Bit O' Red face trip to Turkey if they overcome Rosenborg

If Sligo can complete the job against Rosenborg after their shock 2-1 win in Norway yesterday they will face Turkey's Kardemir Karabukspor in the Europa League third qualifying round.

Bit O' Red face trip to Turkey if they overcome Rosenborg

If Sligo can complete the job against Rosenborg after their shock 2-1 win in Norway yesterday they will face Turkey's Kardemir Karabukspor in the Europa League third qualifying round.

Derry City’s reward should they fight back from a 1-0 first-leg home defeat to win their tie against Belarus’ Shakhtyor Soligorsk will be a clash with either Zulte Waregem of Belgium or Zawisza Bydgoszcz of Poland.

And if Dundalk can emerge triumphant from the second leg of their tie against Hajduk Split in Croatia, which they will head into 2-0 down, their opponents in the next round will be Lithuanians FK Atlantas or Shakhter Karagandy of Kazakhstan.

As for Danske Bank Premiership sides, it will be Italy’s Torino for Crusaders if they pull off an unlikely-looking aggregate victory over IF Brommapojkarna, to whom they trail 4-0 from the first leg in Sweden.

And progression by Linfield – 1-0 winners in their first leg at home against another Swedish side, AIK – will set up a meeting with either FC Astana of Kazakhstan or Israeli side Hapoel Tel-Aviv.

The third-round first legs are set to be played on July 31, with the second legs on August 7.

Hull will begin their debut European campaign with a tie against either AS Trencin of Slovakia or Serbia’s Vojvodina.

The Slovakian side have a 4-0 lead over Vojvodina from the first leg of their second-round tie.

If Motherwell come through their second-round encounter with Icelanders Stjarnan – the first leg of which finished 2-2 in Scotland – they will take on Nomme Kalju of Estonia or Lech Poznan of Poland.

Aberdeen will have a tough task ahead if they progress from their tie against FC Groningen, with Spain’s Real Sociedad lying in wait for the winners. The Dons fought out a 0-0 first-leg draw with the Dutch outfit at Pittodrie on Thursday.

Meanwhile, Scotland’s other participants St Johnstone will play Zestafoni of Georgia or Spartak Trnava of Slovakia should they get past Luzern following a 1-1 first-leg draw in Switzerland.

The draw for the UEFA Europa League Third Qualifying round is as follows:

Karabukspor v Rosenborg/Sligo Rovers

Chornomorets v RNK Split/Hapoel Beer

Sheva Lucerne/St Johnstone v FC Zestafoni/FC Spartak Trnava

Mainz v RoPS/Asteras Tripolis

Litex Lovech/Diosgyor VTK v Sillamae Kalev/Krasnodar

Mlada Boleslav/Siroki Brijeg v Lyon

AS Trencin/Vojvodina v Hull

Buducnost Podgorica/Omonia Nicosia v Metalurg/Zeljeznicar Sarajevo

Torino v Brommapojkarna/Crusaders

PSV v Botev Plovdiv/SKN St Polten

Motherwell FC/Stjarnan v Nomme Kalju/Lech Poznan

Laci/FC Zarya Lugansk v Molde FK/HiT Gorica

FK Sarajevo/Haugesund v Atromitos

Real Sociedad v Aberdeen/FC Groningen

Astana/Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC v Linfield/AIK Zulte

Waregem/Zawisza Bydgoszcz v Derry City FC/Shakhtyor Cukaricki

Belgrade/SV Grodig v CSKA Sofia/FC Zimbru

FC Astra Giurgiu v MFK Kosice/Liberec

Ruch Chorzow/FC Vaduz v Kairat Almaty/Esbjerg

Dinamo Moscow v Hapoel Kiryat Shmona

Young Boys v Ermis Aradippou

IF Elfsborg/Inter Baku v Neman/FH Hafnarfjordur

Petrolul Ploiesti /Flamurtari Vlore v Plzen

Vikingur/Tromso v Rijeka/Ferencvaros

Dinamo Minsk/MyPa v CFR Cluj-Napoca/FK Jagodina

Neftchi/Koper v Bursaspor/Chikhura

Sachkhere Gyori/IFK Goteborg v Rio Ave

Club Brugge v Brondby

FK Atlantas/Shakhtyor Karagandy v Dundalk/Hajduk Split

Ties to be played 31 July and 7 August

More in this section

courtssoccerheathrowplace: turkeyplace: norwayplace: belgiumplace: polandplace: croatiaplace: kazakhstanplace: swedenplace: slovakiaplace: scotlandplace: estoniaplace: pittodrieplace: georgiaplace: switzerlandplace: plzenperson: nomme kaljuevent: europa leagueevent: uefa europa leagueorganisation: rosenborgorganisation: sligoorganisation: turkeyorganisation: kardemir karabukspororganisation: derry cityorganisation: belarus’organisation: shakhtyor soligorskorganisation: zulte waregemorganisation: zawisza bydgoszczorganisation: dundalkorganisation: hajduk splitorganisation: fk atlantasorganisation: shakhter karagandyorganisation: danske bank premiershiporganisation: italyorganisation: torinoorganisation: crusadersorganisation: if brommapojkarnaorganisation: linfieldorganisation: aikorganisation: fc astanaorganisation: hapoel tel-avivorganisation: hullorganisation: as trencinorganisation: serbiaorganisation: vojvodinaorganisation: motherwellorganisation: lech poznańorganisation: aberdeenorganisation: fc groningenorganisation: real sociedadorganisation: st johnstoneorganisation: zestafoniorganisation: spartak trnavaorganisation: luzernorganisation: karabukspororganisation: sligo roversorganisation: chornomoretsorganisation: rnk splitorganisation: hapoelorganisation: beer sheva lucerneorganisation: fc zestafoniorganisation: fc spartak trnavaorganisation: mainzorganisation: ropsorganisation: asteras tripolisorganisation: litex lovechorganisation: diosgyororganisation: vtkorganisation: sillamae kalevorganisation: krasnodarorganisation: mlada boleslavorganisation: siroki brijegorganisation: lyonorganisation: hull buducnost podgoricaorganisation: omoniaorganisation: metalurgorganisation: zeljeznicarorganisation: sarajevoorganisation: brommapojkarnaorganisation: psvorganisation: botev plovdivorganisation: skn st poltenorganisation: motherwell fcorganisation: stjarnanorganisation: nomme kaljuorganisation: lech poznan laci/fc zarya luganskorganisation: molde fk/hit goricaorganisation: fk sarajevoorganisation: haugesundorganisation: atromitosorganisation: tel-aviv fcorganisation: zulte waregemorganisation: derry city fcorganisation: shakhtyor cukaricki belgradeorganisation: sv grodigorganisation: cska sofiaorganisation: fc zimbruorganisation: fc astra giurgiuorganisation: mfk kosiceorganisation: liberecorganisation: ruch chorzoworganisation: fc vaduzorganisation: kairatorganisation: esbjergorganisation: dinamo moscoworganisation: kiryat shmona young boysorganisation: ermis aradippouorganisation: if elfsborgorganisation: inter bakuorganisation: nemanorganisation: fhorganisation: hafnarfjordurorganisation: petrolul ploiestiorganisation: flamurtariorganisation: vikingurorganisation: tromsoorganisation: rijekaorganisation: ferencvarosorganisation: dinamo minskorganisation: mypaorganisation: cfr cluj-napocaorganisation: fk jagodina neftchiorganisation: koperorganisation: bursaspororganisation: chikhura sachkhere gyoriorganisation: ifk goteborgorganisation: rio aveorganisation: club bruggeorganisation: brondbyorganisation: shakhtyor karagandy

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox