Toomey named new CI president

Chairman of Tandem Cycling Ireland and also chairman of the paracycling commission, Denis Toomey was appointed new president of Cycling Ireland at the Board’s AGM in Monaghan on Saturday.

Toomey saw off former road international and popular cycling figure Ciarán McKenna following a dramatic vote that ended in a tie.

This meant outgoing president Rory Wyley had the casting vote and his election-deciding vote went Toomey’s way. Toomey was elected to the board of Cycling Ireland at the 2012 AGM and is Cycling Ireland’s representative on the European Handcycling Federation and at Paralympics Ireland.

He is best known for his work with the national paracycling set-up, with the team having secured five World Championship titles in 2012-2013, both on the track and on the road and winning two gold, one silver and two bronze at London 2012.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up