Galway to give trio championship debuts in clash with Mayo

Both Mayo and Galway have championship debutants for Sunday’s Connacht SFC quarter-final clash in MacHale Park in Castlebar (4pm).

Galway to give trio championship debuts in clash with Mayo

In a game which is expected to throw up a surprise or two in terms of personnel, Mayo have announced one championship debutant — Eoin O’Donoghue of Belmullet — while Galway go with three, Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh, Ciarán Duggan, and Barry McHugh.

The Galway side, if it starts as expected, will show three changes to the team that lost to Dublin in last month’s Division 1 final, Peter Cooke and Seán Kelly set to miss out as well as confirmed injured Eamonn Brannigan. No players from All-Ireland senior winners Corofin have been included.

If they start as named, Mayo would have 11 of the team beaten by Galway in last June’s Connacht semi-final — injured Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Donie Vaughan, and Fergal Boland the absentees.

Galway’s team, if correct as revealed, would also have as many survivors from the game in Salthill.

Meanwhile, Gary Walsh returns to the Laois team for tomorrow evening’s Leinster SFC visit to face Wexford.

The corner-forward was dropped for the Allianz FL Division 4 final win over Carlow following a controversial tweet in the wake of the Belfast rape trial verdict last month.

David Conway, Damien O’Connor, and debutant Ruaidhrí Fennell also come into the team, with Brian Glynn, Benny Carroll, the injured Eoin Lowry, and the US-bound Robbie Piggott dropping out of the side which played in that league decider.

GALWAY (SFC v Mayo):

R Lavelle (Renvyle); D Kyne (Clonbur), SA Ó Ceallaigh (Naomh Ánna Leitir Mór), E Kerin (Annaghdown); G O’Donnell (Tuam Stars), G Bradshaw (Moycullen), C Sweeney (Killannin); T Flynn (St Mary’s, Athenry), C Duggan (Annaghdown); S Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne), P Conroy (St James), J Heaney (Killannin); S Armstrong (Salthill/Knocknacarra), D Comer (Annaghdown), B McHugh (Mountbellew/Moylough).

MAYO (SFC v Galway):

D Clarke (Ballina Stephenites); E O’Donoghue (Belmullet), G Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), K Higgins (Ballyhaunis); P Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), C Boyle (Davitts), S Coen (Hollymount/Carramore); S O’Shea (Breaffy), T Parsons (Charlestown); K McLoughlin (Knockmore), A O’Shea (Breaffy), D O’Connor (Ballintubber); C Loftus (Crossmolina), C O’Connor (Ballintubber), A Moran (Ballaghaderreen).

LAOIS (SFC v Wexford):

G Brody (Portlaoise); RC Fennell (Rosenallis), M Timmons (Graiguecullen), G Dillon (Portlaoise); T Collins (Graiguecullen), C Begley (Stradbally), S Attride (Killeshin); J O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s), K Lillis (Portlaoise); A Farrell (Ballylinan), D Kingston (Arles-Kileen), D O’Connor (Timahoe); R Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise), D Conway (Arles-Kilcruise), G Walsh (Ballylinan).

GALWAY (MFC v Sligo):

D Halloran; C Halbard, S Black, C Deane; R Monahan, T Gill, C Sweeney; P Kelly, C Rafferty; L Judge, A Halloran, O McCormack; O Gormally, D Cox, M Cooley.

More in this section

CourtsFilm and TVSportGaaFootballPlace: MacHale ParkPlace: CastlebarPlace: BelmulletPlace: SalthillPlace: BelfastPerson: Eoin O’DonoghuePerson: Seán Andy Ó CeallaighPerson: Ciaran DugganPerson: Barry McHughPerson: Peter CookePerson: Sean KellyPerson: Eamonn BranniganPerson: CorofinPerson: Lee KeeganPerson: Chris BarrettPerson: Donie VaughanPerson: Fergal BolandPerson: Gary WalshPerson: David ConwayPerson: Damien O’ConnorPerson: Ruaidhrí FennellPerson: Brian GlynnPerson: Benny CarrollPerson: Eoin LowryPerson: Robbie PiggottPerson: R LavellePerson: D KynePerson: SA Ó CeallaighPerson: Naomh Anna Leitir MorPerson: E KerinPerson: G O’DonnellPerson: G BradshawPerson: C SweeneyPerson: T FlynnPerson: C DugganPerson: AnnaghdownPerson: S WalshPerson: Kilkerrin-ClonbernePerson: P ConroyPerson: J HeaneyPerson: KillanninPerson: S ArmstrongPerson: D ComerPerson: B McHughPerson: MoyloughPerson: D ClarkePerson: E O’DonoghuePerson: G CafferkeyPerson: StephenitesPerson: K HigginsPerson: P DurcanPerson: C BoylePerson: DavittsPerson: S CoenPerson: S O’SheaPerson: BreaffyPerson: T ParsonsPerson: K McLoughlinPerson: KnockmorePerson: A O’SheaPerson: D O’ConnorPerson: C LoftusPerson: C O’ConnorPerson: A MoranPerson: G BrodyPerson: RC FennellPerson: RosenallisPerson: M TimmonsPerson: G DillonPerson: T CollinsPerson: GraiguecullenPerson: C BegleyPerson: StradballyPerson: S AttridePerson: KilleshinPerson: J O’LoughlinPerson: K LillisPerson: A FarrellPerson: D KingstonPerson: TimahoePerson: R MunnellyPerson: D ConwayPerson: G WalshPerson: D HalloranPerson: C HalbardPerson: S BlackPerson: C DeanePerson: R MonahanPerson: T GillPerson: P KellyPerson: C RaffertyPerson: L JudgePerson: A HalloranPerson: O McCormackPerson: O GormallyPerson: D CoxPerson: M CooleyEvent: ConnachtEvent: FL Division 4Organisation: GalwayOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: Leinster SFCOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: AllianzOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: RenvyleOrganisation: ClonburOrganisation: AnnaghdownOrganisation: Tuam StarsOrganisation: MoycullenOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: AthenryOrganisation: BallinaOrganisation: Castlebar MitchelsOrganisation: BallaghaderreenOrganisation: PortlaoiseOrganisation: St Brigid’sOrganisation: BallylinanOrganisation: ArlesOrganisation: KileenOrganisation: Arles-KilcruiseOrganisation: Sligo
ieParenting Logo
Writers ieParenting

Our team of experts are on hand to offer advice and answer your questions here

Your digital cookbook

ieStyle Live 2021 Logo
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Discover the great outdoors on Ireland's best walking trails

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails


The best food, health, entertainment and lifestyle content from the Irish Examiner, direct to your inbox.

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd