Ireland AIB Club international squad named

A 38-man squad for the first AIB Club International between Ireland and Scotland in Donnybrook on Friday, March 10 was named today.

A 38-man squad for the first AIB Club International between Ireland and Scotland in Donnybrook on Friday, March 10 was named today.

The game is part of the IRFU Community Rugby Programme that was launched at the beginning of the season game and gives non contracted club players the opportunity to win representative honours for Ireland and to showcase the club game at the highest possible level. The game will also be televised live by RTE with a 7.35pm kick off.

The initial squad has been selected throughout the AIB League season with club coaches asked to put forward names of opposition players that have impressed them.

Also, a five man team of selection advisors have been monitoring games and recommending players for consideration.

The recommendations of the club coaches and selection advisors were then narrowed down by the Ireland Management team of coach Geoff Moylan, manager Mick Galwey, assistant Coach Gerald McCarter, assistant manager Donal Brennan and former Ireland and British & Irish Lions prop Phil Orr, who is part of the management team and chairman of the selection Committee.

Ireland Squad for AIB Club International:

Forwards (22): Niall Carson (Clontarf), Frank Cogan (Cork Constitution), Niall Conlon (Dublin University), Kevin Corrigan (Lansdowne), James Coughlan (Dolphin), Matthew Crockett (Dublin University), Kevin Croke (UCD), Conor Hartigan (Buccaneers), Chris Henry (Malone), Les Hogan (Shannon), Anthony Kavanagh (Garryowen), Alan Maher (Lansdowne), Peter Malone (Garryowen), Rory McGrath (Dolphin), Mark Melbourne (Garryowen), Cillian O’Byrne (St.Mary’s College), David Quinlan (Buccaneers), Donncha Ryan (Shannon), Thomas Ryan (Cork Constitution), Simon Shawe (Ballymena), Robert Sweeney (Clontarf), Marc Warburton (Dublin University).

Backs (16): Eoin Burke (Barnhall), David Delaney (Shannon), Stephen Grissing (UCD), Cronan Healy (Cork Constitution), Denis Hurley (UCC), Gerry Hurley (Garryowen), Derek Keane (Clontarf), Richard McCarter (City of Derry), James McGrugan (Ballymena), David McKechnie (Greystones), Niall O’Brien (Clontarf), Ciaran O’Boyle (Garryowen), Breiffne O’Donnell (Clontarf), Fiach O’Loughlin (Clontarf), Gareth Steenson (Dungannon), Glen Telford (Dungannon).

More in this section

courtsrugbyheathrowplace: irelandplace: scotlandplace: donnybrookperson: geoff moylanperson: mick galweyperson: gerald mccarterperson: donal brennanperson: phil orrperson: niall carsonperson: frank coganperson: niall conlonperson: kevin corriganperson: james coughlanperson: matthew crockettperson: kevin crokeperson: conor hartiganperson: chris henryperson: maloneperson: les hoganperson: shannonperson: anthony kavanaghperson: garryowenperson: alan maherperson: peter maloneperson: rory mcgrathperson: mark melbourneperson: cillian o’byrneperson: david quinlanperson: donncha ryanperson: thomas ryanperson: simon shaweperson: robert sweeneyperson: marc warburtonperson: eoin burkeperson: david delaneyperson: stephen grissingperson: cronan healyperson: denis hurleyperson: gerry hurleyperson: derek keaneperson: richard mccarterperson: james mcgruganperson: david mckechnieperson: niall o’brienperson: clontarfperson: ciaran o’boyleperson: breiffne o’donnellperson: fiach o’loughlinperson: gareth steensonperson: glen telfordevent: aib leagueorganisation: ireland aib cluborganisation: aib club internationalorganisation: rtéorganisation: irelandorganisation: british & irish lionsorganisation: clontarforganisation: cork constitutionorganisation: dublin universityorganisation: lansdowneorganisation: dolphinorganisation: ucdorganisation: buccaneersorganisation: st.mary’s collegeorganisation: ballymenaorganisation: barnhallorganisation: uccorganisation: city of derryorganisation: greystonesorganisation: dungannon

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox