Pendejito inspires Munchin’s

Munster Schools Junior Cup 
Pendejito inspires Munchin’s

St Munchin’s booked their place in the Munster Schools Junior Cup quarter-finals with a convincing first round win over local rivals Ardscoil Rís at Clifford Park yesterday.

They laid the foundation in the opening half after which the home side led 12-3. While Ardscoil Rís enjoyed plenty of possession and territory during the opening quarter, they were unable to translate it into points.

St Munchin’s struck for the first of their three tries in the 24th minute. The Corbally side opted to kick a penalty to touch. Flanker Mark Crowe collected the throw. Crowe found his back-row colleague Luke Kelly who was held up short of the line. However, tighthead prop Evan Sheehan-O’Donnell pounced from close range to score. Out-half Jude Marlo Pendejito converted.

However, Ardscoil Rís hit back almost immediately when out-half Adam McNamara converted a penalty. But Munchin’s regained the initiative when Pendejito touched down after excellent work from the pack.

The next score was always going to be crucial with nine points between the sides at the break. Neither side managed to add to their tally in the third quarter despite the efforts of St Munchin’s forwards Cathal Hayes, Mark Crowe and Jack Kingston and the Ardscoil trio of out-half McNamara, Fedia Lyons and lock Mark Daly.

However, St Munchin’s finally made the game safe three minutes from time when winger Joshua O’Neill touched down after the opening was created by the impressive Pendejito.

Ardscoil can still make the last eight through the ‘second chance’ system.

Scorers for St Munchin’s College:

JM Pendejito try, two cons, E Sheehan-O’Donnell, J O’Neill try each.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís:

Adam McNamara pen.

St Munchin’s College:

C Walters; D Woods, T O’Halloran, B McLeish, J O’Neill; J M Pendejito, C Purcell; C Hynes, K Hyland, E Sheehan O’Donnell; P Kelly, A Casey; M Crowe (Capt), L Kelly, J Kingston. Replacements: H Wood Hennessy for Sheehan-O’Donnell, E Kelly for Hynes, C Duggan for McLeish, S Doyle for Kelly.

Ardscoil Rís:

M Gaule; D O’Byrne, K Dineen, S Long, G Hanrahan; A McNamara, E Sherlock; E Healy, S Cleary, F Lyons (Capt); M Daly, L Barry; J Hardaker, R Barry, O Czyszczon. Replacements: A Tobin for Cleary, D Dwane for Healy, D Okeke for Hardaker, G Power for Daly, G Higgins for McNamara, J Ward-Murphy for Czyszczon, J Leahy for Daly, P Hyland for Hanrahan.


M Doyle (IRFU)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox