Tipperary romp to Munster minor title

Tipperary 1-24 Limerick 0-10

The outcome of this Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship final seemed inevitable from a long way out, as Tipperary ended up with 17 points to spare on Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds, writes Denis Hurley .

Leading by 0-13 to 0-7 at half-time, Jake Morris’s goal soon after the resumption put Tipp in an impregnable position and Limerick’s hopes of a comeback suffered as Brian Nash was sent off for a second booking soon after.

Even with a full complement, Limerick found things difficult in the first half, despite having a strong wind at their backs. Operating a sweeper system, they found themselves under a lot of pressure from a hard-working Tipperary side.

The visitors led by 0-6 to 0-3 by the end of the first quarter, with corner-forward Lyndon Fairbrother impressing, though it had taken a good save from Tipp goalkeeper Ciarán Barrett to deny Kyle Hayes.

While Paul O’Brien did reduce the gap with a free for the Shannonsiders, Tipp then reeled off five points in a row, with Rian Doody and Colin English getting in on the scoring act.

Sub Dylan Walsh announced his arrival with another point and though Limerick had responses from Hayes and Cian Magnier Flynn, Morris’s second created the six-point half-time gap.

Hayes had the first score of the second half but Tipp’s response was telling, as Paddy Cadell set up Morris for the goal, drilling a shot to the bottom corner, and Fairbrother along with the impressive Walsh augmented the lead further.

Nash’s dismissal forced Limerick to go man-for-man and allowed Tipp’s Jerome Cahill to sweep to good effect and the scoreboard rally continued to increase.

Limerick must now regroup ahead of an All-Ireland quarter-final against Wexford.

Scorers for Tipperary: J. Morris 1-4, L. Fairbrother 0-7 (3 frees), D. Walsh, B. McGrath (2 frees) 0-3, G. Browne, M. Kehoe, 0-2 each, R. Doody, C. English, S. Neville 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: P. O’Brien 0-3 (frees), K. Hayes, C. Boylan 0-2 each, J. Flynn, A. Kennedy (free), C. Magnier Flynn 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: C. Barrett (Clonmel Óg); J Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs), M. Whelan (Carrick Davins), K. O’Dwyer (Killenaule); T. Murphy (J.K.

Brackens), B. McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), C. Flanagan (Newport); P. Cadell (J.K. Brackens), G. Browne (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams); C. Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), J. Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg); C. English (Fr Sheehys), M. Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), L. Fairbrother (J.K. Brackens).

Subs: D. Walsh (Ballingarry) for English (27), S Neville (Lattin-Cullen) for Darcy (50), C Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields) for Doody (53), G. Dunne (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Flanagan (60), K. Breen (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams) for Murphy (60).

LIMERICK: M. O’Kelly (Croom); B. Nash (South Liberties), R. Conneely (Adare); B. Timmons (Murroe-Boher); J. Adams (Ballybrown), F. Hourigan (Murroe-Boher); M. O’Grady (Knockainey); J. Flynn (Patrickswell), D. Carroll (Newport); B. Ryan (South Liberties), K. Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), C. Boylan (Na Piarsaigh); P. O’Brien (Mungret-St Paul’s), C. Magnier Flynn (Killeedy), C. Nicholas (Monaleen).

Subs: J. Boylan (Na Piarsaigh) for Timmons (19), D. Woulfe (Kilmallock) for Ryan, A. Kennedy (Murroe-Boher) for O’Brien (both 35), C. McCarthy (Kilmallock) for Adams (40), A. Barrett (Kilmallock) for O’Grady (53).

Referee: R. McGann (Clare).

More in this Section

Iwobi hails influence of ‘world-class’ Ozil

Cork players key to historic wins for Warsaw and Amsterdam at European Football Finals

Aisling McCarthy signs for Western Bulldogs

The highs and lows of Mesut Ozil’s enigmatic career

Breaking Stories

Tried and tested: Polar’s new Vantage M running watch

7 design hacks to enhance your garden as the nights draw in

Ask a counsellor: ‘I’m scared my messy relationship history will put my new partner off me’

Whole world in their hands: Icons design globes in aid of GOAL

More From The Irish Examiner