Cork banking on Bowles at full-forward against Tipp U21s

CORK have made one change from the team which defeated Clare in the semi-final for tomorrow night’s Munster U21 hurling championship final against Tipperary at Páirc Uí Chaoimh (7.15pm).

James Bowles, a second half substitute, keeps his place at full-forward at the expense of Kevin Canty. A positional switch sees Brendan Barry swap places with Michael Naughton.

Tipperary U21 hurling selector, Len Gaynor, insists his side are not feeling the pressure to deliver three-in-a-row against Cork.

The Tipperary team shows one change from the semi-final victory over Limerick with Evan Sweeney returning from injury at corner-forward to the exclusion of Ryan O'Dwyer.

Newport's Conor O'Mahoney, who came on for Philip Maher in Sunday's loss to Galway in the All-Ireland SHC quarter-final, lines out at full-back.

Toomevara's Francis Devanney, another member of Ken Hogan's senior squad, captains the side from the centre-forward position, while Sweeney and Darragh Egan are other senior players in action. Gaynor, a high profile manager with Clare and Tipperary during the 90s, has opted for a more background role with this U21 side with Tom Fogarty taking charge of the coaching duties.

"I like working with young players and this year offers an opportunity to be part of something special," he said.

"It's good to see young players coming through at this level and if there is anything I can contribute at this level, I'll gladly lend a hand."

He plays down talk of a three-in-a-row.

"If we're to win the Munster title, we'll have to play to our optimum level. The seniors travelled to Cork for the Munster final and came up against a very strong Cork side. Cork are always dangerous at home and it will be no different tomorrow night.

"The lads will have some experience of playing in the Park they would have lined out there at minor level. It's as good a ground as Thurles so that shouldn't affect our play although there obviously will be a bigger Cork crowd as they're playing at home."

CORK (U-21 H v Tipperary): A. Nash (Kanturk), P. Fitzgerald (Erins Own, capt), D. McSweeney (Blarney), E. O'Sullivan (Ballyhea); S. O'Neill (Bishopstown), K. Hartnett (Russell Rovers), S. Cronin (St. Mary's), B. Barry (Killeagh), P.J. Copps (Charleville), S. O'Sullivan (Na Piarsaigh), M. Naughton (Cloyne), R. Conway (Bishopstown), M. O'Sullivan (Ballyhea), J. Bowles (Newtownshandrum), D. Dorris (Glen Rovers).

TIPPERARY: P McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields); J O'Dwyer (Killenaule), C O'Mahoney (Newport), B Hanley (Lattin-Cullen); C O'Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty), N Teehan (Gortnahoe/Glengoole), T Collins (Ballina); S McGrath (Ballinahinch), W Cully (Thurles Sarsfields); T Fitzgerald (Roscrea), F Devanney (Toomevara Captain), D Egan (Kildangan); E Sweeney (Loughmore-Castleiney), T Scroope (Burgess), P Shortt (Upperchurch-Drombane)

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: páirc uí chaoimhplace: corkperson: bowlesperson: james bowlesperson: kevin cantyperson: brendan barryperson: michael naughtonperson: len gaynorperson: evan sweeneyperson: ryan o'dwyerperson: conor o'mahoneyperson: philip maherperson: francis devanneyperson: ken hoganperson: sweeneyperson: darragh eganperson: gaynorperson: tom fogartyperson: a. nashperson: p. fitzgeraldperson: d. mcsweeneyperson: blarneyperson: e. o'sullivanperson: s. o'neillperson: k. hartnettperson: s. croninperson: b. barryperson: p.j. coppsperson: s. o'sullivanperson: na piarsaighperson: m. naughtonperson: cloyneperson: r. conwayperson: m. o'sullivanperson: j. bowlesperson: d. dorrisperson: p mccormackperson: thurles sarsfieldsperson: j o'dwyerperson: killenauleperson: c o'mahoneyperson: b hanleyperson: lattin-cullenperson: c o'brienperson: eire og annacartyperson: n teehanperson: gortnahoeperson: t collinsperson: ballinaperson: s mcgrathperson: ballinahinchperson: w cullyperson: t fitzgeraldperson: roscreaperson: f devanneyperson: toomevara captainperson: d eganperson: kildanganperson: e sweeneyperson: loughmore-castleineyperson: t scroopeperson: burgessperson: p shorttperson: upperchurch-drombaneevent: munster u21 hurling championship finalevent: all-ireland shc quarterevent: munsterevent: munster finalorganisation: corkorganisation: tipp u21sorganisation: clareorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: limerickorganisation: newportorganisation: galwayorganisation: thurlesorganisation: u-21 horganisation: erins ownorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: russellorganisation: st. mary'sorganisation: charlevilleorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: glen roversorganisation: glengoole
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up