FAI takes steps after ‘seriousness’ of Long error
The association has also apologised for providing what it described as “incorrect information” in respect of Long’s subsequent withdrawal from the squad to play Cyprus at Croke Park in what turned out to be Steve Staunton’s last game in charge.
At the time, the media were told that Long had been ruled out with a groin injury, although it subsequently emerged that this was not the case and that he had only been withdrawn once the eligibility issue had belatedly come to light.




