Davis warning for Cork U21’s

CORK U21 football coach Anthony Davis has warned his side to be on guard against Waterford in tonight’s Munster semi-final at Walsh Park (6.30).

“As it’s our first outing in the championship, I don’t know how good we are”, said Davis. “On paper we have a very good team and have played a lot of challenge games but it all boils down to how you perform on the night.

“Naturally I would have preferred if our two senior hurlers were available to start but John Gardiner is carrying an injury while Setanta Ó hAilpín is being rested. However, both will be on the bench.

“We will be treating Waterford with the upmost respect, after all Cork football has nothing to be cocky about at the moment. We are going to have to start from scratch and a win tonight would be the ideal launch pad”.

Waterford have included five seniors who played in the Munster championship against Tipperary and four subs in their team.

The entire full-back line of Michael Crotty, Ger Hayes and John O’Reilly played against Tipperary in the same positions, while centre-back Edmond Rockett lined out at wing-back.

The fact that nine of their team have senior experience is a boost for to Cork, who will also have 11 members of the team which won the minor All-Ireland three years ago.

Meanwhile the Cork intermediate hurling team to play Kilkenny in Saturday’s All-Ireland final in Thurles, shows just one change from that which trounced Galway in the semi-final. John Murphy who came on as a sub in that game, retains his place at right corner-forward with Dave Moher dropping to the bench.

It’s going to be a very busy 48 hours for Michael Prout who has been named at right corner-back on the U21 football and intermediate hurling teams.

WATERFORD (U-21F v Cork): D. Hickey (Brickey Rangers); M. Crotty (Rathgormack), J. Hayes (Banmahon), J. O’Reilly (Tramore); N., Hennessy (Ardmore), E. Rockett (Portlaw), J. Hurney (Ballinacourty); S. Dempsey (Emmetts), M. Walsh (Stradbally); T. Power (Bunmahon), M. Power (Tramore), T. Whelan (do.); L. ÓLionnain (An Gaeltacht), S. Walsh (The Nire), B. Harty (Ardmore); Subs. A,. Power (Kilmacthomas), A. O’Loughlin (Rathgormack), E. Walsh (St. Olivers), E. Walsh (do.), P Behan (Kilmacthomas), B. Costello (Tramore), T. Halpin (Brickey Rangers), S. Nugent (do.), P. Connery (Clashmore), J. Walsh (Emmetts), S. Fleming (Clashmore), S. Prendergast (Kilrossanty), G. O’Connor (Gaultier).

CORK (IH v Kilkenny): M. Coleman (Ballinhassig); M. Prout (Shamrocks), J. O’Brien (Milford), B. Murphy (Bride Rovers); J. Hughes (Blarney), B. Lombard (Ballinhasssig), K. Hartnett (Russell Rovers); A. O’Connor (CIT), J. Barrett (Carrigtwohill); J. O’Callaghan (Castletownroche), B. Coleman (Youghal), R. O’Dwyer (Ballymartle); J. Murphy (Courcey Rovers), D. O’Riordan (Inniscarra), J. Quinlan (Rathluirc).

Subs: A. Nash (Kanturk), D. Lynch (Ballygiblin), D. Fitzgerald (Rathluirc), V. Morrissey (Aghada), O. Conway (Fr. O’Neills), M. Daly (Cobh), D. Moher (Ballygiblin), T. Healy (Buttevant), V. Hurley (Courcey Rovers).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: walsh parkplace: thurlesperson: davisperson: anthony davisperson: john gardinerperson: setanta ó hailpínperson: michael crottyperson: ger hayesperson: john o’reillyperson: edmond rockettperson: john murphyperson: dave moherperson: michael proutperson: d. hickeyperson: m. crottyperson: rathgormackperson: j. hayesperson: banmahonperson: j. o’reillyperson: tramoreperson: n.person: hennessyperson: ardmoreperson: e. rockettperson: portlawperson: j. hurneyperson: ballinacourtyperson: s. dempseyperson: emmettsperson: m. walshperson: stradballyperson: t. powerperson: bunmahonperson: m. powerperson: t. whelanperson: l. ólionnainperson: s. walshperson: the nireperson: b. hartyperson: subs. aperson: . powerperson: kilmacthomasperson: a. o’loughlinperson: e. walshperson: st. oliversperson: p behanperson: b. costelloperson: t. halpinperson: s. nugentperson: p. conneryperson: j. walshperson: s. flemingperson: s. prendergastperson: g. o’connorperson: corkperson: m. colemanperson: m. proutperson: j. o’brienperson: b. murphyperson: j. hughesperson: b. lombardperson: k. hartnettperson: a. o’connorperson: j. barrettperson: j. o’callaghanperson: b. colemanperson: r. o’dwyerperson: j. murphyperson: d. o’riordanperson: j. quinlanperson: a. nashperson: d. lynchperson: d. fitzgeraldperson: v. morrisseyperson: o. conwayperson: o’neillsperson: m. dalyperson: d. moherperson: t. healyperson: v. hurleyevent: munsterevent: all-irelandorganisation: cork u21organisation: waterfordorganisation: corkorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: galwayorganisation: u-21forganisation: brickey rangersorganisation: an gaeltachtorganisation: kilrossantyorganisation: gaultierorganisation: ihorganisation: ballinhassigorganisation: shamrocksorganisation: milfordorganisation: bride roversorganisation: blarneyorganisation: ballinhasssigorganisation: russell roversorganisation: citorganisation: carrigtwohillorganisation: castletownrocheorganisation: ballymartleorganisation: courcey roversorganisation: inniscarraorganisation: rathluircorganisation: ballygiblinorganisation: cobh

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.