhu side who raced into an early lead from a quick point by Padraig Burke after just 17 seconds followed by another from Jonathan O’Callaghan and then a superbly taken goal by corner-forward Shane Kileen in the 15th minute, underscored by a point less than a minute later which saw his side leading 1-4 to no score after just seven minutes.

From here on it was one way traffic. With Padraig Burke driving forward out of a defence in which full-back Dessie Fitzgerald, centre-back Will Twomey and Damien McNamara were outstanding, the forwards were blessed with an abundant supply of ball and they made the most of it.

Apart from Jonathan O’Callaghan, Marvyn Gemmell in the corner, Dave Moher on the wing, centre-forward Andrew O’Brien and midfielders Fergal McCormack from Mallow and Seamus Stack from Buttevant, were all struck with sickening efficacy.

Seandun’s first score did not come until the 21st minute when full-forward Donal O’Mahony from Bishopstown landed the first of his five from frees and Avondhu led at half time by a whopping 1-16 to 0-1.

Donal O’Mahony was moved outfield in the second half and it proved to be an important switch for the City Division side as he now began to have a hand in the activities. There was no stopping Avondhu, however, as Dave Moher, Mike Morrissey, Andrew O’Brien and Tadhg O’Riordan added points before Donal O’Mahony had a second for Seandun. Jonathan O’Callaghan responded with a well taken point but O’Mahony hit back with three more frees. James Masters and Christy Hartnett added two, before Barry Sheehan closed scoring.

Scorers for Avondhu: J. O’Callaghan 0-10 (0-7 frees), S. Kileen 1-1, D. Moher, M. Gemmell and F. McCormack 0-3 each, A. O’Brien and B. Sheehan (0-1 free) 0-2 each and M. Morrissey, P. Burke, S. Stack and T. O’Riordan 0-1 each.

Seandun: D. O’Mahony 0-5 (frees), J. Masters, C. Hartnett and P. Daly 0-1 each.

AVONDHU: M. Morrissey (Milford); D. Lynch (Ballygiblin), D. Fitzgerald (Charleville), P. J. Copse (Charleville); P. Burke (Ballyhooly), W. Twomey (Kilworth), D. McNamara (Kilworth); F. McCormack (Mallow), S. Stack (Buttevant); J. O’Callaghan (Castletownroche), A. O’Brien (Kildorrery), D. Moher (Ballygiblin); S. Kileen (Fermoy), T. O’Riordan (Mallow), M. Gemmell (Charleville).

Subs: A. Kelly (Kilworth) for P. Burke (24 mins), B. Sheehan (Doneraile) for S. Kileen (HT), B. Lane (Mallow) for P. J. Copse (39 mins) and J. Mulchinock (Buttevant) for J. O’Callaghan (49 mins).

SEANDUN: S. Corkery (Nemo Rangers); J. Griffin (Nemo Rangers), M. O’Callaghan (Mayfield), W. Murphy (St. Vincent’s); C. Brosnan (Mayfield), R. Lee (Mayfield), D. O’Callaghan (St. Vincent’s); F. Murphy (St. Vincent’s), C. Hartnett (St. Vincent’s); M. Carey (Brian Dillons), J. P. Murphy (St. Vincent’s), P. Morgan (Nemo Rangers); J. Masters (Nemo Rangers), D. Murphy (Bishopstown), T. O’Donoghue (Bishopstown).

Subs: C. Sheehan (Whitechurch) for J. Griffin (27 mins), P. Daly (St. Vincent’s) for M. Carey (38 mins), A. Cotter (St. Vincent’s) for D. O’Callaghan (50 mins) T. O’Mahony (St. Vincent’s) for F. Murphy (52 mins).

Referee: Cathal McAlastair (Midleton).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: CastletownrochePlace: MallowPlace: BishopstownPerson: SeandunPerson: CloynePerson: Conor HannonPerson: ShanballymorePerson: Mike MorrisseyPerson: Jonathan O’CallaghanPerson: Barry SheehanPerson: Padraig BurkePerson: Shane KileenPerson: Dessie FitzgeraldPerson: Will TwomeyPerson: Damien McNamaraPerson: Marvyn GemmellPerson: Dave MoherPerson: Andrew O’BrienPerson: Fergal McCormackPerson: Seamus StackPerson: Donal O’MahonyPerson: AvondhuPerson: Tadhg O’RiordanPerson: O’MahonyPerson: James MastersPerson: Christy HartnettPerson: J. O’CallaghanPerson: S. KileenPerson: D. MoherPerson: M. GemmellPerson: F. McCormackPerson: A. O’BrienPerson: B. SheehanPerson: M. MorrisseyPerson: P. BurkePerson: S. StackPerson: T. O’RiordanPerson: D. O’MahonyPerson: J. MastersPerson: C. HartnettPerson: P. DalyPerson: D. LynchPerson: D. FitzgeraldPerson: P. J. CopsePerson: CharlevillePerson: BallyhoolyPerson: W. TwomeyPerson: KilworthPerson: D. McNamaraPerson: MallowPerson: ButtevantPerson: CastletownrochePerson: KildorreryPerson: BallygiblinPerson: FermoyPerson: A. KellyPerson: DonerailePerson: B. LanePerson: J. MulchinockPerson: S. CorkeryPerson: J. GriffinPerson: M. O’CallaghanPerson: MayfieldPerson: W. MurphyPerson: C. BrosnanPerson: R. LeePerson: D. O’CallaghanPerson: F. MurphyPerson: M. CareyPerson: Brian DillonsPerson: J. P. MurphyPerson: P. MorganPerson: D. MurphyPerson: T. O’DonoghuePerson: C. SheehanPerson: A. CotterPerson: T. O’MahonyPerson: Cathal McAlastairEvent: Cork senior hurling championshipOrganisation: AvondhuOrganisation: MilfordOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: St. Vincent’sOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: Whitechurch
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd