Ruth responsible for all three contenders for the Dog of the Year Award

There’s simply no stopping Rathangan greyhound trainer Dolores Ruth.

Having dominated the headlines last year, she has now received the ultimate honour as she is responsible for all three contenders for the Dog of the Year Award.

The Irish Greyhound Board yesterday announced the nominations for all six track awards and the three nominees for the Dog Award are Irish Derby winner Razldazl George, Laurels winner Razldazl Rioga and Easter Cup winner Makeshift — all sons of Razldazl Pearl and all trained in the Rathangan kennels.

The previous year the father and son team of PJ and Conor Fahy had achieved the same fate and it is quite amazing that we should have a similar situation this time. Not surprisingly, Razldazl Pearl is among the nominations for the brood bitch award. The other bitches in the running are Rising Angel, dam of English Derby winner Taylors Sky, and Tyrur Blackie, dam of Masters winner Piercestown Sand.

John Linehan’s Droopys Twirl and Conor Fahy’s Tyrur Mozzletoff (formerly Mozzletoff) , which finished first and second In the Irish Oaks final, are nominated for the Bitch gone while the other contender is Liam Dowling’s hugely consistent Ballymac Mitsy.

Three finalists in the Irish Sprint Cup final will be vying for the two-bend award. These are the winner Shoemakers Lad, the recently injured Cracking Man and three-time Sprint Cup finalist Yes Boss.

Two greyhounds currently based in the UK, Ceroc Shaneboy (formerly Shaneboy Fantasy), Fleeting Image and ultra-marathon performer Slaneyside Havoc are in line for the stayer’s category.

For the first time a Stud Dog Award is included and here the nominations are Crash, Head Bound and Westmead Hawk.

Killenaule legend Matt O’Donnell will be the recipient of the Hall of Fame Award and there couldn’t be a more deserving winner.

One of the few trainers to complete the English and Irish Derby double, he has held a trainer’s licence since 1968 and has won virtually every top competition in the calendar.

The Special Merit Award is being presented by Paddy O’Gorman who is a true legend of the sport down in the west. He has been the life and blood of Galway Track for many years and a couple of years ago the Golden Jacket was run in his honour — and was won by Matt O’Donnell!

The Awards will be presented at a lunchtime function in the Hodson Bay Hotel in Athlone on Sunday, March 11th and tickets are available at €35 each.


Dog of Year — Makeshift, Razldazl George, Razldazl Rioga.

Bitch of Year — Ballymac Mitsy, Droopys Twirl, Tyrur Mozzletoff.

Sprinter — Cracking Man, Shoemakers Lad, Yes Boss.

Stayer — Ceroc Shaneboy, Fleeting Image, Slaneyside Havoc.

Brood Bitch — Razldazl Pearl, Rising Angel, Tyford Blackie.

Stud Dog — Crash, Head Bound, Westmead Hawk.

Hall of Fame — Matt O’Donnell

Special Merit — Paddy O’Gorman

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up