Clonakilty Show is the place to win

YOU can take a winner at Clonakilty Agricultural Show anywhere.

Local exhibitors showed that last year when Seamus Lehane’s horses made him the top exhibitor at the Dublin Horse Show. Kieran O’Gorman won the RDS Breeders Championship for a second year in a row, and the Appelbe family from Carrigroe had the All-Ireland National Hereford Champion at Tullamore Show.

Lehane looks set for big things again this year, after adding the top young horse awards at his local show last Sunday to his haul.

Surprisingly, the Appelbe family’s domination of Hereford showing was halted by fellow Co Cork exhibitor Michael O’Keeffe, Newmarket. But local girl Avril Helen added the Jersey championship to Braymeadow Junos Mickie’s recent win among the country’s top pedigree dairy herds at the Emerald Expo event in Kilkenny.

There was an All-Ireland dairy event at Clonakilty too, the Dubliner Cheese pedigree Friesian heifer in milk class, and Robert Forrest’s win here leaves his Coolroe House herd tops so far this year in dairy showing.

There were hundreds of entries in many sections of the Clonakilty Show, but none matched the 800 exhibits received for the show’s schoolchildren art competition.

The following were the main winners in last Sunday’s livestock showing:


Champion Shorthorn: Jimmy and Linda O’Donovan, Schull. Reserve: Tom Roycroft, Dunmanway.

Champion Jersey: Avril Helen, Clonakilty. Reserve: Patrick Ahern, Rylane

Champion Friesian: E & S Murphy, Waterfall, Cork. Reserve: Robert Forrest, Banteer.

Dubliner Cheese All-Ireland Pedigree Friesian heifer in milk: 1, Robert Forrest, Coolroe House Farms, Banteer. 2. Lisselan Farms, Clonakilty. 3. John & Ricky Barrett & Sons, Ballinhassig. 4. Denis and Claire White, Clonakilty. 5. Robert Forrest, Banteer. 6. George White, Ballygarvan. 7. Richard J White, Clonakilty.

Junior Friesian Champion: F & C Desmond, Innishannon. Reserve: E & S Murphy, Waterfall.

Champion West Cork Irish bred Friesian: John O’Donovan, Clonakilty. Reserve: Jerry Hegarty, Skibbereen.

Group of three females Irish bred: Avril Helen, Clonakilty.

Champion Angus: Ben & Elaine Ryall, Watergrasshill. Reserve: John Tait.

Pedigree inter beef calf: Donal Moloney, Ardnacrusha, Co Clare.

Champion Belgian Blue: Tim O’Donovan, Dunmanway. Reserve: John Cahalane, Skibbereen.

Champion Charolais: George Appelbe, Ballinascarthy.

Champion Hereford: Michael O’Keeffe, Newmarket. Reserve: Frank & John Appelbe, Clonakilty.

Champion Limousin: Donal Moloney, Ardnacrusha, Co Clare. Reserve: John & Tom Hickey, Thurles, Co Tipperary.

Champion and reserve Simmental: Peter & Marian O’Connell, Mallow, Co Cork.

Champion Commercial non pedigree beef animal: Clive & Rhoda Jennings, Enniskeane. Reserve: John Cahalane, Skibbereen.

Champion pedigree male beef animal: Donal Moloney, Ardnacrusha, Co Clare.

Champion Suffolk sheep: Alan Jennings, Leap.


Brood mare champion: Nick Murphy, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford. Reserve: Denis Collins, Rosscarbery.

Foal champion: Seamus Lehane, Clonakilty.

Champion and reserve young horse: Seamus Lehane, Clonakilty, Co Cork.

Yearling Champion: Brian Daly, Newmarket. Reserve: Seamus Lehane, Clonakilty.

Champion hunter: Rhian Fitzgerald, Model Farm Road, Cork. Reserve: Tina Murphy, Ballinascarthy.

Led Champion: Breda & Bernadette Horgan, Macroom. Reserve: Martin O’Sullivan, Leap.

Ridden Champion: Carole Adams, Courtmacsherry. Reserve: Helena Rea, Charleville.

Mini supreme pony Champion: Lorna Twomey, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Co Clare. Reserve: Ciara Egan, Clogheen, Co Tipperary.

Supreme pony champion: Martha McNamara, Newmarket on Fergus, Co Clare. Reserve: Breda & Bernadette Horgan, Macroom.

Working hunter champion: Martha McNamara, Newmarket on Fergus, Co Clare. Reserve: Carole Adams, Courtmacsherry.

Registered Irish Draught: 1, Sam Burchill, Skibbereen. 2,Michael O’Sullivan, Skibbereen.


Best donkey: William Ryan, Ballydehob.

Best Dog: Alice Reilly, Spur Hill.

Best poultry: Eva Hurley, Drinagh.

More in this section

courtsplace: carrigroeplace: herefordplace: newmarketplace: kilkennyplace: clonakiltyplace: corkplace: dunmanwayplace: co tipperaryplace: co clareplace: co corkplace: model farm roadplace: charlevilleplace: newmarket-on-fergusplace: clareplace: fergusperson: seamus lehaneperson: kieran o’gormanperson: appelbeperson: lehaneperson: michael o’keeffeperson: avril helenperson: mickieperson: robert forrestperson: jimmyperson: linda o’donovanperson: tom roycroftperson: patrick ahernperson: e & s murphyperson: denisperson: claire whiteperson: banteerperson: george whiteperson: richard j whiteperson: innishannonperson: eperson: john o’donovanperson: jerry hegartyperson: skibbereenperson: benperson: elaine ryallperson: john taitperson: donal moloneyperson: co clareperson: tim o’donovanperson: john cahalaneperson: george appelbeperson: frankperson: john appelbeperson: johnperson: tom hickeyperson: peterperson: marian o’connellperson: cliveperson: rhoda jenningsperson: enniskeaneperson: alan jenningsperson: nick murphyperson: enniscorthyperson: denis collinsperson: rosscarberyperson: brian dalyperson: rhian fitzgeraldperson: tina murphyperson: ballinascarthyperson: bredaperson: bernadette horganperson: macroomperson: martin o’sullivanperson: carole adamsperson: helena reaperson: lorna twomeyperson: ciara eganperson: martha mcnamaraperson: coperson: sam burchillperson: michael o’sullivanperson: william ryanperson: ballydehobperson: alice reillyperson: spur hillperson: eva hurleyperson: drinaghevent: clonakilty showevent: clonakilty agricultural showevent: dublin horse showevent: rds breeders championshipevent: all-ireland national hereford championevent: tullamore showevent: jersey championshipevent: emerald expoevent: all-irelandorganisation: coolroe house farmsorganisation: lisselan farmsorganisation: john & ricky barrett & sonsorganisation: f &

Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up