Junior Rugby Focus: Clonmel and Abbeyfeale celebrate title wins

Clonmel retained their Munster Junior League Division One crown while Abbeyfeale are also toasting a title this morning.
Junior Rugby Focus: Clonmel and Abbeyfeale celebrate title wins

A point clear of Bandon, Clonmel knew a bonus point win away to Muskerry would secure a third successive title.

They achieved their goal in style, producing a 34-5 win at Ballyanly. Mark Corby, Luke Hogan, Neville Melbourne, Conor Cooney and Tony Cantwell were try scorers and Cooney kicked three conversions and a penalty. Joe Treacy had a try for the hosts.

Two tries, two penalties and a conversion by Richard Walsh was not enough for Bandon who lost away to Galbally 21-18. Brendan Childs, Danny Hayes and Stephen Hayes scored tries for Galbally and Jack O’Mullane converted all three.

Richmond secured a top four finish having to come from 17-6 down at half time to defeat Clonakilty 23-17. Shane Halpin, Sean Bennett and Stephen Collins scored tries for Richmond and Breen Bennett kicked two penalties and a conversion. Thomas Ogie Scannell and Alex O’Mahony replied with tries for the hosts while Ciaran Calnan converted both and also added a penalty. Old Christians remain bottom despite picking up two bonus points from their 26-20 away defeat by Kilfeacle. Stephen Quirke, Pat Ryan, Isaco Peato and Cian Ryan were try scorers for Kilfeacle and Gavin Heuston kicked three conversions. Dave O’Driscoll, Geoff Hodder, Niall McCarthy and John Purcell replied with tries for the losers

St Senan’s defeated Newcastle West 56-32 in a game that produced fourteen tries. Brian Collins (3), Warren Kelly (2), Emile Maffat (2), Tom Cronin, Tom Galvin and Niall Mallon scored tries for Senan’s and Brian Collins kicked three conversions. Dave Foley, Sean Herlihy, Donal Egan and Sean Leahy replied with tries for Newcastle West and Herlihy kicked three conversions and two penalties.

Skibbereen ended their campaign with a 23-18 home win over Clanwilliam. Ritchie Byrne and Dave Jennings scored tries for Skibb and Denis McCarthy converted both and added three penalties. Graham Roche and Kieran Merrigan were Clan’s try scorers and Niall Leahy kicked a conversion and two penalties.

Meanwhile Abbeyfeale defeated Kinsale 45-5 to win the Second Division title.

Derry O’Connor scored three tries and John Murphy, Jake Quirke and Cormac Roche got one each. Stephen Daly kicked six conversions and a penalty. Pat O’Regan replied with a try for Kinsale.

Cobh Pirates made sure of their return to the top flight with a 95-0 away win over Castleisland. Kevin Allen (4), Alan Langford (3), Lee McCarthy (3), Glen O’Sullivan (2), Ruairi Geary, Dave McAuliffe and TJ McSweeney were Cobh’s try scorers. Eamon Ronan and McCarthy kicked ten conversions between them.

Thurles defeated Charleville 61-8 with Nicky Irwin getting two tries, Larry O’Gorman, Peter Coman, Ciaran Ryan, Aidan Dwyer, Colm Skeehan, Ger McCormack and Shane Moloney being their other try scorers. John Lillis kicked six conversions.

Tralee defeated Presentation 27-18 to retain their status. Jamie Byrne, Nessan Crean, Gavin Peevers and Andy Sheehy were Tralee’s try scorers. Garrett Walsh kicked two conversions and a penalty. Craig and Garreth Airey replied with tries for Pres’ and Craig Airey added two penalties and a conversion.

Ennis defeated Newport 19-0 but it was not enough as they were relegated while

Waterford City defeated Ballincollig 52-12.

More in this section

RugbyPlace: BallyanlyPerson: BandonPerson: Mark CorbyPerson: Luke HoganPerson: Neville MelbournePerson: Conor CooneyPerson: Tony CantwellPerson: CooneyPerson: Joe TreacyPerson: Richard WalshPerson: GalballyPerson: Brendan ChildsPerson: Danny HayesPerson: Stephen HayesPerson: Jack O’MullanePerson: Shane HalpinPerson: Sean BennettPerson: Stephen CollinsPerson: Breen BennettPerson: Thomas Ogie ScannellPerson: Alex O’MahonyPerson: Ciaran CalnanPerson: Stephen QuirkePerson: Pat RyanPerson: Isaco PeatoPerson: Cian RyanPerson: Gavin HeustonPerson: Dave O’DriscollPerson: Geoff HodderPerson: Niall McCarthyPerson: John PurcellPerson: Brian CollinsPerson: Warren KellyPerson: Emile MaffatPerson: Tom CroninPerson: Tom GalvinPerson: Niall MallonPerson: SenanPerson: Dave FoleyPerson: Sean HerlihyPerson: Donal EganPerson: Sean LeahyPerson: HerlihyPerson: SkibbereenPerson: Ritchie ByrnePerson: Dave JenningsPerson: SkibbPerson: Denis McCarthyPerson: Graham RochePerson: Kieran MerriganPerson: Niall LeahyPerson: Derry O’ConnorPerson: John MurphyPerson: Jake QuirkePerson: Cormac RochePerson: Stephen DalyPerson: Pat O’ReganPerson: Kevin AllenPerson: Alan LangfordPerson: Lee McCarthyPerson: Glen O’SullivanPerson: Ruairi GearyPerson: Dave McAuliffePerson: TJ McSweeneyPerson: Eamon RonanPerson: McCarthyPerson: Nicky IrwinPerson: Larry O’GormanPerson: Peter ComanPerson: Ciaran RyanPerson: Aidan DwyerPerson: Colm SkeehanPerson: Ger McCormackPerson: Shane MoloneyPerson: John LillisPerson: TraleePerson: Jamie ByrnePerson: Nessan CreanPerson: Gavin PeeversPerson: Andy SheehyPerson: Garrett WalshPerson: CraigPerson: Garreth AireyPerson: Craig AireyPerson: EnnisEvent: Munster Junior League Division OneOrganisation: ClonmelOrganisation: AbbeyfealeOrganisation: MuskerryOrganisation: RichmondOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: KilfeacleOrganisation: Newcastle WestOrganisation: ClanwilliamOrganisation: KinsaleOrganisation: Cobh PiratesOrganisation: CastleislandOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: CharlevilleOrganisation: NewportOrganisation: Waterford CityOrganisation: Ballincollig

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox