Derry's McCloy looks doubtful for Dublin clash

DERRY may be without centre back Kevin McCloy for their Bank of Ireland SFC qualifier against Dublin on Saturday afternoon.

McCloy picked up a back injury in their last game against Wexford, and is rated extremely doubtful for the crucial tie.

Cavan, who take on northern rivals Fermanagh in next Sunday’s Bank of Ireland, All-Ireland SFC qualifier at Clones will be without team captain Peter Reilly for the rest of the season.

The outstanding Cavan centre back damaged a cruciate ligament in the game against Louth and is due to undergo surgery in the near future.

Cavan, who are expected to name their side tonight, have been hit by a number of other injuries going into this qualifier.

Goalkeeper James Reilly has a quad muscle injury and if he fails a late fitness test will be replaced by Arron Donoghue. Centre forward Gerald Peirson is doubtful because of a groin injury, while Micky Grahan is not available for duty.

The only good news on the horizon for Cavan is that their most prolific goal scorer Jason Reilly has recovered from a hamstring injury and is expected to feature.

Fermanagh who are due to name their side tonight report no injury problems from their defeat by Down in the Ulster semi-final last weekend.

Clare won’t name their team to play Waterford in the Munster U21 FC at Walsh Park tonight until just before the off. However, there is a distinct possibility Stephen Hickey, a Clare senior for the past three years, will be named in one of the full forward positions.

The talented Hickey was out of action for the past eight weeks with a groin injury but came on as sub in last Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier with Offaly.

Clare will have eight of their senior squad available for selection including current Irish international boxing champion Michael Hohey from Ennistymon.

Tipperary introduce four newcomers for next Sunday’s Munster MHC final clash with Cork at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Right half back Niall Teehan from Gortnahoe, midfielder J. B. McCarthy of Golden right half forward Shane Long from Gortnahoe and full forward David Young of Toomevara all missed the previous wins over Waterford and Limerick, but are now given their chance to shine on the big stage.

The Cork minor hurling team to play Tipperary in Sunday’s Munster championship final, shows one change from the side which defeated Clare in the semi-final.

Brian Canty comes in at left half forward for Brendan Ring who has only just recovered from illness, but he is expected to make an appearance. Interestingly Canty joins his younger brother Kevin in the half forward line. Both players are members of the Valley Rovers club.

The last occasion brothers played at minor level with Cork was in 1997 when the O’Connor twins Ben and Jerry of Newtownshandrum, were members of the team which failed to Clare in the first round in Kilmallock.

CORK (MH v Tipperary): K. Barry (St. Vincents); O. O’Sullivan (Ballyhea), N. Horgan (Glen Rovers), M. Foley (Carrigtwohill); S. O’Neill (Bishopstown), M. Aherne (Ballinhassig), B. Clifford (Lisgoold); M. Harrington (Douglas), D. Lucey (Bandon); K. Canty (Valley Rovers), B. Coleman (Ballyhea), B. Canty (Valley Rovers); B. Barry (Killeagh), A. Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh), M. Allen (Ballygiblin).

Subs. O. O’Sullivan (Carrigaline), S. Flannery (Carrigtwohill), S. Cronin (St. Marys), M. O’Sullivan (Ballyhea), B. Ring (Youghal), J. O’Leary (Fr. O’Neills), R. Conway (Bishopstown), Barry Sheehan (Doneraile), M. McCarthy (Blarney), Brian Sheehan (Millstreet), P. Cronin (Bishopstown).

TIPPERARY (MH v Cork): D. Egan (Kildangan); I. Delaney (J. K. Brackens); S. Ryan (Moneygall), C. Hayes (Kildangan): N. Teehan (Gortnahoe), P.Stapleton (Borrisoleigh), R. CGrath (Davins); K. Bergin (Killenaule), J. B. McCarthy (Golden); S. Long (Gortnahoe), D. Sheppard (Moycarky), J. Woodlock (Drum); R. Ruth (Sarsfields), D. Young (Toomevara), D. Morrissey (Golden).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: ClonesPlace: Walsh ParkPlace: EnnistymonPlace: TipperaryPlace: Semple Stadium, ThurlesPlace: GortnahoePlace: ToomevaraPlace: NewtownshandrumPlace: KilmallockPerson: McCloyPerson: DerryPerson: Kevin McCloyPerson: Peter ReillyPerson: James ReillyPerson: Arron DonoghuePerson: Gerald PeirsonPerson: Micky GrahanPerson: Jason ReillyPerson: Stephen HickeyPerson: HickeyPerson: Michael HoheyPerson: Niall TeehanPerson: J. B. McCarthyPerson: Shane LongPerson: David YoungPerson: Brian CantyPerson: Brendan RingPerson: CantyPerson: KevinPerson: O’ConnorPerson: BenPerson: JerryPerson: K. BarryPerson: O. O’SullivanPerson: N. HorganPerson: M. FoleyPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: M. AhernePerson: B. CliffordPerson: M. HarringtonPerson: DouglasPerson: D. LuceyPerson: K. CantyPerson: B. ColemanPerson: B. CantyPerson: B. BarryPerson: KilleaghPerson: A. O hAilpínPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: M. AllenPerson: S. FlanneryPerson: CarrigtwohillPerson: S. CroninPerson: M. O’SullivanPerson: BallyheaPerson: B. RingPerson: YoughalPerson: J. O’LearyPerson: Fr. O’NeillsPerson: R. ConwayPerson: Barry SheehanPerson: DonerailePerson: M. McCarthyPerson: BlarneyPerson: Brian SheehanPerson: P. CroninPerson: D. EganPerson: I. DelaneyPerson: J. K. BrackensPerson: S. RyanPerson: MoneygallPerson: C. HayesPerson: N. TeehanPerson: GortnahoePerson: P.StapletonPerson: BorrisoleighPerson: R. CGrathPerson: DavinsPerson: K. BerginPerson: KillenaulePerson: S. LongPerson: D. SheppardPerson: MoycarkyPerson: J. WoodlockPerson: R. RuthPerson: D. YoungPerson: ToomevaraPerson: D. MorrisseyPerson: GoldenEvent: Bank of Ireland SFCEvent: Bank of IrelandEvent: All-Ireland SFCEvent: UlsterEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Munster MHC finalEvent: Munster championshipOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: CavanOrganisation: FermanaghOrganisation: DownOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: Munster U21 FCOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Valley Rovers clubOrganisation: MHOrganisation: St. VincentsOrganisation: BallyheaOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: CarrigtwohillOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: BallygiblinOrganisation: St. MarysOrganisation: MillstreetOrganisation: KildanganOrganisation: Golden
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd