Did referee Roche exceed authority on crucial free?

TIPPERARY referee Seamus Roche is understood to have exceeded his authority in Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-final by changing his award of a Kilkenny free to a throw-in.

Did referee Roche exceed authority on crucial free?

It led directly to the scoring of Galway’s fourth goal at the three-quarters stage of the game and had a crucial bearing on the outcome.

Authoritative sources questioned the correctness of Roche’s call, which he made after an alleged remark from the Kilkenny captain Peter Barry - the player who had actually won the free.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €120 €60

Best value

Monthly €10€5 / month

CONNECT WITH US TODAY

Be the first to know the latest news and updates

More in this section

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited