Mulcahy leads attack as big guns return for Cork

IN a surprise move, the Cork selectors have named Pat Mulcahy at centre-forward on the team to meet Clare in the second phase of the Allianz NHL at Cusack Park on Sunday.

Brian Murphy, Graham Callinan, Tom Kenny, Brian Corcoran and Joe Deane are all given starting positions.

Mulcahy started last Sunday’s disappointing defeat by Kilkenny at left corner-back, while Callinan, Kenny, Corcoran and Deane were all sprung from the bench.

The selection of the towering Newtownshandrum defender in a forward position allows for the return of Brian Murphy at right corner-back, with Cian O’Connor moving to the left corner.

Graham Callinan is named at right half-back, with John Gardiner taking over in the centre from Ronan Curran, who will be involved in a county SFC game with St. Finbarr’s on Friday night.

Tom Kenny replaces Paul Tierney at midfield, Neil Ronan is selected at right half-forward, with Mulcahy and Niall McCarthy completing the half-forward line.

Ben O’Connor, who started the Kilkenny game at right half-forward, is switched inside to right corner-forward, with Brian Corcoran at full-foward and Joe Deane in the left corner.

Clare, big winners over Tipperary last weekend, will not select their side until after the county U21 championship semi-final involving Darragh Clancy of Corofin on Friday night. But Alan Markham and Seanie McMahon, who both picked up muscular injuries in the Tipp game, are expected to be fit.

Because of injuries sustained by David Kennedy and Paddy O’Brien in the defeat by Clare, Tipperary have delayed naming their side to play Galway at Pearse Stadium. Kennedy picked up a groin injury, while O’Brien suffered a hamstring injury. They join Paul Ormonde, Martin Maher and Colin Morrissey on the treatment table.

Due to the unexpected death of manager Brian Cody’s 53 year-old brother Michael, Kilkenny are not expected to announce their side to play Wexford until much later in the week. However, ace forward Henry Shefflin, recovering from a groin injury, could be in line for a starting position. He was introduced in the Cork game but later retired.

Malachy Travers (knee) is the only doubt for Wexford, who name their team after training tomorrow.

Waterford, cock-a-hoop following their win over Limerick, are expected to name an unchanged side tomorrow night to play Antrim.

Armagh will again be without Tony McEntee for Sunday’s Allianz NFL Division One semi-final against Mayo at Hyde Park. McEntee is suffering from ankle ligament damage sustained in Crossmaglen’s All-Ireland Club semi-final defeat in February. Defender JP Donnelly is also ruled out.

Stephen O’Neill has declared himself fit for Tyrone’s semi-final against Wexford on Sunday. The good news about O’Neill’s hamstring injury came as he picked up the Tennent’s Ulster GAA Writers’ Award winner for March.

The honour was O’Neill’s second Ulster writers award in three months. The Tyrone star scored 1-18 in three National League games during March.

Wexford coach Pat Roe won’t name his team for the Tyrone game until after training tonight. Corner-back Niall Murphy (groin) is the only injury concern. He was forced off in the first half of the game against Laois but Roe is confident the Bannow-Ballymitty clubman will take his place.

CORK (SH v Clare): D. Og Cusack; B. Murphy, D. O’Sullivan, C. O’Connor; G. Callinan, J. Gardiner, S. Óg Ó hAilpín; T. Kenny, J. O’Connor; N. Ronan, P. Mulcahy, N. McCarthy; B. O’Connor, B. Corcoran, J. Deane.

WATERFORD (MH v Clare): A. Power (Ballyduff Upper), C. Ryan (Mount Sion), A.N. Other, J. Kearney (Ballygunner), C. Burke (Roanmore), K. Moran (De La Salle), F. Galvin (Portlaw-St Molleran’s), S. Walsh (Ballygunner), R. Foley (Abbeyside), J. Dooley (Portlaw-St Molleran’s), J. Gorman (Abbeyside), T. Connors (Passage), P. Kearney (Ballyduff Upper), C. Moloney (De La Salle), P. Murray (Cappoquin).

Subs: J. Coady (De La Salle), B. Bannon (Dungarvan), B. Bennett (Lismore), M. Coleman (Lismore), D. Ellis (Clonea), D. Greene (De La Salle), K. Kearney (Cois Bhríde), P. Ó Murchadha (An Ghaeltacht), J. Phelan (Dunhill-Fenor).

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: cusack parkplace: pearse stadiumplace: hyde parkperson: mulcahyperson: pat mulcahyperson: clareperson: brian murphyperson: graham callinanperson: tom kennyperson: brian corcoranperson: joe deaneperson: callinanperson: kennyperson: corcoranperson: deaneperson: cian o’connorperson: john gardinerperson: ronan curranperson: paul tierneyperson: neil ronanperson: niall mccarthyperson: ben o’connorperson: darragh clancyperson: alan markhamperson: seanie mcmahonperson: david kennedyperson: paddy o’brienperson: kennedyperson: o’brienperson: paul ormondeperson: martin maherperson: colin morrisseyperson: brian codyperson: michaelperson: henry shefflinperson: malachy traversperson: tony mcenteeperson: mcenteeperson: jp donnellyperson: stephen o’neillperson: o’neillperson: pat roeperson: niall murphyperson: roeperson: corkperson: d. og cusackperson: b. murphyperson: d. o’sullivanperson: o’connorperson: g. callinanperson: gardinerperson: óg ó hailpínperson: t. kennyperson: j. o’connorperson: n. ronanperson: b. o’connorperson: b. corcoranperson: j.person: a. powerperson: ballyduff upperperson: c. ryanperson: a.n. otherperson: j. kearneyperson: c. burkeperson: k. moranperson: f. galvinperson: s. walshperson: ballygunnerperson: r. foleyperson: j. dooleyperson: j. gormanperson: t. connorsperson: p. kearneyperson: c. moloneyperson: p. murrayperson: j. coadyperson: b. bannonperson: b. bennettperson: m. colemanperson: lismoreperson: d. ellisperson: cloneaperson: d. greeneperson: de la salleperson: k. kearneyperson: cois bhrideperson: p. ó murchadhaperson: an ghaeltachtperson: j. phelanperson: dunhill-fenorevent: u21event: allianz nfl division oneevent: national leagueorganisation: corkorganisation: allianz nhlorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: st. finbarrorganisation: clareorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: galwayorganisation: wexfordorganisation: waterfordorganisation: limerickorganisation: antrimorganisation: armaghorganisation: mayoorganisation: all-ireland cluborganisation: tyroneorganisation: laoisorganisation: bannow-ballymittyorganisation: shorganisation: mount sionorganisation: de la salleorganisation: portlaw-st molleran’sorganisation: abbeysideorganisation: passageorganisation: ballydufforganisation: cappoquinorganisation: de laorganisation: dungarvan

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up