Ashton and Cipriani fail to make England cut

Chris Ashton and Danny Cipriani have failed to make the cut for Eddie Jones' 45-man provisional England squad for the forthcoming Autumn series.

Ashton and Cipriani fail to make England cut

Ashton, who earned his last cap in 2013, has struggled to get into the England squad due to disciplinary problems while Cipriani has yet to be included in a squad under Eddie Jones, despite a fine run of form for Sale Sharks last season.

While the international future of the pair doesn't look good, a host of uncapped players have been named in the provisional squad. U20 World Champions Joe Marchant and Will Evans are included, as are former Leinster centre Ben Te'o, Mike Williams, Charlie Ewels, Mike Haley, Dan Robson, Josh Beaumont and, unsurprisingly, Nathan Hughes.

Despite having a long-term injury, James Haskell has also been named, while Jonny May and Semesa Rokoduguni have been recalled after missing out on the Grand Slam triumph and historic series win over Australia.

England will play South Africa, Fiji, Argentina and Australia over their four-week test series in November.

Forwards: J Beaumont; D Cole; L Cowan-Dickie; J Clifford; W Evans; C Ewels; J George; E Genge; T Harrison; D Hartley; J Haskell; P Hill, N Hughes; M Itoje; G Kruis; J Launchbury; C Lawes; J Marler; M Mullan; C Robshaw; K Sinckler; B Vunipola; M Vunipola; M Williams; T Youngs.

Backs: M Brown; D Care; E Daly; O Farrell; G Ford; A Goode; M Haley; J Joseph; J Marchant; J May; J Nowell; D Robson; S Rokoduguni; J Simpson; H Slade; B Te'o; M Tuilagi; A Watson; M Yarde; B Youngs.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox