Lighthouse tours to be extended
The lighthouse, which was opened in July for the first time in 341 years, has seen more than 12,000 visitors coming to the site at Clare’s most westerly point.
The first lighthouse on Loop Head was one of four known Irish stone-vaulted cottage-type lights, built about 1670. The beacon fell into disuse towards the end of the 17th century but was re-established in 1720.



