Doherty stands up to deny Sligo

Derry City disrupted Sligo’s momentum as Airtricity League leaders with a battling performance in a mediocre game at the Showgrounds last night.

A crowd of 2,488 were treated to a tense finish, however, as both sides battled for a late match-winning goal but solid defending by the Candystripes and some superb goalkeeping by Gerard Doherty denied the hosts.

Iarflaith Davoren had a shot held by Doherty in the third minute and Doherty was in action again two minutes later, punching the ball clear from a Joseph Ndo free-kick.

Mark Farren went close for the visitors after a clever ball in by Patrick McEleney in the eighth minute and Romould Boco blazed a shot over the bar at the other end following a quick break by the Reds.

Sligo went ahead after 24 minutes when top marksman Danny North whipped the ball past the Derry keeper just inside the post.

Boco went close for Sligo a minute later before Gary Rogers denied David McDaid at the other end.

The Candystripes levelled the match in the 35th minute after the elusive Simon Madden was brought down by Davoren — McDaid making no mistake with the penalty.

Derry skipper Kevin Deery struck the crossbar with a rasping shot three minutes into the second half as Declan Devine’s side went in search of a lead goal.

Barry Molloy threatened to unhinge the Sligo defence on 56 minutes as the visitors found space on the edge of the hosts’ box.

Sligo substitute Ross Gaynor ballooned the ball over the City bar from a free-kick just outside the box in the 68th minute.

Sligo, who sprang Mark Quigley from the bench following a six-match ban, enjoyed a lot of possession as the second half progressed but solid defending by the visitors and a vital interception by Eddie Mccallion in the 75th minute kept them at bay.

Substitute Rory Patterson went close for the visitors after 83 minutes but a winner for either side was to prove elusive.

SLIGO ROVERS: Rogers, Davoren, Peers, McGuinnsee, Keane, Ventre (Gaynor 64), Lynch, Ndo (Dillon 81), Boco (Quigley 80), Cretaro, North.

DERRY CITY: Doherty, Mccallion, Mccaffery, Molloy, Deery, McDaid, McBride, Mclaughlin, Madden, Farren, McEleney (Patterson 71, McNamee 90).

Referee: Richie Winter (Dublin).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox