Champion show by Gibson, Power at Tinahely

OWNER Desmond Gibson from Co Down and breeder Thomas Power from Dungarvan, Co Waterford, produced Tinahely Show’s 2006 Red Mills Non-thoroughbred Two-year-old All Ireland colts/gelding champion, by Puissance out of Artic Gem (by Artic View).

David and Charlotte Kirkpatrick, also from Co Down, and breeder Patrick Nolan, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford produced the reserve champion, by Ghareeb out of Knockmarshall Clover (by Cappagh Clover).

Placed third was a colt by Cavalier Royale out of Newmarket Ventiere, owned by George Quinn, Clarecastle, Co Clare and bred by Billy Daly, Newmarket, Co Cork. Other show champions:

Hunter: Lorcan Allen, c/o Kay Bowe, Kiltealy, Co Wexford.

Pony: Rachael Atkinson, Tullow, Co Carlow.

Carriage Driving: Ned Duffy, Rathnew, Co Wicklow.

Sport Horse: Michael Lyons, Birdhill, Co Tipperary.

Yearling: David O’Sullivan, Kilanerin, Gorey.

Filly: David O’Sullivan, Kilanerin, Gorey.

Non-Thoroughbred Broodmare: Ivor Kearney, Tinahely.

Irish Draught Mare: Pat and Miriam O’Sullivan, Clonattin, Gorey.

Holstein Friesian Cow: M and P Jones, Kilinerin, Gorey

Beef Supreme Champion: John Quinn, Longford.

Reserve Beef Champion: Garrett Behan, Ballyfin, Portlaoise.

Simmental: Garrett Behan.

Limousin: John Quinn.

Charolais: Aidan Farrell, Moate, Co Westmeath.

Hereford: George Stanley, Rathoath, Co Meath.

Parthenaise: Anthony Scally, Tyrellspass, Co Westmeath.

Belgian Blue: Thomas Foynes, Clonaslee, Co Laois.

Aberdeen Angus: Louis Byrne, Roundwood, Co Wicklow.

Sheep Champion of all Breeds: Karl Stephens, Carnew, Co Wicklow.

More in this section


Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up
News Wrap

A lunchtime summary of content highlights on the Irish Examiner website. Delivered at 1pm each day.

Sign up