Smith has Republic firing

Republic of Ireland 2 Northern Ireland 0

The first half was a cagey affair with both keepers having very little to do and both defences well on top.

The second half saw both managers make a number of changes and this resulted in the Republic gaining the upper hand, with Keith Nibbs and Gary Rooney impressing in the middle.

On 61 minutes Shane Clarke of Janesboro got the final touch from a long pass to put the home side in front.

The Republic went two up on 72 minutes when Kilbarrack’s Mark Townley fired in from close range after the North failed to clear a corner.

Smith will now turn his thoughts to the Umbro Quadrangular Tournament in September were his junior selection will compete against Northern Ireland, Scotland and the Isle of Man.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND SQUAD: Chris Sweeney (Glenea Utd), John Meleady (Kilbarrack Utd), Reece McAteer (Glebe North), James Walsh (St Michaels), John Tierney (Pike Rovers), John Boyle (Carew Park), Shane Canning (Moville FC), Mark Townley (Kilbarrack Utd), James English (Ayrfield FC), Dean Carpenter (Collinstown FC), Ray Whelehan (Wayside Cel), Ross Carrig (St Kevin’s Boys), Keith Nibbs (City Utd), Gary Rooney (City Utd), Brendan O’ Connell (Rockmount FC), Chris Kenny (Shamrock Rovers), David Hoban (Westport Utd), Shane Clarke (Janesboro FC), Danny Loughran (Crumlin Utd).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox