U-21 star Marren gets nod in Sligo attack for Leitrim clash

SLIGO have called up U-21 star Adrian Marren for Sunday’s Bank of Ireland Connacht SFC clash with Leitrim at Carrick-on-Shannon.

With the skilful Dessie Sloyan ruled out with a hamstring injury, Marren, a member of the Curry club, gets his break at right corner-forward.

Team captain Eamon O’Hara, who missed a number of league games because of a back injury, is fit again and resumes in his normal midfield berth.

Colin Morrissey and Eoin Kelly will be fit for Tipperary’s Munster SHC replay against Limerick on Saturday.

Morrissey (leg) and Kelly (thigh) are recovering from injuries sustained in the drawn game at Semple Stadium and are expected to be named in Ken Hogan’s starting 15 after training this evening.

Meanwhile, Limerick may have another trump card to play. He is Kevin Tobin, brother of Pat, who, when brought in as substitute in the drawn match, hit two crucial points.

Kevin, like his brother, was a member of the U-21 team which claimed three titles, but failed to establish a regular first-team place on the senior squad under previous managements.

Now Joe McKenna has invited him into his squad and is almost certain to have him on the bench on Saturday. Limerick name their team tonight.

Tipperary chairman Donal Shanahan welcomed the Munster Council decision to reduce the admission prices for the replay and also appealed to Tipp fans to support their team.

“Despite being outplayed by Limerick for long periods last Sunday, the team showed commendable character to come back on two occasions and could have won the match. With the help of a large travelling support in the replay, hopefully the team can raise their game and defeat Limerick at the second time of asking.”

Down football captain Liam Doyle has been passed fit to play against Tyrone in the first round of the Ulster SFC at Casement Park on Sunday. Doyle, who skippered his county to All-Ireland U-21 glory in 1999, had struggled with a hamstring injury. Mourne defender Aidan Brannigan is out because of a quad muscle injury.

Tyrone captain Brian Dooher seems unlikely to win his fitness race ahead of the game. He is still troubled by an ankle injury sustained earlier this month. Brian Meenan is definitely out for Tyrone because of injury but Stephen O’Neill, Owen Mulligan and Peter Canavan will be available.

All-Ireland champions Cork have to field a new team for Sunday’s Munster IHC first round clash with Waterford in Thurles. The team is notable for the inclusion of Diarmuid O’Riordan at full-forward. He is a member of the recently formed Dripsey club. O’Riordan is a former county minor and played with Inniscarra up to last year.

Also on the starting 15 is last year’s Cork minor hurling captain Shane O’Neill, and Kevin Canty, a dual county minor in 2004.

Cork are chasing their third All-Ireland intermediate title in a row.

The Waterford team includes three former seniors, Brendan Landers, James O’Connor and Pat Fitzgerald, while Shane Kearney and John Wall were senior panellists last year.

SLIGO (SFC v Leitrim): P. Greene; P. Naughton, N. McGuire, B. Phillips; D. Durkin, J. Martyn, J. Daly; S. Daly, E. O’Hara; B. Egan, J. McPartland, B. Curran; A. Marren, M. Breheny, G. McGowan.

CORK (IHC v Waterford): S. Barry (St Finbarrs); B. Coleman (Ballyhea), W. Twomey (Kilworth), S. O’Leary (Watergrasshill); J. Hughes (Blarney), Jason Fleming (Barryroe), S. O’Neill (Bishopstown); S. Dineen (Ballinhassig), B. Coleman (Youghal); S. Kearney (St Catherines), K. Canty (Valley Rovers), V. Hurley (Courcey Rovers); M. O’Sullivan (Ballyhea), D. O’Riordan (Dripsey), J. Murphy (Courcey Rovers).

WATERFORD (IHC v Cork): B. Landers (Lismore); P. Murray (Tallow), S. Kearney (Lismore), A. Kearney (Tallow); W. Cunningham (Lismore), J. O’Connor (do), R. Hennessy (Ardmore); A. Kirwan (Portlaw), J. Hartley (do); P. Fitzgerald (Ballyduff Lwr), S. Barron (Clashmore), J. Wall (Colligan); F. Halpin (Clonea), S. McCarthy (Tallow), D. Howard (Lismore).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: SligoPlace: Carrick-on-ShannonPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: Casement ParkPlace: ThurlesPerson: MarrenPerson: Adrian MarrenPerson: Dessie SloyanPerson: Eamon O’HaraPerson: Colin MorrisseyPerson: Eoin KellyPerson: MorrisseyPerson: KellyPerson: Ken HoganPerson: Kevin TobinPerson: PatPerson: KevinPerson: Joe McKennaPerson: Donal ShanahanPerson: Liam DoylePerson: DoylePerson: Aidan BranniganPerson: Brian DooherPerson: Brian MeenanPerson: Stephen O’NeillPerson: Owen MulliganPerson: Peter CanavanPerson: Diarmuid O’RiordanPerson: O’RiordanPerson: Shane O’NeillPerson: Kevin CantyPerson: Brendan LandersPerson: James O’ConnorPerson: Pat FitzgeraldPerson: Shane KearneyPerson: John WallPerson: P. GreenePerson: P. NaughtonPerson: N. McGuirePerson: D. DurkinPerson: J. MartynPerson: J. DalyPerson: S. DalyPerson: E. O’HaraPerson: B. EganPerson: J. McPartlandPerson: B. CurranPerson: A. MarrenPerson: G. McGowanPerson: S. BarryPerson: B. ColemanPerson: W. TwomeyPerson: S. O’LearyPerson: J. HughesPerson: BlarneyPerson: Jason FlemingPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: S. DineenPerson: S. KearneyPerson: K. CantyPerson: V. HurleyPerson: M. O’SullivanPerson: D. O’RiordanPerson: DripseyPerson: J. MurphyPerson: B. LandersPerson: P. MurrayPerson: TallowPerson: A. KearneyPerson: W. CunninghamPerson: J. O’ConnorPerson: R. HennessyPerson: A. KirwanPerson: J. HartleyPerson: P. FitzgeraldPerson: LwrPerson: S. BarronPerson: J. WallPerson: ColliganPerson: F. HalpinPerson: CloneaPerson: S. McCarthyPerson: D. HowardEvent: Bank of IrelandEvent: Connacht SFCEvent: Munster SHCEvent: Ireland U-21Event: All-IrelandEvent: Munster IHC firstOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: CurryOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Munster CouncilOrganisation: TippOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: Ulster SFCOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: DripseyOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: LeitrimOrganisation: IHCOrganisation: St FinbarrsOrganisation: WatergrasshillOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: BallinhassigOrganisation: YoughalOrganisation: St CatherinesOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: Courcey RoversOrganisation: BallyheaOrganisation: LismoreOrganisation: TallowOrganisation: ArdmoreOrganisation: PortlawOrganisation: BallyduffOrganisation: Clashmore
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.