Quirke leads the way as Douglas retain title

LAST year’s winner Craig Murphy did not compete but Douglas CS kept the senior boys’ individual title thanks to an impressive performance from Richard Quirke at the South Munster Schools cross-country championships hosted by Midleton CBS yesterday.

Murphy will be on international duty at Hannut this weekend but coach Stephen Macklin was able to send out a strong team to retain both the individual and team titles in the senior boys’ race which developed into a contest between Quirke, his schoolmate, David O’Keeffe, and Philip O’Neill (Midleton CBS) going into the final lap.

In the end, O’Neill turned a remarkable performance to split the Douglas boys and claim the silver medal with another Midleton CBS athlete, Donogh Wall, fourth, ahead of two Douglas CS athletes, Craig Harrington and Alan O’Brien.

Douglas CS added both the intermediate and junior cups to their collection as well as the All-Round cup which they were also defending.

In the intermediate race, the gold medal went to David O’Sullivan (Boherbue CS) who had almost 20 seconds to spare over John Harrington (Maria Immaculata CC, Dunmanway), with Peter Hanrahan in third place, leading Douglas to the team title, followed across the line by his teammates Mark Tobin, Patrick Coleman with Andrew Ross (Maria Immaculata, Dunmanway) sixth.

Dean O Croinín (Coláiste an Phiarsaigh, Glanmire) fought off Danny Mullins (St Goban’s College, Bantry) to win the junior race with Dylan Mac Giobiun of Coláiste Chríost Rí in third place.

Douglas Community School had to be content with team silver once again in the minor boys’ race where Cathal McCarthy won the gold medal and led Midleton CBS to the team title. The Midleton boy had seven seconds to spare over Ailín O Nualain (Coláiste Chríost Rí) and Ciarán Everard (Maria Immaculata CC, Dunmanway).

There was a record entry of more than 160 for the first-year girls’ race which was won by local student, Blaithín Lynch (St Mary’s, Midleton), who stepped out of her age group to finish sixth in the under-15 race.

Shauna Fagan (Mount Mercy) was second with Jessica O’Sullivan (Kinsale CS) in third place, leading Kinsale Community School to the team title.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up