Anthony O’Leary set to defend ‘14 title

Following last weekend’s victory for Crosshaven’s Peter McCann in Kinsale at the ISA Junior All-Ireland Sailing Championships, attention switches to Dun Laoghaire this morning where Anthony O’Leary is set to defend his 2014 title at the National Yacht Club.

Anthony O’Leary set to defend ‘14 title

McCann won his series along with his crewmate Jamie Venner, and a win for his senior clubmate tomorrow would be a neat conclusion to the season for the Royal Cork YC.

Despite the apparent Indian Summer, light airs look set to dominate the series that begins this morning with the first of two flights of racing in the Sailfleet J80 sportsboats.

Fickle conditions could upset the running order and open up the series to several other contenders all seeking one of eight places in tomorrow’s finale.

The field comprises national champions from all of Ireland’s biggest dinghy and keelboat classes in what has been dubbed the “champion of champions” regatta.

At stake is a chance to be included on the original Irish Dinghy Racing Association’s Silver Salver trophy, which lists many of the best known sailors from Ireland’s amateur sailing scene of the years since 1947.

While O’Leary will be hoping for a second consecutive win, he has still to equal the hat-trick record of his son Nicholas in 2010, while Olympian Peter O’Leary only appears once on the trophy.

Also aiming for victory tomorrow will be Alex Barry of Monkstown Bay Sailing Club representing the RS400 fleet, arguably the most vibrant dinghy class in the Irish sailing scene at present.

Waterford Harbour’s Roy Darrer represents the Irish Cruiser Racing Association Class 1 fleet following a season that included overall victory in the Scottish Series at the helm of Fool’s Gold.

ISA All-Ireland Sailing Championships 2015 (at National YC, Dun Laoghaire)


2014 Champion - Anthony O’Leary (Royal Cork YC); RS400 - Alex Barry (Monkstown Bay SC); GP14 - Niall Henry (Sligo YC); Shannon OD - Frank Browne (Lough Ree YC); Flying Fifteen - David Gorman (National YC); Squib - Fergus O’Kelly (Howth YC); ICRA 1 - Roy Darrer (Waterford Harbour Sailing Club); Mermaid - Patrick Dillon (Rush SC); Laser Standard - Ronan Cull (Howth YC); SB20 - Michael O’Connor (Royal St.George YC); IDRA14 - Alan Henry (Sutton DC); RS200 - Frank O’Rourke (Greystones SC); ICRA 2 - Simon Rattigan (Howth YC); ICRA 4 - Cillian Dickson (Howth YC); Ruffian - Chris Helme (Royal St.George YC); ICRA 3 – Niamh McDonald (Howth YC);

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up