Irish swim records tumble in Croatia

IRISH records continued to tumble at the Kantrida Indoor Swimming Complex in Rijeka, Croatia yesterday on the second day of competition at the European Short Course Swimming Championships 2008.

Five new Irish records were established in total in the heat swims. The first Irish competitor of the day, Donal O’Neill recorded a time of 25.05 in the men’s 50m backstroke, to claim a new Irish senior record.

The previous record was held by himself and set in 2004 — the year he retired from the sport before deciding to make a comeback.

In the women’s 200m breaststroke, Fiona Doyle clocked a 2.33.74 — finishing outside of her personal best time.

Barry Murphy, following his eighth place finish in the final of the men’s 50m freestyle yesterday established another Irish senior record this morning — this time in the heats of the Men’s 100m freestyle.

Murphy clocked a time of 48.69, three tenths of a second inside his own previous Irish record mark, making him the fastest Irishman in history over this distance in the pool.

Conor Leaney also established a new Irish junior record in the same event, recording 50.02, adding to his 50m freestyle junior record which he set yesterday.

The Irish quartet of Fiona Doyle, Aisling Cooney, Claire Dawson and Melanie Nocher kept the momentum alive when they clocked a new Irish senior record in the women’s 4x50m Freestyle team relay, finishing in a time of 1.42.31.

In the final event of the morning on day two of the championships, the women’s 800m freestyle saw Grainne Murphy establish a new Irish junior and senior Record in a time of 8.40.48.

The previous record was held by Michelle Smith, and was set at 8.44.06. Niamh O’Sullivan, not far from the heels of Murphy, recorded a time of 8.45.08.

Ireland has no swimmers racing in the later semi-final/final session this afternoon, but tomorrow morning’s line up of heats includes an Irish swimmer in almost every event.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up