Nemo trio get nod as Rebels ring changes for trip to Tyrone

THE Nemo Rangers trio of Derek Kavanagh, David Niblock and James Masters have been included in the Cork team for Sunday’s Allianz National Football League showdown with All-Ireland champions Tyrone at O’Neill Park, Omagh.

Kavanagh, who has overcome a back injury, is selected at midfield with Niblock on the forty and Masters in the right corner.

The side shows a number of changes from that which lost to Kerry in the last game with Anthony Lynch also returning to first team duty.

Goalkeeper Alan Quirke retains his place and the full back line of Michael Prout, Graham Canty and Kieran O’Connor is unchanged.

Sean Levis moves from left half back to right half back with Lynch returning at left half. Kavanagh links up with Diarmuid Hurley at midfield with Kevin McMahon moving to left half forward to the exclusion of Noel O’Leary. Conor McCarthy switches from centre forward to the right wing, while Masters takes over the right corner position from David Goulding. Fintan Gould, who played on the right wing against Kerry is named at full forward with Kevin O’Sullivan continuing in the left corner.

Stephen Hickey, Conor Whelan and Odran O’Dwyer, all of whom missed Clare’s opening two games are in line for selection for next Sunday’s meeting with Roscommon at Cusack Park.

The GAA was rocked last night by the sudden death of well-known Dublin official delegate Gerry Brady, just three days after he addressed a meeting of the organisation’s Central Council.

Mr Brady, a solicitor in his mid-60s, was regarded as an extremely knowledgeable GAA official whose views were sought on all major issues.

He was involved in all aspects of the GAA and was a key figure in framing the organisation’s approach to many thorny questions over the years.

On Saturday, he attended a meeting of Central Council.

A native of Monaghan, Mr Brady was attached to the Parnells GAA Club in Dublin for many years.

CORK (SF v Tyrone): A. Quirke; M. Prout, G. Canty, K. O’Connor; S. Levis, G. Spillane, A. Lynch; D. Hurley, D. Kavanagh; C. McCarthy, D. Niblock, K. McMahon; J. Masters, F. Gould, K. O’Sullivan.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up