Motorsport: Power Tour series arrives at Rockingham

The PowerTour series arrived at the Rockingham Circuit today - the newest venue in British motor racing.

The PowerTour series arrived at the Rockingham Circuit today - the newest venue in British motor racing.

In less than two years, a green field site has been transformed into a high standard motor sport complex.

It will be the first time that any of the drivers will have raced at this venue and in many respects, the form book could be turned upside down.

Qualifying for tomorrow’s double header races in the Green Flag British F3 Scholarship Class double header has concluded.

Ernani Judice, will for the second time this season, lead the Scholarship drivers away.

Robert Doornbos is next with championship trio, Matthew Gilmore from Portadown, Robbie Kerr and Cork’s, Michael Keohane next.

Certainly, these grid positions should make for a good race with the likes of Keohane and Kerr hoping to steal a march at the start of the 20 minute race.

Kerr is in a strong position for the second race. With nine minutes of the second session remaining, he posted his fastest time to take pole.

The session was red flagged with five minutes remaining and when the cars eventually went back out on the Rockingham circuit, the order behind Kerr changed.

The driver to suffer most was Michael Keohane.

Prior to the stoppage, he was third of the Scholarship drivers. On the re-start, his car stalled and his Meritus team lost more time when the battery pack failed.

As other drivers posted faster times, Keohane slipped from third to sixth while Matthew Gilmore went from the back of the grid into third spot, behind Kerr and Judice. Doornbos, Mark Mayall and Doornbos precede sixth placed Keohane.

Tomorrow’s races are at 11. 30 a. m. and 3. 30 p.m.

Northern Ireland duo, Adam Carroll and Gary Turkington will start from the rows nine and ten respectively for tomorrow’s Slick 50 British Formula Ford Championship. Carroll, who is second in the series, 31 points behind runaway leader, Richard Goransson, had a disappointing session. Elsewhere, the other Irish representation is Tony Rodgers - row 12; Emmet O’Brien and Robert Scott both on row 13 and James Murphy one place behind.

In the Ford Credit Fiesta Zetec-S qualifying, Eoin Murray is best of the Irish. His Stancombe Vehicle Engineering car will start from the second row of the grid. Colin Turkington, who leads the championship by 23 points is on the fourth row. The BRDC single seater grid features Cork driver, Michael Fitzgerald on the ninth row.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up