Cronin hoping for decade of dominance

CORK’S All-Ireland winning camogie manager, John Cronin hopes the county can remain in the ascendancy of the sport for “the next 10 years.”

Cronin was named manager of the year at a gala function on Saturday and six of the championship-winning team were named in the All-star selection.

“It is marvellous,” Cronin said yesterday. “It is a great boost for the sport in Cork to receive such honours. We are happy enough with the selection. Naturally there are a few ifs and buts but it is the same when you are selecting any team. I think that all the players named are there on merit.”

And he hopes the county can build on their exploits of 2005.

“Now that we are on top, it would be nice to keep Cork up there for the next 10 years.”

More than 500 guests attended the function and chairperson of the Irish Sports Council, Ossie Kilkenny presented the awards to the team, the young player of the year and the manager of the year.

Gemma O’Connor, picked up her second major award of the week having been awarded the Vodafone player of the year on Monday while Jennifer O’Leary also landed a second All-star. Four other Cork players were honoured for the first time: Anna Geary, Rachel Moloney, Emer Dillon and Mary O’Connor. O’Connor, recently employed by the Camogie Association as Regional Development Co-ordinator, was one of four players to do the historic double when she won both a camogie and ladies football All-Ireland senior medal this year.

Tipperary received four selections. Claire Grogan took home her second award while Eimear McDonnell, Jovita Delaney and Julie Kirwan all received their first All-stars. Therese Maher and Sinéad Cahalan brought home two awards for National League winners Galway. Wexford’s Catherine O’Loughlin received an All -star for her outstanding performances at full back while Clare’s Catherine O’Loughlin (full-forward) became the Banner’s first All-star.

Ciara Lucey became the first Dublin recipient of an All-star award after the county won their first junior All-Ireland in 30 years.

Armagh, also received their first ever award with the talented Colette Mc Sorley accepting the Young Player of the Year award for her outstanding performances for the Orchard county.

2005 ALLSTARS: J Delaney (Tipperary), S Cahalan (Galway), C O’Loughlin (Wexford), J Kirwan (Tipperary), A Geary (Cork), M O’Connor (Cork), T Maher (Galway), G O’Connor (Cork), C Lucey (Dublin), J O’Leary (Cork), R Moloney (Cork), C Grogan (Tipperary), E Mc Donnell (Tipperary), C O’Loughlin (Clare), E Dillon (Cork).

Young Player of the Year: Colette Mc Sorley, Armagh.

Manager of the Year: John Cronin, Cork.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up