Leaders bank on Gamble

SD Galway 0 Limerick FC 1

With their nearest rivals doing battle in Waterford, a win against the league’s basement side was critical for Limerick but for long stages of the first half things didn’t go according to plan.

Five minutes in, the home side should have taken the lead, but Jacub Tomanica’s penalty was well saved by Barry Ryan after Brian Gaffney was pulled down.

Shane Guthrie was sent off for the league leaders after 30 minutes when he picked up his second yellow card — he was earlier booked for fouling Gaffney for the concession of the penalty. But Devon failed to take advantage of their numerical advantage and just before the break Gamble broke the deadlock as he managed to get the crucial touch to a Dave O’Leary cross.

Denis Behan should have sealed the win seven minutes from time, but Gamble’s strike proved enough.

SD GALWAY: Keane; N Curran, Quinlan, Geraghty (E Curran 65), Fadden, Horgan; Harty, Enubele, Conlon, Gaffney; Tomanica.

LIMERICK FC: Ryan; Kelly, Guthrie, Purcell, Tracy; Gamble, Bradley (McGann 76), O’Leary, O’Brien (Foley 60); Collins (Kluciar 36), Behan.

Referee: Kevin O’Regan.

Wexford Youths 2 Finn Harps 2

By Brendan Furlong

A 75th-minute Joey Mulcahy strike gave Wexford Youths a point at Ferrycarrig Park last night.

Finn Harps, enjoying a nine-game unbeaten run, took the lead after 13 minutes.

Sean McGowan drilled a low ball down the left side of the area which was picked up by Kevin McHugh, who easily beat Graham Doyle in the home goal with a low drive.

Ten minutes later the home side were back level when centre-back Jamie Carr powerfully headed home a Joey Mulcahy free-kick.

Finn Harps were back in front in the 53rd minute when Kevin McHugh’s neat chip beat keeper Doyle from the right edge of area. Centre-forward Paul McVeigh should have scored twice in the following five minutes but poor finishing saw both chances go a begging.

Harps were punished 15 minutes from the end when Joey Mulcahy forced the ball over the line from close in.

WEXFORD YOUTHS: Doyle, Clarke (Broaders 75), Corcoran, Carr, Browne, Brian Nolan, Mulcahy, Croke (Hawe 90), Furlong, Shane Nolan (Elmes 63), Keenan.

FINN HARPS: Gallagher, Doherty, Coll, McMonagle, Cowan, O’Hagan, Harkin, McGowan, McVeigh, McHugh, Funston (McBride 73).

Referee: Rhona Daly (Roscommon).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox