Injury forces Doherty out of Derry midfield

Michael Ellard

Regular midfielder Fergal Doherty has been ruled out because of an ankle injury. As a consequence Johnny McBride moves to midfield with Gavin Donaghy earning his spurs at left half forward.

Team captain Eamonn O’Hara will be a notable absentee for Sligo in their qualifier with Clare at the same venue on Sunday. O’Hara misses out because of a damaged knee ligament and also sidelined are Brian Curran and Ken Sweeney, both victims of hamstring injuries.

Clare have deferred selection of their team until just before the start, but Ciaran Whelan, Timmy Ryan and Declan Callinan are unlikely to start because of injury, while team captain Ger Quinlan will undergo a last-

minute fitness test on his damaged shoulder.

Rory Gallagher has quit the Fermanagh football panel ahead of their Tommy Murphy Cup clash with Carlow in Enniskillen on Saturday.

Gallagher only returned to the Fermanagh squad this season after a two-year absence, during which he was strongly linked with a move to Dublin. His cousin Raymie could also miss the game as he is believed to be struggling with a hamstring injury.

The Ulster side will also be without Allstars Barry Owens and Martin McGrath and forward Ryan Keenan who recently departed for the US. Attacker Colm Bradley is also struggling with a hamstring problem, while defender Ryan McCloskey is suspended after being sent off in the All-Ireland qualifier defeat to Down.

Midfielder Donal O’Grady is almost certain to miss Limerick’s All-Ireland hurling qualifier against Kilkenny on July 31. He broke a thumb in last Saturday’s defeat by Galway at the Gaelic Grounds and is to meet a specialist on Monday. It is the second time since he broke onto the county scene this summer that O’Grady suffered a hand injury and on the last occasion he was out of action for a month.

Selector Liam Lenihan said it was very much touch and go if O’Grady would be ready for Croke Park. “Unfortunately, he has not been able to train since the injury.”

Meanwhile, Croke Park’s Central Disciplinary Committee met this week to review a number of incidents.

Wexford footballer Niall Murphy was suspended for two weeks from the date of his county’s game with Monaghan in Round 2 of the All Ireland football championship qualifiers. He received two yellow cards and incurred the suspension having been previously sent off within 48 weeks of the game.

Waterford’s Eoin McGrath was suspended for one month following his dismissal on Sunday against Clare.

Fermanagh’s Mark Curran was suspended for four weeks, having been sent off in his county’s Nicky Rackard Cup meeting with Donegal on July 9.

DERRY (SFC v Limerick): B. Gillis; K. McGuckin, K. McCloy, M. Kelly; F. McEldowney, S. M. Lockhart, P. McFlynn; J. McBride, Patsy Bradley, P. Murphy, E. Bradley, G. Donaghy; M. Lynch, Paddy Bradley, E. Muldoon.

SLIGO (SFC v Clare): P. Greene; P. Naughton, J. Martyn, B. Philips; P. Doohan, B. Egan, J. Davy; S. Davy, R. McGuire; J. McPartland, M. Breheny, D. McGarritty; D. McTiernan, D. Sloyne, G. McGuire.

More in this section

gaafootballplace: derryplace: castlebarplace: enniskillenplace: dublinplace: usplace: gaelic groundsplace: croke parkplace: fermanaghperson: dohertyperson: michael ellard derryperson: fergal dohertyperson: johnny mcbrideperson: gavin donaghyperson: eamonn o’haraperson: o’haraperson: brian curranperson: ken sweeneyperson: ciaran whelanperson: timmy ryanperson: declan callinanperson: ger quinlanperson: rory gallagherperson: gallagherperson: raymieperson: barry owensperson: martin mcgrathperson: ryan keenanperson: colm bradleyperson: ryan mccloskeyperson: donal o’gradyperson: o’gradyperson: selectorperson: liam lenihanperson: niall murphyperson: eoin mcgrathperson: mark curranperson: derryperson: b. gillisperson: k. mcguckinperson: k. mccloyperson: m. kellyperson: f. mceldowneyperson: s. m. lockhartperson: p. mcflynnperson: j. mcbrideperson: patsy bradleyperson: p. murphyperson: e. bradleyperson: g. donaghyperson: m. lynchperson: paddy bradleyperson: e. muldoonperson: p. greeneperson: p. naughtonperson: j. martynperson: b. philipsperson: p. doohanperson: b. eganperson: j. davyperson: s. davyperson: r. mcguireperson: j. mcpartlandperson: m. brehenyperson: d. mcgarrittyperson: d. mctiernanperson: d. sloyneperson: g. mcguireevent: all-ireland sfcevent: tommy murphy cupevent: all-irelandevent: all ireland football championshipevent: nicky rackard cuporganisation: limerickorganisation: sligoorganisation: clareorganisation: fermanaghorganisation: ulsterorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: galwayorganisation: central disciplinary committeeorganisation: wexfordorganisation: monaghanorganisation: waterfordorganisation: donegalorganisation: sfc

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up