Stars quietly align at Iftas

The stars were out in force last night for this year’s Irish Film and Television Awards.

Stars quietly align at Iftas

Actress Amy Huberman was her usual chatty self, while Gay Byrne, Aidan Gillen, and Deirdre O’Kane were also in flying form.

And why wouldn’t they be? The sun was shining, the wine was flowing, and Ireland had just legalised same-sex marriage.

Caroline Morohan hosted the event

Hollywood heavyweight Sean Bean was casually chatting with the cast of Love/Hate, and later presented one of the most important awards of the night — Jim Sheridan’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

A veteran of the film world, Sheridan is responsible for some of the most memorable movies to have ever come out of Ireland — In the Name of the Father; My Left Foot; and The Field, to name but a few.

Patrick Bergin on the red carpet

One of the other big winners of the night was, once again, Love/Hate.

In probably the most hotly contested category, the Dublin crime drama saw off Game of Thrones, Charlie, Vikings, and The Fall to take home the overall award for Best Drama.

‘Love/Hate’ writer Stuart Carolan with actor Stephen Rae

Charlie Murphy, who plays Siobhan on the hit TV show, took home the award for best Actress in a Leading Role in Drama, beating stiff competition in Caitriona Balfe from Outlander.

Charlie Murphy won for Love/Hate

Fellow Love/Hate star Aidan Gillen also took home an award, winning Best Actor in a Drama for his stellar performance in political drama Charlie.

Domhnall Gleeson won Best Supporting Actor in Film for his role in Frank, while Deirdre O’Kane won Best Actress in a Leading Role in Film, for heartfelt flick Noble.

But a special award has to go to the crowd at this year’s Iftas. Whether it was the hot summer air or the fear of repeating past mistakes, attendees were substantially more subdued than last year.

Amanda Byram

While the 2014 awards were widely criticised due to a rowdy crowd and myriad sound problems, this time around was a noticeably smoother affair.

In between costume changes, host Caroline Morahan moved effortlessly from one award to the next and her long line of guest presenters followed suit.

Viewers can see the show on TV3 at 9pm tonight.


More in this section