Irish boxers take lead against Poland

Ireland beat Poland 5-3 in Donegal last night to take a two-bout lead into the second leg of the senior international series on Friday evening.

Ireland beat Poland 5-3 in Donegal last night to take a two-bout lead into the second leg of the senior international series on Friday evening.

Tyrone McCullagh, Willie McLoughin, Eric Donovan, David Joyce and Darren O'Neill all recorded victories at a packed Innishowen Hotel in Buncrana.

Both nations will meet again tomorrow night at the Abbey Hotel in Donegal.

McCullagh got Ireland off to a positive start with a four-point margin of victory over Mateusz Mazik, a silver medal winner from the 2007 EU Junior Championships in Warsaw.

It was an impressive win for the Donegal man, who used the width of the ring apron to maximum effect while keeping his opponent on the end of his long straight right.

However, there was disappointment for Michael Myres who lost out to Michael Syrowatka despite a brave performance.

Eric Donovan handed the initiative back to Ireland, forcing Michael Chudecki into a standing count in the fourth en route to earning an 18-14 verdict.

Ulster senior champ Eamon O'Kane also obliged his opponent, Maciej Adamiak, to take a standing count - in the third round.

Despite controlling the final two frames the Belfast man was left frustrated after the contest was scored in his opponents favour by a margin of one point.

That reversal left the tie locked at 2-2, but Darren O'Neill, who moved up from middleweight to light heavyweight for last night's international, wasted little time in edging Ireland back in front after he stopped fellow southpaw Dariusz Sek in the first round.

The impressive McLoughlin also took the early route to victory after he halted Lukasz Polcyn in the second.

Joyce ensured that Ireland could not be beaten on the night, claiming a 23-5 decision over Damian Malas from a hard hitting middleweight clash.

Galway heavyweight Pat Corcoran was involved in the final bout of the evening but had to settle for second best against the experienced Arthur Szpilka.

Ireland v Poland results Inishowen Hotel Buncrana Donegal May 14:

54Kg: Tyrone McCullagh (Illies GG) beat Mateusz Mazik (Poland) 22-18

57Kg: Michael Myres (Brosna) lost to Michael Syrowatka (Poland) 9-18

60Kg: Eric Donovan (St Michael's Athy) beat Michael Chudecki (Poland) 18-14

69Kg: Willie McLoughlin (Illies GG) beat Lukasz Polcyn (Poland) RSC2

75Kg: Eamon O'Kane (Immaculata) lost to Maciej Adamiak (Poland) 14-15

75Kg: David Joyce (St Michael's Athy) beat Damian Malas (Poland) 23-5

81Kg: Darren O'Neill (Paulstown) beat Dariusz Sek (Poland) RSC1

91Kg: Pat Corcoran (Galway) lost to Artur Szpilka (Poland) 12-27

(Ireland win 5-3)

Support Bouts: 69Kg: Martin Lynch (Illies GG) beat John Joe Joyce (St Michael's Athy) 25-13

Team Manager: Clive Whitbread

Ireland v Poland Abbey Hotel Donegal May 16 (8pm):

48Kg: Jimmy Moore (St Francis) v Lukasz Maszcyzk (Poland)

57Kg: Willie Casey (OLOL) v Michael Chudecki (Poland)

60Kg: Ciaran Bates (St Mary's Dublin) v Krzysztof Szot (Poland)

64Kg: John Murray (Gorey) v Mariusz Koperski (Poland)

69Kg: Fergal Redmond (Arklow) v Lukasz Polcyn (Poland)

75Kg: Stephen O'Reilly (Twintowns) v Maciej Adamiak (Poland)

75Kg: Noel McCarron (Carrigart) v Norbert Dadrowski (Poland)

81Kg: Danny Tourish (Twintowns) v Dariusz Sek (Poland)

91Kg: Jimmy Sweeney (Drimnagh) v Artur Szpilka (Poland)

91+Kg: David Joyce (Moate) v Krzysztof Glowacki (Poland)

(Bouts and opponents subject to change)

Team Manager: Jackie Gallagher

More in this section

ieStyle Live 2021 Logo
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Discover the great outdoors on Ireland's best walking trails

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up