Tipperary rest first choice players

WITH his side already through to the knockout stages of the Allianz NHL, Tipperary manager Ken Hogan has rested a number of first choice players for Sunday’s clash with Cork at Pairc Uí Chaoimh.

There are six changes from the team which defeated Antrim in the previous round. Justin Cottrell replaces Brendan Cummins in goal while Colin Morrissey and Hugh Moloney come into the defence in place of Michael Phelan and David Kennedy, both of whom picked up injuries in the Antrim game.

Denis Byrne replaces the injured Eddie Enright at midfield, while up front Mark O’Leary and Noel Moloney, both students at UCC, will make their first starts. Seamus Butler and Ger O’Grady are the ones to lose out.

The Laois team to play Galway in the penultimate round at Pearse Stadium on Sunday shows one change from that which trounced Dublin. Robert Jones comes in to lead the attack in place of David Cuddy.

Defending champions Tipperary include seven of last year’s squad for Saturday’s Munster MHC first round tie against Clare in the Gaelic Grounds.

Wing-back Shane O’Brien, who travels to Australia in a fortnight’s time with the Irish team, finds himself up against a number of his St. Flannan’s colleagues who are on the Clare team.

A third of the St. Flannan’s team which recently won their 20th Irish Examiner Harty Cup title, are included by Clare with a possibility of two more if injuries to Donncha Kelleher, Ger Arthur and Danny O’Halloran clear up in time.

Coach Tommy Guilfoyle has left vacancies at right corner back and right corner forward because of injuries to the above trio. Murphy, McInerney, Clancy, Gaffney and Kennedy who are on the starting 15, are members of the St. Flannan’s team.

LAOIS (SH v Galway): K. Galvin; L. Mahon, P. Cuddy, C. Cuddy; J. Fitzpatrick, P. Cuddy, M. McEvoy; J. Young, J. Walsh; C. Coonan, R. Jones, S. Dwyer; T. Fitzgerald, L. Tynan, D. Culleton.

TIPPERARY (SH v Cork): J. Cottrell (Toomevara); T. Costello (Cappawhite), J. Devane (Clonoulty-Rossmore), C. Morrissey (Galtee Rovers); E. Corcoran (JK Brackens), D. Fanning (Killenaule), H. Moloney (Nenagh Eire Og); D. Byrne (Mullinahone), P. Kelly (Mullinahone), M. O'Leary (Kilruane McDonaghs), J. Carroll (Roscrea), B. Dunne (Toomevara), P. O'Brien (Toomevara), N. Moloney (Nenagh Eire Og), E. Kelly (Mullinahone).

Subs: B. Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange), P. Buckley (Emly), S. Butler (Drom & Inch), L. Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields), T. Dunne (Toomevara), E. Enright (Thurles Sarsfields), D. Fitzgerald (Roscrea), M. Maher (Borrisoleigh), P. Maher (Borrisoleigh), B. O'Meara (Mullinahone), M. Phelan (Ballybacon-Grange), T. Scroope (Burgess), P. Shortt (Upperchurch-Drombane), S. Sweeney (Ballybacon-Grange).

TIPPERARY (MHC v Clare): M. Ryan (Templederry); I. Delaney (JJ Brackens), S. Ryan (Kilruane McDonaghs), R. McLoughney (Moneygall); S. O’Brien (Ballina), J. McCarthy (Golden), R. McGrath (Carrick Davins); J. Dickson (Moycarkey Borris), K. Bergin (Killenaule); S. Scully (JJ Brackens), P. Ivors (Ballygarry); J. Woodlock (Drom & Inch); S. Long (Gortnahoe), D. Egan (Kildangan), D. Hickey (Boherlahan Dualla).

CLARE (MH v Tipperary): S. Murphy (Cratloe); AN Other, A. Kilmartin (Newmarket) I. O’Halloran (Smith O’Briens); A. Quilligan (Sixmilebridge), M. Flaherty (Killanena), J. McInerney (Newmarket-on-Fergus); P. O’Hara (Clonlara), J. Clancy (Clarecastle); B. Gaffney (Newmarket-on-Fergus), K. Sheehan (Ballyea), K. Kennedy (Kilmaley); AN Other, S. O’Brien (Smith O’Briens), D. O’Donoghue (Tubber).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: Pearse StadiumPlace: AustraliaPlace: NewmarketPlace: Newmarket-Place: -FergusPlace: Newmarket-on-FergusPerson: Ken HoganPerson: Justin CottrellPerson: Brendan CumminsPerson: Colin MorrisseyPerson: Hugh MoloneyPerson: Michael PhelanPerson: David KennedyPerson: Denis ByrnePerson: Eddie EnrightPerson: Mark O’LearyPerson: Noel MoloneyPerson: Seamus ButlerPerson: Ger O’GradyPerson: Robert JonesPerson: David CuddyPerson: Shane O’BrienPerson: Donncha KelleherPerson: Ger ArthurPerson: Danny O’HalloranPerson: Tommy GuilfoylePerson: MurphyPerson: McInerneyPerson: ClancyPerson: GaffneyPerson: KennedyPerson: K. GalvinPerson: L. MahonPerson: P. CuddyPerson: C. CuddyPerson: J. FitzpatrickPerson: M. McEvoyPerson: J. YoungPerson: J. WalshPerson: C. CoonanPerson: R. JonesPerson: S. DwyerPerson: T. FitzgeraldPerson: L. TynanPerson: D. CulletonPerson: J. CottrellPerson: ToomevaraPerson: T. CostelloPerson: CappawhitePerson: J. DevanePerson: Clonoulty-RossmorePerson: C. MorrisseyPerson: E. CorcoranPerson: JK BrackensPerson: D. FanningPerson: KillenaulePerson: H. MoloneyPerson: Nenagh Éire ÓgPerson: D. ByrnePerson: MullinahonePerson: P. KellyPerson: M. O'LearyPerson: Kilruane McDonaghsPerson: J. CarrollPerson: RoscreaPerson: B. DunnePerson: P. O'BrienPerson: N. MoloneyPerson: E. KellyPerson: B. CumminsPerson: Ballybacon-GrangePerson: P. BuckleyPerson: EmlyPerson: S. ButlerPerson: L. CorbettPerson: Thurles SarsfieldsPerson: T. DunnePerson: E. EnrightPerson: D. FitzgeraldPerson: M. MaherPerson: BorrisoleighPerson: P. MaherPerson: B. O'MearaPerson: M. PhelanPerson: T. ScroopePerson: BurgessPerson: P. ShorttPerson: DrombanePerson: S. SweeneyPerson: M. RyanPerson: TemplederryPerson: I. DelaneyPerson: JJ BrackensPerson: S. RyanPerson: R. McLoughneyPerson: MoneygallPerson: S. O’BrienPerson: BallinaPerson: J. McCarthyPerson: GoldenPerson: R. McGrathPerson: Carrick DavinsPerson: J. DicksonPerson: Moycarkey BorrisPerson: K. BerginPerson: S. ScullyPerson: P. IvorsPerson: BallygarryPerson: J. WoodlockPerson: S. LongPerson: GortnahoePerson: D. EganPerson: KildanganPerson: D. HickeyPerson: Boherlahan DuallaPerson: MHPerson: S. MurphyPerson: A. KilmartinPerson: I. O’HalloranPerson: O’BriensPerson: A. QuilliganPerson: M. FlahertyPerson: KillanenaPerson: J. McInerneyPerson: P. O’HaraPerson: J. ClancyPerson: B. GaffneyPerson: K. SheehanPerson: K. KennedyPerson: AnPerson: Smith O’BriensPerson: D. O’DonoghuePerson: TubberEvent: Munster MHCOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: St. FlannanOrganisation: SHOrganisation: Galtee RoversOrganisation: UpperchurchOrganisation: BallybaconOrganisation: MHCOrganisation: Drom & Inch
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.