St Catherines book date with champions Na Piarsaigh after tough clash

St Catherines 1-15 Glen Rovers 0-15

It was a power packed replay display by St. Catherines, with the physical presence of stalwart Cathal Casey proving a determining factor. Last week he notched four wonderful points this time he drilled over six. His general play was immense and it his 58th minute sideline cut in the middle of the park that resulted in the deciding goal from another colossus Kieran Morrison.

Scorers for St Catherines: K Morrison 1-3, C Casey 0-6 (0-3 65m, 0-2 frees), M Hegarty 0-3 (0-2 frees), S Cotter, J Jnr Sheehan and C Hogan 0-1 each.

Glen Rovers: P Horgan 0-7 (0-4 frees, 0-2 65m), D Cronin 0-3, K O'Callaghan 0-2, S McGrath, T Murphy, L Tracey 0-1 each.

IT should have capped off one of the most memorable individual displays in the championship at Rathcormack. Five minutes into injury time, Avondhu's Jonathan O'Callaghan won possession, but from a tight angle 35 metres from goal, struck agonisingly wide. Then referee Diarmuid Kirwan brought an outstanding exhibition of senior hurling to a close with Imokilly edging out Avondhu 2-17 to 2-16.

A draw would have been a fitting result to a contest that ebbed and flowed with O'Callaghan providing more than a glimpse of his marksmanship with frees from all angles and distances. Avondhu, after an excellent sequence of points midway through the second half, thought they were on the road to victory with five minutes remaining. But up stepped Niall McCarthy, who had a quite game, to whip a tight angled shot to the net. It proved the decisive score and they now play Erins Own in the next round.

Avondhu led 2-6 to 0-9 at the break.

Scorers: Imokilly: P Cahill 1-1; M Da Fitzgerald 0-4; N McCarthy 1-0; G O'Leary (0-1 free) and J Barrett 0-3 each); P O'Regan and P O'Neill 0-2 each; B Coleman and L Greaney 0-1 each.

Avondhu: J O'Callaghan 1-10 (1-0 '65'; 0-8 frees); D Moher 1-3; N Ronan 0-2; S Fox 0-1.

ANOTHER hurling night to recall for Duhallow the Cinderella division of the Cork championship at Coachford. A late point from Kilbrin full-forward Noel O'Callaghan foiled former winners Carbery, who were left to rue some poor shooting in the opening half when playing with the strong wind at their backs, the game finishing 1-11 apiece.

And for their spirit and never-say-die attitude alone, this was a draw they richly deserved as they remain on course for something no Duhallow side has ever achieved back-to-back wins in the championship. Twice in the third quarter Duhallow looked in big trouble when trailing by four points. Twice, however, they were able to respond and had O'Callaghan not missed a super goal opportunity late in the game they might now be planning for a crack at Cloyne, who had a large delegation watching proceedings.

Carbery, for whom John Paul O'Callaghan scored 1-7, led 1-7 to 1- 5 interval.

Scorers for Carbery: J. P. O'Callaghan 1-7 (0-7 frees), J. Forristal 0-2, V. O'Brien, K. O'Donovan 0-1 each

Duhallow: D. Crowley 1-2, F. Browne 0-3 (frees), D. Broderick 0-2, S. Whelan, D. Dunne, D. McCarthy ('65), N. O'Callaghan 0-1 each.

In the Cork County IFC at Ballinacarriga, Castletownbere beat Fermoy 2-9 to 0-8 and now meet Carrigaline or Glanmire. Brothers Alan, Brendan and Sean O'Regan accounted for 2-6 of their tally

Scorers for Castletownbere: A. O'Regan, B, O'Regan 1-2 each, S. Harrington, S. O'Regan (frees) 0-2 each, A. O'Sullivan 0-1.

Fermoy: N. Lardner 0-6 (0-4 frees, 0-1 45), P. Hickey, P. Howard 0-1 each.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPlace: RathcormackPlace: BallinacarrigaPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: Cathal CaseyPerson: Kieran MorrisonPerson: K MorrisonPerson: C CaseyPerson: M HegartyPerson: S CotterPerson: J Jnr SheehanPerson: C HoganPerson: P HorganPerson: D CroninPerson: K O'CallaghanPerson: S McGrathPerson: T MurphyPerson: L TraceyPerson: AvondhuPerson: Jonathan O'CallaghanPerson: Diarmuid KirwanPerson: ImokillyPerson: O'CallaghanPerson: Niall McCarthyPerson: M Da FitzgeraldPerson: N McCarthyPerson: G O'LearyPerson: J BarrettPerson: P O'NeillPerson: B ColemanPerson: L GreaneyPerson: J O'CallaghanPerson: D MoherPerson: N RonanPerson: S FoxPerson: DuhallowPerson: KilbrinPerson: Noel O'CallaghanPerson: CarberyPerson: CloynePerson: John Paul O'CallaghanPerson: J. P. O'CallaghanPerson: J. ForristalPerson: V. O'BrienPerson: K. O'DonovanPerson: D. CrowleyPerson: F. BrownePerson: D. BroderickPerson: S. WhelanPerson: D. DunnePerson: D. McCarthyPerson: N. O'CallaghanPerson: FermoyPerson: CarrigalinePerson: GlanmirePerson: AlanPerson: BrendanPerson: Sean O'ReganPerson: A. O'ReganPerson: BPerson: O'ReganPerson: S. HarringtonPerson: S. O'ReganPerson: A. O'SullivanPerson: N. LardnerPerson: P. HickeyPerson: P. HowardEvent: Cork championshipOrganisation: St CatherinesOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: Evening EchoOrganisation: Cork County SHCOrganisation: Bride RoversOrganisation: St. CatherinesOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: DuhallowOrganisation: Cork County IFCOrganisation: Castletownbere
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd