Slick St Senan’s overpower Athea as Mungret win easily

St Senan’s 1-9 Athea 0-8

The losers started brightly as Dave Foley and Ger Ahern exchanged points, but they then lost their way after James Carroll set up Foley to claim the game’s only goal. Andy Lane and Niall Guinan made it 1-3 to 0-1, before Mark Reidy and Ahern left three points between the teams.

Midfielders Mike Behan and Maurice Fitzgerald ensured that the Saints were in command at the break, (1-5 to 0-4).

The second period was more competitive when Ahern (two) and John Collins narrowed the gap to a point, (1-5 to 0-7).

With their wake-up call not going unnoticed, Senan’s made certain of victory with points from Paul Ryan (2), Guiney and Conor Mullane.

Scorers: St Senan’s: D. Foley 1-1, P. Ryan 0-3, N. Guiney 0-2, A. Lane, C. Mullane, J. Hanlon 0-1 each. Athea: G. Ahern 0-5, M. Reidy, J. Collins, P. Ahern 0-1 each.

ST SENAN’S: D. Kavanagh; J. Ryan, D. Carroll, T. O’Malley, O. Sheehy, C. Mullane, A. Lane; M. Behan, M. Fitzgerald; N. Guiney, J. Carroll, G. Hanlon, P. Ryan, D. Foley, J. Hanlon

ATHEA: J. Cotter; M. Tierney, T. Collins, P. Collins, S. Ahern, P. Woulfe, B. Ahern; N. Hunt,T. Mullane; D. White; P. Ahern, J. Collins, M. Hayes, G. Ahern, M. Reidy.

Referee: H. Ryan (Askeaton)

Mungret 0-11 Hospital Herbertstown 1-4

MUNGRET had an easy win over Hospital Herbertstown, at Cappamore in Saturday’s other SFC game. Michael Reidy, Mark Tobin and Don O’Brien helped Mungret to a four-point interval advantage, (0-6 to 0-2).

With Brian Horan and Danny Galvin in form, the city side dominated and Reidy, with the Tobins, Brian and Mark, added more scores. Mick Fitzgerald’s late goal was consolation for Hospital-Herbertstown.

Scorers; Mungret; M. Reidy 0-4, M. Tobin 0-2, B. Horan, D. Horan, B. Tobin, P. O’Connell, D. O’Brien 0-1 each. Hospital Herbertstown: M. Fitzgerald 1-0, P. Fenton 0-2, C Hickey, P. Fitzgerald 0-1 each.

MUNGRET: D. Nolan; G. O’Shea, J. Roche, D. Heffernan, B. Horan, D. Galvin, B. Gunning; D. Horan, E. Mullins, N. O’Driscoll, B. Tobin, M. Tobin, P. O’Connell, D. O’Brien, M. Reidy.

HOSPITAL HERBERTSTOWN: S. Kiely; G. Fitzgerald, K. Higgins, P. Dooley, M. Fitzgerald, I McCaffrey, P. Reale; R. O’Donovan, C. O’Donoghue; P. Fitzgerald, B. Higgins, J. McAuliffe, P. Fenton, D. O’Sullivan, C. Hickey.

Referee: W. O’Mahony (Oola).

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Hospital HerbertstownPlace: HerbertstownPlace: CappamorePlace: OolaPerson: AtheaPerson: MungretPerson: Dave FoleyPerson: Ger AhernPerson: James CarrollPerson: FoleyPerson: Andy LanePerson: Niall GuinanPerson: Mark ReidyPerson: AhernPerson: Mike BehanPerson: Maurice FitzgeraldPerson: John CollinsPerson: SenanPerson: Paul RyanPerson: GuineyPerson: Conor MullanePerson: D. FoleyPerson: P. RyanPerson: N. GuineyPerson: A. LanePerson: C. MullanePerson: J. HanlonPerson: G. AhernPerson: M. ReidyPerson: J. CollinsPerson: P. AhernPerson: D. KavanaghPerson: J. RyanPerson: D. CarrollPerson: T. O’MalleyPerson: O. SheehyPerson: M. BehanPerson: J. CarrollPerson: G. HanlonPerson: J. CotterPerson: M. TierneyPerson: T. CollinsPerson: P. CollinsPerson: S. AhernPerson: P. WoulfePerson: B. AhernPerson: N. HuntPerson: T. MullanePerson: D. WhitePerson: M. HayesPerson: H. RyanPerson: Michael ReidyPerson: Mark TobinPerson: Don O’BrienPerson: Brian HoranPerson: Danny GalvinPerson: ReidyPerson: TobinsPerson: BrianPerson: MarkPerson: Mick FitzgeraldPerson: M. TobinPerson: B. HoranPerson: D. HoranPerson: B. TobinPerson: P. O’ConnellPerson: D. O’BrienPerson: M. FitzgeraldPerson: FentonPerson: C HickeyPerson: P. FitzgeraldPerson: D. NolanPerson: G. O’SheaPerson: J. RochePerson: D. HeffernanPerson: D. GalvinPerson: E. MullinsPerson: O’DriscollPerson: KielyPerson: G. FitzgeraldPerson: K. HigginsPerson: DooleyPerson: McCaffreyPerson: R. O’DonovanPerson: HigginsPerson: McAuliffePerson: D. O’SullivanPerson: W. O’MahonyOrganisation: SlickOrganisation: St SenanOrganisation: Limerick SFCOrganisation: Saints
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.234 s