Six new faces in Spain squad

Spain coach Vicente Del Bosque yesterday named six uncapped players in his squad for the friendlies against Serbia and South Korea ahead of the European Championships this summer.

Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea is joined by Atletico Madrid duo Juanfran and Adrian Lopez as well as Isco, Benat Extebarria and Javi Garcia.

Del Bosque opted not to name any Barcelona, Athletic Bilbao or Chelsea players given their commitments in the Copa del Rey and Champions League finals respectively in the coming weeks, so the final squad could look drastically different when it is named on May 27.

Del Bosque, who’s side face Ireland in their second Group C game, touched on the latest developments in David Villa’s race to be fit in time for the naming of the official squad.

“He is recovering from his injury and clearly he could come to Poland and Ukraine. We take the final decision on the 27th [of May].’’

The Spain squad to face Serbia and South Korea is: Casillas (Real Madrid), Reina (Liverpool), De Gea (Man United); Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Ramos (Real Madrid), Albiol (Real Madrid), Alba (Valencia), Monreal (Malaga), Torres (Atlético Madrid); Domínguez (Atlético Madrid); Alonso (Real Madrid), Cazorla (Malaga), Etxebarria (Real Betis), Isco (Malaga), Garcia (Benfica), Soriano (Villarreal) Silva (Man City), Navas (Sevilla); Negredo (Sevilla), Soldado (Valencia); Lopez (Atlético).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox