Commons treble inspires Bhoys

Celtic 5 St Johnstone 0

The Hoops midfielder began the demolition when his shot was deflected into his own net by Perth midfielder Liam Craig in the 28th minute and four minutes later Commons grabbed number two before setting up Gary Hooper for number three before the break.

The Scotland international scored from the spot 10 minutes into the second-half before substitute Charlie Mulgrew made it five.

CELTIC: Forster; Izaguirre, Ambrose (McCourt 71), Wilson, Lustig; Brown (Matthews 64), Commons, Wanyama; Ledley; Watt, Hooper (Mulgrew 46).

ST JOHNSTONE: Mannus; MacKay, Anderson, McCracken, Miller; Millar, Davidson (Robertson 64), Craig, Moon; Tade (Hasselbaink 74),Vine (MacLean 46).

Quarter-Final: Aberdeen 2 St Mirren 2 (after extra-time, 90m 2-2). St Mirren won 4-2 on pens.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox