New year ‘sin-bin’ for GAA matches

GAA PRESIDENT Sean Kelly has backed novel rule changes for next year’s secondary provincial competitions which could trigger the introduction of the sin-bin into Gaelic games.

Croke Park will monitor the success of a raft of initiatives which will be introduced in January for the McGrath Cup, O’Byrne Cup and FBD League in Connacht.

A rules revision committee under the chairmanship of Connacht Council chairman Tommy Moran agreed to phase in the sin-bin, the pick off the ground and the use of a ‘tee’ for kick outs in the upcoming competitions.

The former two are already in play in ladies football. If the experiments work, GAA bosses will consider their implementation for the National Leagues, which start in February.

However the GAA president last night accepted that most attention will focus on the introduction of a 10 minute ‘sin-bin’ for second bookable offences.

“There is clearly a lot of merits from the referee’s and the players’ standpoint,” he said.

“But we will see how they fare in the secondary competitions before making any further moves.”

In Munster’s McGrath Cup, the three technical colleges - Tralee, Limerick and Cork - will also take part for the first time. UCC have intimated they are interested but have yet to confirm their entry.

It is hoped competition, which will be played on a straight knockout because of the extra teams, will start on the second Saturday in January.

Munster Council PRO, Fr Seamus Gardiner, said Central Council passed the changes last weekend and they would be tried in the various cup competitions around the country in the new year.

“I’m a great believe in experimentation and if we really feel strongly about making changes, let’s put it to Congress in April and see if they will be passed.

“The new innovations, which are only for secondary competitions, are a great idea, and it will be interesting to see how players will cope with them.”

Recently appointed Wexford hurling manager Seamus Murphy has completed his backroom team. With Michael Kinsella already announced as team coach, Murphy has added two selectors to complete his team as he begins preparations for the defence of their provincial title.

As already predicted Denis Doyle (Glynn-Barntown) has been added as a selector and will be joined by Johnny Murphy (Crossabeg-Ballymurn).

Murphy played at right half-forward on the Wexford team that lost the 1976 All-Ireland senior hurling final to Cork.

Meanwhile, Dublin will field a mix of old and new when they face Louth in tonight’s SF charity challenge against Louth under Parnell Park’s new floodlights (7.30pm).

Paddy Christie, Coman Goggins, Peadar Andrews, Shane Ryan, Johnny McNally, Senan Connell, Tomas Quinn and Robbie Boyle will provide the experience while new boss Paul Caffrey has presented several others including John Leonard, Aidan Downes, Niall Cooper and John Noonan with an early chance to impress.

Several players were ruled out of contention owing to the AFL 1 and 2 semi-finals this weekend as well as the under-21 football championship replay clash between St Mark’s and St Jude’s and IFC final between Parnells and Kilmacud.

An interesting inclusion at centre-back is Dublin senior hurler Ronan Fallon (St Vincent’s). Fallon has impressed in the past few league outings for the Marino side. Entry is €5 with proceeds going to St Vincent de Paul and Raheny Hospice.

Meanwhile, Dublin legends Paddy Cullen and Jimmy Keaveney will be in Arnotts (Abbey St) on Sunday (2pm) to sign copies of new DVD/video ‘The Dubs in the Rare Ould Times’.

DUBLIN (SF v Louth): J Leonard (St Sylvester’s); A Downes (Na Fianna), P Christie (Ballymun Kickhams), C Goggins (Ballinteer St John’s); N Cooper (Na Fianna), R Fallon (St Vincent’s), P Andrews (St Brigid’s); S Ryan (Nh Mearnog), J McNally (Ballinteer St John’s); D Henry (Raheny), D Lally (St Brigid’s), S Connell (Na Fianna); T Quinn (St Vincent’s), R Boyle (Erins Isle), J Noonan (St Brigid’s).

Subs: AN Other, S McCann (St Mark’s), G O’Connell (Erins Isle), M Moffatt (Nh Barrog), S O’Sullivan (Whitehall Colmcille), S Smith (Thomas Davis), C McGuinness (St Peregrine’s), G Young (Nh Barrog), D Bastic (Templeogue Synge St).

LOUTH (SF): S McCoy; B Reilly, C Goff, J Carr; G Long, A Hoey, C Kearney; D Devenney, D Hughes; R Valentine, D Clarke, N Sharkey; R Carroll, P Matthews, M Stanfield.

Subs: S Lennon, A McCartney, R Kelly, J Kermath, S Connors, E McCartney, J Neary, R Rooney.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Croke ParkPlace: ConnachtPlace: TraleePlace: Parnell ParkPlace: Erins IslePlace: IslePlace: Nh BarrogPlace: Templeogue Synge StPlace: SFPerson: Sean KellyPerson: Tommy MoranPerson: PROPerson: FrPerson: Seamus GardinerPerson: Seamus MurphyPerson: Michael KinsellaPerson: MurphyPerson: Denis DoylePerson: Johnny MurphyPerson: Paddy ChristiePerson: Coman GogginsPerson: Peadar AndrewsPerson: Shane RyanPerson: Johnny McNallyPerson: Senan ConnellPerson: Tomás QuinnPerson: Robbie BoylePerson: Paul CaffreyPerson: John LeonardPerson: Aidan DownesPerson: Niall CooperPerson: John NoonanPerson: Ronan FallonPerson: FallonPerson: Paddy CullenPerson: Jimmy KeaveneyPerson: DUBLINPerson: J LeonardPerson: A DownesPerson: P ChristiePerson: BALLYMUN KICKHAMSPerson: C GogginsPerson: N CooperPerson: R FallonPerson: P AndrewsPerson: S RyanPerson: J McNallyPerson: D HenryPerson: RahenyPerson: D LallyPerson: S ConnellPerson: T QuinnPerson: R BoylePerson: J NoonanPerson: AnPerson: S McCannPerson: G O’ConnellPerson: M MoffattPerson: S O’SullivanPerson: ColmcillePerson: S SmithPerson: Thomas DavisPerson: C McGuinnessPerson: G YoungPerson: D BasticPerson: S McCoyPerson: B ReillyPerson: C GoffPerson: J CarrPerson: G LongPerson: A HoeyPerson: C KearneyPerson: D DevenneyPerson: D HughesPerson: R ValentinePerson: D ClarkePerson: N SharkeyPerson: R CarrollPerson: P MatthewsPerson: M StanfieldPerson: S LennonPerson: A McCartneyPerson: R KellyPerson: J KermathPerson: S ConnorsPerson: E McCartneyPerson: J NearyPerson: R RooneyEvent: McGrath CupEvent: O’Byrne CupEvent: ’S McGrath CupEvent: 1976 All-Ireland senior hurling finalOrganisation: GAAOrganisation: Connacht CouncilOrganisation: National LeaguesOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: Munster CouncilOrganisation: Central CouncilOrganisation: CongressOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: GlynnOrganisation: CrossabegOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LouthOrganisation: St Mark’sOrganisation: St Jude’sOrganisation: ParnellsOrganisation: KilmacudOrganisation: St Vincent’sOrganisation: MarinoOrganisation: St VincentOrganisation: Abbey StOrganisation: St Sylvester’sOrganisation: Ballinteer St John’sOrganisation: Na FiannaOrganisation: St Brigid’sOrganisation: Nh MearnógOrganisation: ErinsOrganisation: St Peregrine’s
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.198 s