Limerick agree on interim boss following exit of Whelahan

THE Limerick County Board last night appointed an interim manager following the departure of Padjoe Whelahan.

It was proposed by the executive that former senior hurling team selector Liam Lenihan should join Joe McKenna and Declan Nash as a selector and that between them they should decide who would manage the team.

There was a proposal of a vote of no confidence in McKenna and Nash continuing as selectors, but that was beaten 62-58 on a show of hands.

The board are also to appoint a hurling coach and have recommended that dual players should be considered for the senior hurling team.

Lenihan served for four years as selector with former manager Tom Ryan and brought Limerick to All-Ireland finals in 1994 and 1996.

Brian Corcoran makes his first start of the season as All-Ireland champions Cork take on Antrim in the Allianz National Hurling League at Páirc Ui Rinn on Saturday.

Corcoran, who crowned a fairytale comeback with an All-Ireland medal in September, was introduced as a substitute in the last game against Wexford and turned the tide in the Rebels' favour.

The Cork team shows six changes from the side that pipped Wexford by a point. Paul Morrissey takes over in goal from Donal Óg Cusack, who is being rested, Brian Murphy returns at right corner-back in place of John Browne and Cian O'Connor gets his call up at full-back and replaces Diarmuid O'Sullivan, who is on holidays.

With Ronan Curran away on business, Peter Kelly is promoted to centre-back and into the side at midfield comes newcomer Ronan McGregor, who lines out in place of Jerry O'Connor.

The half-forward line of Garvan, Niall and Timmy McCarthy is the same that started against Wexford. In the full-forward line however, Neil Ronan moves to the right corner in place of Kieran Murphy, with Corcoran starting at full-forward and Joe Deane continuing in the left corner.

The Tipperary selectors have made three changes from the side which defeated Limerick last time out for their meeting with Wexford at Semple Stadium on Sunday.

Martin Maher, Benny Dunne and Paddy O'Brien come into the side at the expense of Hugh Moloney, Donal Shelly and Seamus Butler.

Wexford will be without David O'Connor, Colm Kehoe and Mitch Jordan.

O'Connor injured knee ligaments playing club football at the weekend, Kehoe has a hamstring problem while Jordan is unavailable. Eoin Quigley has only a 50/50 chance of playing because of a hamstring injury. The team will be announced tonight.

Clare will be without Tony Griffin for their crunch clash with Galway at Cusack Park on Sunday. Griffin, who played at full-forward in Clare's two opening league games, has returned to Canada to pursue his studies.

He will miss the next two rounds of the competition, but manager Anthony Daly is hopeful he will be home in time for the Banner's concluding match against Waterford.

However, former Allstar full-back Brian Lohan is expected to make his first league appearance of the season. Lohan had recovered from serious ligament problems that kept him sidelined for most of last year but he damaged a shoulder in a challenge game against Cork in the build-up to the league.

Clare and Kilkenny are expected to name their teams tonight.

The news from Noreside, however, is that the Cats have no injury problems.

Tickets for the AIB All-Ireland club finals on St Patrick's Day are on sale from Ticketmaster outlets nationwide, as well as the usual GAA channels.

In Dublin tickets can be purchased from McCaughey's shop on Clonliffe Road, and O'Neill's Newsagent, Drumcondra Road.

They can also be purchased over the phone by calling 0818-719300.

The prices are: adult stand tickets €20, Hill 16 €15. Student/senior citizen €10, and juveniles (U-16) €5. Group juvenile tickets are also available at €1 per child with one adult free with every 10 children. These tickets are available at the Croke Park Ticket Office only. Tel: 01-8363222.

Tickets will also be on sale on the day.

TIPPERARY (SH v Wexford): B Cummins; M Maher, P Maher, P Curran; D Fanning, D Kennedy, E Corcoran; C Morrissey, T Slevin; M O'Leary, F Devanney, B Dunne; E Sweeney, M Webster, P O'Brien.

CORK (SH v Antrim): P Morrissey; B Murphy, C O'Connor, P Mulcahy; G Callinan, P Kelly, S Óg Ó hAilpín; T Kenny, R McGregor; G McCarthy, N McCarthy, T McCarthy; N Ronan, B Corcoran, J Deane.

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: páirc uí rinnplace: semple stadiumplace: cusack parkplace: canadaplace: noresideplace: dublinplace: clonliffe roadplace: drumcondra roadperson: padjoe whelahanperson: liam lenihanperson: joe mckennaperson: declan nashperson: mckennaperson: nashperson: lenihanperson: tom ryanperson: brian corcoranperson: corcoranperson: paul morrisseyperson: dónal óg cusackperson: brian murphyperson: john browneperson: cian o'connorperson: diarmuid o'sullivanperson: ronan curranperson: peter kellyperson: ronan mcgregorperson: jerry o'connorperson: garvanperson: niallperson: timmy mccarthyperson: neil ronanperson: kieran murphyperson: joe deaneperson: martin maherperson: benny dunneperson: paddy o'brienperson: hugh moloneyperson: donal shellyperson: seamus butlerperson: david o'connorperson: colm kehoeperson: mitch jordanperson: o'connorperson: kehoeperson: jordanperson: eoin quigleyperson: tony griffinperson: griffinperson: clareperson: anthony dalyperson: brian lohanperson: lohanperson: b cumminsperson: m maherperson: p maherperson: p curranperson: d fanningperson: d kennedyperson: e corcoranperson: c morrisseyperson: t slevinperson: m o'learyperson: f devanneyperson: b dunneperson: e sweeneyperson: m websterperson: p o'brienperson: corkperson: p morrisseyperson: b murphyperson: c o'connorperson: p mulcahyperson: g callinanperson: p kellyperson: s og o hailpinperson: t kennyperson: r mcgregorperson: g mccarthyperson: n mccarthyperson: t mccarthyperson: n ronanperson: b corcoranperson: j deaneevent: all-irelandevent: st patrick's dayorganisation: limerickorganisation: limerick county boardorganisation: corkorganisation: antrimorganisation: wexfordorganisation: clareorganisation: galwayorganisation: waterfordorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: catsorganisation: aib all-organisation: ticketmaster outletsorganisation: gaa
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up