Leadership Awards for outstanding trio

Three outstanding Macra members have been presented with prestigious National Leadership Awards.
Leadership Awards for outstanding trio

The ceremony, at the Irish Farm Centre, saw six finalists battle it out for accolades.

Yvonne Daly of Croom Macra, Limerick, along with Kieran McEvoy and Gemma Goulding, both from Co Laois club Mountmellick Macra, took home the top prizes.

Yvonne joined Macra in 2008 and has held many positions at club level, as chairperson and president and at county level as chairperson, PRO, and treasurer.

Yvonne’s greatest moments were delivering Croom Club’s presentation for the 2010 Club of the Year final and receiving four consecutive Gold Leadership Awards.

Kieran joined Macra in 1992. Over the years he has held a number of club and county positions.

On a national level, Kieran was chairperson of the national Ag Affairs committee. He led the organisation in rejoining CEJA. In 2006, he chaired the Rally organising committee.

Gemma joined Macra in 2008 and has held a number of club and county positions. A member of Macra’s National Executive, Gemma sits on the national competitions sub-committee and led the Macra delegation to the Rural Youth Europe Rally in Wales.

Gemma was crowned the 42nd International Miss Macra in 2013.

The three other finalists, Niamh Fagan of Ardcath Macra in Meath, Michael Moclair of Fethard Macra, South Tipperary, and Tara Fourie, of Tullamore/ Killeigh Macra, Co Offaly, did their clubs proud on the night.

This year’s top six were judged by a panel including Tommy McGuire, former Macra na Feirme president; Zoe Kavanagh, CEO of the National Dairy Council; and Martin O’Keeffe, chairman of North Cork Co-op and former Macra national treasurer.

The winners received specially-commissioned trophies and will represent Macra on international travel opportunities.

Guest of honour, Minister of State with responsibility for rural economic development and rural transport, Ann Phelan, commended the work of Macra and the young leaders.

Macra president Kieran O’Dowd, said: “Our National Leadership Awards are an important platform for us to recognise our best leaders — their contribution to both Macra and their local communities cannot be overstated.”

More in this section


Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from irishexaminer.com, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up
News Wrap

A lunchtime summary of content highlights on the Irish Examiner website. Delivered at 1pm each day.

Sign up