Masters, Hayes and Goold make Cork debuts

JAMES MASTERS, John Hayes and Fintan Goold will make their senior championship debuts as Cork throw down the gauntlet to Clare in Sunday’s Bank of Ireland, Munster football semi-final at Cusack Park, Ennis.

All three impressed during the League and in recent challenge games and their inclusion comes as no surprise.

In all there are six changes in personnel from the side that crashed to Fermanagh in last season’s All-Ireland qualifiers. Gone are Sean O’Brien, Micheal O’Sullivan, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Colin Crowley, Colin Corkery and Alan Cronin, while in come Niall Geary, Anthony Lynch, Masters, Hayes, Goold and Micheal Ó Cróinin. Niall Geary takes over the right corner back position from his Nemo club colleague O’Brien. Team captain Levis moves to full-back, with Anthony Lynch returning at centre back.

Derek Kavanagh replaces Micheal O’Sullivan at midfield, while Masters comes in on the right wing, with Conor McCarthy now taking over the centre-forward duties from Ciarán O’Sullivan and Nicholas Murphy donning the number 12 shirt.

Hayes, Goold and Ó’Cróinin form a new full-forward line in succession to last season’s triumvirate of Colin Crowley, Colin Corkery and Alan Cronin.

The Clare team is due to be announced tonight.

Wexford have called up Redmond Barry and Des Mythen to make their senior hurling championship debuts against Laois in Sunday’s Leinster semi final at Croke Park, while Laois have made two changes in attack from the side that defeated Dublin last time out.

After a number of impressive League performances Barry is named at midfield with Mythen introduced at right corner forward, while on the Laois side Enda Meagher takes over the centre half forward position with Cahir Healy named at left half forward. Both Mark Rooney and John Rowney have been relegated to the substitutes bench.

The death has taken place of William (Bunny) Lambe from Old Bridge Clonmel. Bunny Lambe was one of Tipperary’s finest footballers representing the county at senior level from 1943 to 1953.

He won county senior football medals in 1943 and 1945 with the 10th Battalion, with Commercials in 1948 and with Old Bridge in 1952.

Bunny was named on the Munster Railway Cup football team in 1945 when they lost to Connacht by 2-8 to 1-6 in the semi-final. Some of Bunny’s team-mates on that Munster team were Jim Williams, Jimmy Hickey and Sean Cleary (Tipperary), Joe Keohane, Jackie Lyne and Paddy Bàn Brosnan (Kerry) and Din O’Connor, Eamon Young and Patrick A. “Weeshie” Murphy (Cork).

CORK (SF v Clare): K. O’Dwyer; N. Geary, S. Levis, G. Murphy; E. Sexton, A. Lynch, M. Cronin; G. Canty, D. Kavanagh; J. Masters, C. McCarthy, N. Murphy; J. Hayes, F. Goold, M. O’Croinin.

WEXFORD (SH v Laois): D. Fitzhenry; D. O’Connor, D. Ryan, K. Rossiter; D. Ruth, D. Stamp, D. Lyng; R. Barry, A. Fenlon; R. McCarthy, E. Quigley; M. Jordan; D. Mythen, M. Jacob. R. Jacob.

LAOIS (SH v Wexford): P. Mullaney; B. Campion, P. Cuddy, M. McEvoy; J. Fitzpatrick, D. Rooney, S. Dwyer; J. Young, J. Walsh; J. Phelan, E. Meagher, C. Healy; P. Fitzgerald, L. Tynan, D. Culleton.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Cusack ParkPlace: FermanaghPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Old Bridge ClonmelPlace: TipperaryPlace: Old BridgePerson: MastersPerson: HayesPerson: GooldPerson: James MastersPerson: John HayesPerson: Fintan GooldPerson: Sean O’BrienPerson: Michéal O’SullivanPerson: Ciaran O’SullivanPerson: Colin CrowleyPerson: Colin CorkeryPerson: Alan CroninPerson: Niall GearyPerson: Anthony LynchPerson: Micheal O CroininPerson: O’BrienPerson: LevisPerson: Derek KavanaghPerson: Conor McCarthyPerson: Nicholas MurphyPerson: O’CroininPerson: Redmond BarryPerson: BarryPerson: MythenPerson: Enda MeagherPerson: Cahir HealyPerson: Mark RooneyPerson: John RowneyPerson: William (Bunny) LambePerson: Bunny LambePerson: BunnyPerson: Jim WilliamsPerson: Jimmy HickeyPerson: Sean ClearyPerson: Joe KeohanePerson: Jackie LynePerson: Paddy Bán BrosnanPerson: Din O’ConnorPerson: Eamon YoungPerson: Patrick A. “Weeshie” MurphyPerson: K. O’DwyerPerson: N. GearyPerson: G. MurphyPerson: E. SextonPerson: A. LynchPerson: M. CroninPerson: G. CantyPerson: D. KavanaghPerson: J. MastersPerson: C. McCarthyPerson: N. MurphyPerson: J. HayesPerson: F. GooldPerson: D. FitzhenryPerson: D. O’ConnorPerson: D. RyanPerson: K. RossiterPerson: D. RuthPerson: D. StampPerson: D. LyngPerson: R. BarryPerson: A. FenlonPerson: R. McCarthyPerson: E. QuigleyPerson: M. JordanPerson: D. MythenPerson: JacobPerson: P. MullaneyPerson: B. CampionPerson: P. CuddyPerson: M. McEvoyPerson: J. FitzpatrickPerson: S. DwyerPerson: J. YoungPerson: J. WalshPerson: J. PhelanPerson: E. MeagherPerson: C. HealyPerson: P. FitzgeraldPerson: L. TynanEvent: MunsterEvent: All-IrelandOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: NemoOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: 10th BattalionOrganisation: Munster Railway Cup football teamOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: SFOrganisation: SH
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.2 s